We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Place!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Black Hawk
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Place!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Ameristar Hotel Casino and Resort is one of the newest and biggest hotel resorts in Black Hawk, Colorado. It is modern, clean, comfortable, and worth your stay in Black Hawk. Black Hawk is only an hour or so to Boulder, Colorado, and even closer to Roosevelt National Park, Estates Park, Arapaho National Forest, Buffalo Bills burial museum, Mother Cabrini's Shrine, the Stantley Steamer famous hotel, the Golden Gate State Park, Lookout Mountain and much more. The setting is picturesque, serves as a great home base to the aforementioned sights, has an excellent resturant for breakfast and lunch, and a very nice restaurant (steak house) for dinner. Don't worry about the roads because they plow them as the snow falls. Very nice place.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room that is on one of the higher floors so you can take in all the beauty of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
I'm so happy to hear you had such a great experience with us! Thanks for sharing your review and for visiting. We look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    313
    80
    64
    60
See reviews for
224
706
67
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a quick getaway. The hotel is great! We were able to check in early at 2:30 and the lady who checked us in was very friendly. The room was very spacious, had a coffee maker and a small fridge. We did have to wait 45 min for our luggage which was very annoying, I think they forgot about us until I called back down. The roof top pool and hot tub were amazing! The hot tub was actually hot and the pool water was a comfortable temp that you could get in and not freeze. The casino was great, plenty of slots and table games. We ate at the deli and everything we tried was delicious. One time when we came back to the room our room had a very strong pot smell. Maybe that happens a lot but there should be a way to help minimize that smell. I am glad we were checking out that day bc I didn't want to be smelling it all night.
I would definitely go back to that hotel if we stay in Black Hawk again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S29b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
We love to hear that Ameristar is one of your favorites! I'm glad you had an all around good experience and we thank you for sharing it with us! Thanks for being our guest and we look forward to your next visit, hopefully soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

We recently stayed at the ameristar hotel in Blackhawk Colorado, We have stayed here 5 times prieviously.
Everything about this facility is exceptional, very friendly staff, beautiful clean comfortable rooms, spectular pool and hot tub, all food services very good , casino is beautiful.
Would be hard pressed to find a nicer place anywhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
It's so great to hear that we are your favorite! Thank your for being our guest again :) and thank you for posting your review. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

This hotel in Black Hawk is really inviting. It is a short beautiful drive from Denver and is quite inexpensive especially if you can visit during the week and avoid the crowds on the weekend. The Casino and staff are all very friendly. The hotel has a nice indoor pool and several outdoor spas located on the 34th floor so you can get away from gambling for a nice break. The dining is good and I especially enjoyed the buffet which had a reasonable cost and a very good selection of foods. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone but especially couples may enjoy the large beautifully appointed rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JR0327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
I'm so happy to hear you had such a great experience with us JR. Thanks for sharing your review and for visiting. We look forward to seeing you next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnoBunnyNH
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

The rooms are very nice, clean and comfortable. Beds were heavenly - so comfortable I didn't want to leave!!! Staff is very nice and accommodating.

We asked for a room away from the elevators, and found that to be well worth it (Less traffic, less noise).

Black Hawk itself is a neat little town!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators if you want a quiet night's (day's) sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SnoBunnyNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Those beds are very popular with our guests! Thanks for sharing your review. We look forward to seeing you next time, hopefully soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, CO
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

This was our second visit to the Ameristar in Black Hawk, Colorado. We got an outstanding room rate because it was off season (April). The first thing we noticed when we walked into the casino was how eerily quiet it was. Not only were there fewer people than the last time we were there in August 2012, but there were no bells, whistles, or yelps from winners. We soon discovered why. Coin machines have gone by the wayside. Now, everything is done with paper. You put bills in the machine for "credits" and your winnings (if you're lucky enough to have some!) are issued from the machine in the form of a ticket which you cash in at the cashier's cage. The excitement of hearing your winnings drop into the tray and the whoops of jackpot winners around you are gone - almost. Fortunately, with a little research we were able to find a couple of casinos in Black Hawk that still have coin machines. And, a few in Central City too. So, we used Ameristar as our base and gambled elsewhere.

Pros -
Large, clean, comfortable rooms with easy-to-operate safes.
Large, clean bathrooms.
Great rooftop pool area.
Great views from city side rooms.
Very friendly and helpful hotel staff.
Easy check in and check out.
Very good dinner buffet with tons of choices.
Convenient location.
Large, flat screen tv's in rooms.
Covered parking.

Cons -
Horrible bed pillows unless you like hard, fat ones.
Very narrow parking spaces.
Poor signage around the hotel.
No coin slots. My husband thought the casino was like a morgue.

Room Tip: City side rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cyd'sTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley, Nebraska
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed in Ameristar/Black Hawk for 2 nights (Friday and Saturday) and thought the Casino was GREAT! Restaurants were GREAT! Bar/Staff was GREAT! Everything was GREAT, except...

When we showed up on Friday, the Host (female) did not get our Smoking room reservation confirmed. We couldn't find the email, but the Check-in desk was very accommodating in getting us into a non-smoking room. We greatly appreciated at least finding us a room on Friday. Everything was going ok.

Then on Saturday, we were so excited they got us into a SMOKING room for our last night's stay!!! But, once we got the key... WHOA - what a difference. The rooms were disgusting. And much more beat up than the non-smoking rooms.

It all started when we went to turn on the TV. The TV Cable was pulled out of the wall and not working. (Had to call maintenance to fix it). I noticed the maintenance guy kinda looking back behind the TV in disgust. Then we went to inspect other areas... We found a variety of items on the floor - dental floss, used q-tips, chap stick, beer bottle caps, receipts, ramen noodle pieces (peas/carrots/noodles). Curtains had some pretty gross stains on them, I hope it was food. Window ledges had stains from something. The sheets were ripped not fresh from the previous guests (which we called housekeeping to have changed).

In conclusion, it went from GREAT to DISSAPOINTMENT.
On Friday, I would have recommended this Casino/Hotel to anyone as I was pretty impressed.
Then on Saturday, I can't believe how polar opposite our experiences were just with one room change. Not sure how one could have eliminated the problem... Maybe reserve a non-smoking room and pay the $200 fee for smoking in it? Trust me, I would have paid the extra $200!

Room Tip: The room was 3106, maybe it was just THIS room that was gross, as I've seen others with a positi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Hawk
0.3 mi away
Isle Casino Hotel Black Hawk
1.0 mi away
Reserve Casino Hotel
Reserve Casino Hotel
#1 of 3 in Central City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
1.2 mi away
Century Hotel and Casino
Century Hotel and Casino
#2 of 3 in Central City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Golden West on Evergreen Parkway
14.6 mi away
Table Mountain Inn
Table Mountain Inn
#1 of 18 in Golden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
18.5 mi away
St Julien Hotel and Spa
St Julien Hotel and Spa
#2 of 19 in Boulder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk

Property: Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk
Address: 111 Richman Street, PO Box 45, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Location: United States > Colorado > Black Hawk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Black Hawk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk 4*
Number of rooms: 536
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk is a completely new luxury hotel and spa in the Denver area. This Ameristar Hotel in Black Hawk has 536 spacious guest rooms with 64 suites, many featuring panoramic views of the Rocky Mountains. You’ll find a full-service day spa and the only pool in Black Hawk at this Ameristar Resort. Guests may also enjoy an on-site Fitness Center, indoor/outdoor swimming pool and a two-story casino with rustic elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk Hotel Black Hawk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing