We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite hotel in Blackhawk” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Black Hawk
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Our favorite hotel in Blackhawk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

We stayed at the Ameristar this past Sat and Sun and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the staff is extremely friendly. We also remembered our swim suits this trip and were able to enjoy the pool and outdoor jacuzzi's up on the top floor. If you get a chance to eat at the Fireside Cafe please do so....best biscuits and gravy and cherry cheesecake shakes EVER! We used to stay at the Lodge or Isle but now only stay at the Ameristar. Trust me - It's completely worth the few extra dollars!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelGirl811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    313
    80
    64
    61
See reviews for
225
706
67
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
279 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

Our hotel room at the Black Hawk Ameristar was beautiful - new, fresh, spotless, and spacious. It oozed quality. The furniture and fittings were of a very high standard, making the room feel quite posh and making us feel rather spoiled. Tile and plush carpet floors, marble vanity, soft lighting, huge shower, comfortable beds and a wonderful chair with ottoman. I absolutely loved the bed linens and the quality blackout drapes. The bathroom was fantastic - we each had our own sink with ample counter space. The amenities were lovely - high quality soap, shampoo, conditioner and lotion. If only we'd made time for a long soak in the tub...

The staff was unfailingly friendly and helpful. We had a minor scare when reception couldn't locate our pre-paid booking, but the issue was quickly resolved.

We had two meals in the Fireside Kitchen, the ambiance of which doesn't match the menu. We thought we were entering an upscale restaurant, but we were met with a menu of burgers, sandwiches and salads. The food was okay, but woefully uninspired; the waitress was fawning and phony, friendly to the point of annoyance.

The Spa looked inviting and calm, the pool and hot tub not-so-much (rowdy with several groups of loud beer swillers). Not our scene. The gym looked nice as well, but it felt small for a hotel of this size.

The casino is nicely decorated with a Rocky Mountain inspired motif, massive fireplaces, stone columns and hand hewn timbers, but the slots guzzled money, not even giving us a fair shake, so we didn't spend much time there.

As much as I liked the hotel, I hate what it's done to Black Hawk. The Ameristar sticks out like a sore thumb, its 34 floors rising to the sky, towering over every other structure and positively dwarfing the historic buildings of this once charming Victorian town. The Ameristar certainly isn't the only culprit, but it's the most obvious and the most garish, forever changing the landscape of Black Hawk.

They call this progress? What a shame.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melnq8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

The rooms are clean and a nice size. Very convenient to all the action in town!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TSQB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

The hotel itself is HUGE! 30 some floors of rooms with a rooftop pool ( enclosed)

We arrived around 4pm, our room wasn't ready so we were given passes to go to relax by the pool. The front desk gave us our room keys too...but just asked we wait for 30 min. The pool was busy... as expected.... so we retreated to an outdoor patio..so we could relax and have a few drinks as well as enjoy the mountains.

The room was clean, but the maid had left half used bottles of shampoo on the counter from the previous guest as well as an open used soap. I was not going to make a big deal out of this, becuase the rest of the bathroom looked clean.

The bathroom was huge, the shower was nice and had a separate bath tub too ...nice for soaking.

There were lots of pillows and plenty of blankets/towels.

We asked for a room with a view of the city and they gave it to us.

We would definately return....if you sign up for their Ameristar rewards program in the Casino...you will get promotions for hugely discounted and sometimes free rooms

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissBettii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

The rooms at the Ameristar are awesome. The beds are the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The pool on the top floor and the hot tubs are great and the workout room is very nice.

The casino is fun and the buffet is one of the best.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judy0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

We were pleasantly surprised upon entry at the Blackhawk. We had a great view! The bedding was very comfortable and spacious. The environment was inviting.
The room was very clean and very timely cleaned daily. I strongly suggest staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mason526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enid, Ok
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

Since Oklahoma had temps in the triple digets we decided to go to the mountains and Colorado is pretty close. We received Casino offers for inexepnsive rooms and we decided to take them up on their offer. The hotel is almost new- think early this year- and the rooms and casino were well worth the trip. Would definately go again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antiquelover20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Hawk
0.3 mi away
Isle Casino Hotel Black Hawk
1.0 mi away
Reserve Casino Hotel
Reserve Casino Hotel
#1 of 3 in Central City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
1.2 mi away
Century Hotel and Casino
Century Hotel and Casino
#2 of 3 in Central City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Golden West on Evergreen Parkway
14.6 mi away
Table Mountain Inn
Table Mountain Inn
#1 of 18 in Golden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
18.5 mi away
St Julien Hotel and Spa
St Julien Hotel and Spa
#2 of 19 in Boulder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk

Property: Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk
Address: 111 Richman Street, PO Box 45, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Location: United States > Colorado > Black Hawk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Black Hawk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk 4*
Number of rooms: 536
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk is a completely new luxury hotel and spa in the Denver area. This Ameristar Hotel in Black Hawk has 536 spacious guest rooms with 64 suites, many featuring panoramic views of the Rocky Mountains. You’ll find a full-service day spa and the only pool in Black Hawk at this Ameristar Resort. Guests may also enjoy an on-site Fitness Center, indoor/outdoor swimming pool and a two-story casino with rustic elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk Hotel Black Hawk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing