We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay - You won't be disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Black Hawk
Certificate of Excellence
Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Stay - You won't be disappointed”
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Without a question, the nicest hotel in BH/CC. Spent a Friday night there with my wife. Typically in a hotel of this size, they lose customer service. Not Ameristar. The check in staff was courteous and accomodating. The rooms are very nicely done. Large bathrooms and comfortable beds. The pool is located on the top of the hotel and it is big. They also have a bar up there as well, so if you want to sit in the hot tub with a drink they will take care of you. There are two large hot tubs (1 indoor & 1 outdoor).

Lastly, the service is top of the line everywhere in the joint. I played craps until 3:00 in the morning. LaDonna, Luke, & Amy made it a lot of fun. In fact, we had to get up and leave @ 7:00 in the morning, so I thought I would roll the dice a couple of more times, and when I go down there, all three were still working and just as nice and pleasurable then as there were 4 hours earlier.

If you are staying in BH/CC, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    830
    328
    85
    66
    64
See reviews for
237
727
70
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reeds Spring, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

The hotel is beautiful as is the mountain scenery. There is no identification to where to check in to the hotel when you are driving in to find parking. The pool on the roof and the rooms are both exceptional, and the non-smoking casino is great.........................however the cleaning staff has absolutely no morals. The morning we checked out, two hours later when arriving at our next destination my wife realized that she had left her Pandora bracelet on the back shelf of the bathroom lavatory. Each member of our group remembered the bracelet laying there, but unfortunately my wife did not remember to grab it when we left that morning. We called immediately after noticing the bracelet was missing and had to leave a message which was not returned. Later that day we called again and were told the cleaning staff didn't find it. We called back again a few days later to speak with management, and while they did call us back after looking in to it further, the bracelet we were told was still not found. Well I hope the lady that cleaned the room can live with it, the bracelet had special meaning to my wife. I can not recommend an organization that has people like this working for them.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stschiefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savage, MN
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2010

My company had a large sales meeting at the Ameristar Black Hawk Casino.. The hotel was great. It's new - staff told us the hotel had only been open for 9months - so the shine is still on everything. Staff was great. We were their largest group we'd been told ~ 250 of us descended on the hotel for a week. I brought my husband along - so while I was in business meetings he took his bicycle out to ride the Arvada trails. The room was wonderful. We had one issue - had to call housekeeping 3 times to unclog the toilet in the first few hours - was a bit frustrating, but housekeeping was very prompt and did resolve it. I was told by many that the hotel/casino coffee was horrible. But they have a Starbucks on the gaming floor so we made sure to get our morning coffee there. Altho for us early risers their 7am opening was a bit frustrating, but doable. The banquet food was great for our meetings and our last night we went to the Timberline Grill - food was very good. Over all the stay was wonderful ... beautiful upscale hotel would recommend it if one was gambling in Black Hawk, CO.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Death Valley Junction, California
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Pleasantly surprised by the quality of the facilities, especially AFA Spa and the fitness center. The staff at the spa was very friendly and helpful. We got a day pass at a reasonable price that allowed us to use the steam room, sauna, whirlpool and relax in the tranquil lounge. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YosemiteSlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2010

My husband and I booked the spa suite for one night and we were upgraded at check in to the pine suite because they said they were out of non-smoking rooms in our booking category ($100 upgrade for free). The service was friendly, the room was clean, comfortable and beautiful with great mountain views. The roof top pool is nice, though we didn't swim as it was only open until 11 pm. Overall, we were impressed with our stay. Our only complaint was dinner. We ate at the Timberline Grill (the hotel's nicest restaurant) and we were very disappointed with the food quality. The service was excellent, however, and they did not charge us for my meal (which I returned). We didn't gamble much, thought the casino is nice.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melisamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver Colorado
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2010

After driving up the canyon in a down pore of rain. we(my wife, her sister and I) arrived at the Ameristar Hotel, Casino and Spa (Black Hawk, Colorado) at 8:30 P.M; July 4th

The parking garage was jam packed, so it stood to reason that the check-in-line would also be congested; therefore, the trip we made to see the fire works display was not going to happen, as they were scheduled to go off at 9:00 P.M. Like the well trained professionals they are, the employees of the Ameristar took care of our car, we were checked in, and on our way to the room (2409) in a span of 15 minutes.

The fire works were spectactular! It was like they were going to drop right into our lap.

Our collective opinion was that the Ameristar made this the best 4th of July Ever!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingman80210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, CO
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Spacious room, nice amenities, comfortable bed, great bathroom. Pool and hot tubs are nice, but too many unaccompanied kids. Casino is just a casino, not bad. Don't waste your money or time at the Centennial Buffet -- slowest cashiers we have ever seen (30 minutes to get the 7 or 8 parties in front of us in, when half the tables were empty) then the food was quite disappointing. We didn't actually eat there, because the food choices were either overcooked or dried out or simply empty -- we got our money back and went across the street to The Lodge, where the service is much better and the food was appetizing and plentiful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandiGAurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Hawk
0.2 mi away
Lady Luck Casino Black Hawk
0.3 mi away
Isle Casino Hotel Black Hawk
1.0 mi away
Reserve Casino Hotel
Reserve Casino Hotel
#1 of 3 in Central City
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Century Hotel and Casino
Century Hotel and Casino
#2 of 3 in Central City
58 reviews
18.5 mi away
St Julien Hotel and Spa
St Julien Hotel and Spa
#2 of 22 in Boulder
926 reviews
23.3 mi away
The Westin Westminster
The Westin Westminster
#4 of 19 in Westminster
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk

Property: Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk
Address: 111 Richman Street, PO Box 45, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Location: United States > Colorado > Black Hawk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Black Hawk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk 4*
Number of rooms: 536
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk is a completely new luxury hotel and spa in the Denver area. This Ameristar Hotel in Black Hawk has 536 spacious guest rooms with 64 suites, many featuring panoramic views of the Rocky Mountains. You’ll find a full-service day spa and the only pool in Black Hawk at this Ameristar Resort. Guests may also enjoy an on-site Fitness Center, indoor/outdoor swimming pool and a two-story casino with rustic elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk Hotel Black Hawk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing