We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refused to fix problems with room!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Black Hawk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Booking was for a king size bed in room - on check in none available. This is a honeymoon!
4 large fans blowing in the corridor outside our room drying a stinky carpet - huge noise.
Heater in room would not go below 72deg. We are from a cold climate. Boiled - no opening windows
Pillows were so flat they felt like pillow cases only.

Biggest issue. We asked them to take care of the above and they referred us to expedia who we booked the hotel through??????. When we checked out after the first night they refused to refund us the second night, again referring us to "expedia"

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank inttravel65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,388 - 1,394 of 1,424 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2010

We were looking for a fun, relaxing place to have a teacher's "getaway" during Spring Break! The drive from Denver was gorgeous up through the canyon! From the moment the first employee at the hotel greeted us while valet parking, we knew we had found the right place! After a quick check-in, we arrived in room 2701, a room with a VIEW of the city! It was stunning- not only at night, but the blue skies in the morning against the snowy mountains were breathtaking! The room was wonderful! Outstanding bathroom, totally comfy bedding, large flat screen, sitting area, soft colors-everything for a relaxing two nights. We ate at the buffet-warm crab legs, prime rib, , oriental food, garlic knots, ribs, pasta bar AND a chocolate fountain with strawberries! We gambled the night away-won $450 in one hour at 21! Caught a couple of wins on the slots too! Free alcohol drinks while gambling, and also free pop/coffee/hot cocoa stands on both levels! We sat in the bar downstairs and listened to a great band! We took the free shuttle outside the door for a ride around the town. Breakfast in the Fireside-try the sausage pancakes... chunks of sausage inside them! The best part of the hotel is the rooftop pool! It is enclosed during the winter with folding glass doors that I presume will be open during the summer. We sat in the OUTSIDE hot tub during a snow shower at night (the cystal fire pits are spectacular) and then went back the next day to sit in the beautiful Colorado sun and relaxed to the spa type music, while sitting in the tub. We tried to book a spa treatment, but they were full. We ran into many many happy guests! Everyone seemed to be having a great time! We heard NO complaints from any quests! Head up there.... we can't WAIT to go back !

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yankedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ameristar, Manager at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2010

Thank you for your glowing recommendation of Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk. We are glad your stay during Spring Break exceeded your expectations. We really appreciate your descriptiveness about our location and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

We arrived on Friday night and were immediately attended to at the front desk by a very kind young lady. We were asked how high up we wanted to be and what sort of view we were interested in. The room was large and clean, as was the bathroom. We enjoyed the casino. My son used the fitness center. I was going to schedule a massage at the spa but didn't have enough time. We all felt the week-end was wonderful and the place was fantastic. Can't wait to go back!

(We enjoyed the food at the Fireside but thought the service may have been a little slow there.)

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ameristar, Manager at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2010

Congratulations to your husband on his retirement, and thank you for choosing Ameristar Casino Resort Spa as the place to celebrate! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback regarding the slow service in Fireside. Your feedback hass been shared with our restaurant leadership team and helps us to identify areas where we can improve. We hope to welcome you back soon and that you’ll have enough time to enjoy the spa as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

Where should I start?! Everything about the stay at the Ameristar was horrible. I think that it might be best that I just make a list of everything that went wrong!
1. Arrived at check-in time, We were met with a HUGE line that took us 30-45 minutes to get though. Once I got to the front I was told that we had a smoking room reserved. Employee was uninterested that we were being put into the wrong kind of room and insisted that we had reserved a smoking room because "the computers aren't wrong".
2. Got up to the room. It was incredibly smokey!! I called the operator who also said that they had no non-smoking rooms avalible. She did tell me that if you select non-smoking when reserving your room and they are booked the computer will still make the reservation but in a smoking room. She offered to send up an ionizer that would help with the smell but we had to leave the room for 2 hours for it to work. We agreed to this and she said that she would send one up right away.
3. Got back to our room 3 hours later to discover that no ionizer was ever sent up. Called the operator again and explained our situation AGAIN. The gentleman I spoke to was VERY RUDE! Stated that this whole problem was my fault because I selected the wrong type of room. I asked to speak to his manager. He said "Fine" and put me on hold for about 5 minutes. Once he got back on he said that the manager couldn't speak to me right now and would have to call back within 15 minutes. Someone did call back 15 minutes later but it was just someone wanting to bring up the ionizer. I asked him why the manager hadn't called back and he said that she had gotten off work at six and gone home (it was about 6:05 at this point. Convienent!) He assured me that she would be calling me tomorrow to discuss my issues.
4. Had the ionizer brought up. We had decided to go to the hotels resturaunt for dinner. When we got down there we were greeted with a "Closed Monday and Tuesdays" Sign. What!? Seriously? Long story, short we walked over to The Lodge for dinner and were suprised by some lovely mice during dinner.
5. At this point my day has been ruined and i'm near tears. Decided to call it a day and retire to my smokey room. The next morning (8:00am) we were awoken by hammering in the room below us (repairing a bathroom problem). The room next to us thought it was us that was making the noises and decided that it would be a good idea to pound on our wall. We packed our things right away and got out of there! Again asked to speak to the manager upon check out and she was "unavailable".
It has been a week since my visit to the Ameristar. I haven't received a call back from the manager and have left several additional messages. When I first got back, I thought maybe I was just over-reacting and would wait to write my review. After waiting, my feelings are still the same: I have never felt more disrespected by a hotel and its staff before. The only good thing I have to say is that the room was decorated very nicely. I hope my birthday stay isn't an indicator of how my year is going to go!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank BennySnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ameristar, Manager at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2010

Thank you for providing your candid feedback regarding your recent stay at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk. We are disappointed to hear the challenges you had while staying with us and your feedback is invaluable as we learn of opportunities where we can make improvements. We do our best to accommodate all guest requests; however, we do apologize that we failed in ensuring you received your requested non-smoking room. Not having a manager available to help resolve your concerns is unacceptable, and all the items listed during your experience will be reviewed with the leadership team. We do hope you will consider giving us another chance to exceed your expectations and create a memorable experience. Thank you again for sharing your experience; we are committed to improving and preventing these concerns from happening again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

My husband and I were on a two night get-away. Wanted a nice room for a decent price. We got the best price on Hotels dot com. For a room of this quality in Denver we'd have to pay between one-twenty to one-fifty.

Very nice furnishings in the room. Real quality. Very spacious. Two easy chairs so you can watch TV without being on the bed. Very large flat screen. Generous bathroom with separate shower, soaking tub and toilet room. Bedding was lovely. Plenty of pillow types to choose from. We were in 3204. It didn't have a view, would ask for one next time. Loved being on the top floor. Close to outdoor hot tub and nice pool area.

Casino folks were very friendly. Nice bar area with live music sometimes. Several large fireplaces. We ate at the snack bar and the lunch buffet. Nothing special, but it hit the spot.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindymae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ameristar, Manager at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2010

Thank you for choosing Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk for your couples get-away trip. We really appreciate your compliments and look forward to sharing them with our team. Our staff prides themselves on their friendliness and helpfulness. We will be glad to honor your request for a view on your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

Third visit to the Ameristar for husband and I. Hotel is clean and comfortable. Rooms are nice. Casino is fun. Dealers very friendly. Only complaint is the food. Wayside deli is fine for snacks. But if you are looking for a nice dinner, chances are you will be disappointed. We tried the Fireside several times. The atmosphere is cozy and clean. The food is below average. Did not try the buffet as it looked pretty scary. It's a shame because this would be a great play to stay otherwise.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank onaxiaojie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

We reserved a non-smoking room and was told when we got there that reservation was not a guarantee. We were also too late to cancel. They said they would use and ionizer and make the room smell better but it did not work. We went to the front desk and they said there was nothing they would do, they were booked full and didn't care at that point.
Left messages for the manager to call about our problems finally got called back 4 days later. He wouldn't refund us, but would "hook us up" with a better room next time.
So if you want to room you requested, you better have a "hook up".

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
9  Thank dust0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Hawk
0.2 mi away
Lady Luck Casino Black Hawk
0.3 mi away
Isle Casino Hotel Black Hawk
1.1 mi away
Reserve Casino Hotel
Reserve Casino Hotel
#1 of 3 in Central City
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Century Casino Central City
Century Casino Central City
#2 of 3 in Central City
64 reviews
18.5 mi away
St Julien Hotel and Spa
St Julien Hotel and Spa
#2 of 23 in Boulder
960 reviews
15.5 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#3 of 14 in Winter Park
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk

Address: 111 Richman Street, PO Box 45, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Location: United States > Colorado > Black Hawk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Black Hawk
Price Range: $118 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk 4*
Number of rooms: 536
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk is a completely new luxury hotel and spa in the Denver area. This Ameristar Hotel in Black Hawk has 536 spacious guest rooms with 64 suites, many featuring panoramic views of the Rocky Mountains. You’ll find a full-service day spa and the only pool in Black Hawk at this Ameristar Resort. Guests may also enjoy an on-site Fitness Center, indoor/outdoor swimming pool and a two-story casino with rustic elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk Hotel Black Hawk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing