We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay, not so much for play! ( for us anyway)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Black Hawk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed for my husbands 55 birthday. This is a beautiful place to stay. Did a little gambling there didn't have a lot of success but a lot of fun. But, hey its called gambling for a reason. The rooms are awesome, beautifully decorated. Easy check in process, great staff! All seem to be pretty happy except for one of the housekeepers....... not a happy employee! The pool on the top 34th floor was so relaxing. Not crowded on a weekday at all. We also went to the outside deck there are a couple gas fire pits that were not working very well whether it was the slight breeze that was going through i am not sure. One problem with the hot tub, (that they should post or advise you when you arrive) people can smoke in the hot tub. There were at least 8 people in this big hot tub and 2 people smoking. This must be acceptable practice????? We left. A security guard passed through a couple of times and saw this and I am sure smelled it as well. He didn't say anything. So this must be acceptable practice and allowed. We did not know this before we went up there. I just wanted to look at the stars and enjoy the hot tub. And couldn't do it. We left! So that was disappointing:(
One this more worth mentioning. 5th floor parking garage the trash can before we entered the casino elevators was overflowing with trash all around it and the ashtray full. Smelled awful as we walked in to get to the casino elevators. Not a good first impression. I tried to find someone to tell and no luck. Staff was pretty scarce, maybe thats why the trash was not picked up.
When we have been here before it was not like that. Budget cuts??? We do love this hotel and will stay here again but, now we know to check the hot tub first before hand or just enjoy the pool. They really did a great job with the hotel and the front desk staff they really were awesome. Its clean the beds are the best. We had a king room and it was very comfortable. Coffee pots, very small frig (perfect for beverages), and an in room safe. Nice big fluffy pillows. We had 2 great nights of sleep. I would definitely recommend staying here!
As far as gambling we just play penny slots and we had fun anyway!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the parking garage for maybe a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenrn94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

796 - 802 of 1,435 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband & I received a promo for a one night stay at this Casino Resort.

This was our first overnight stay at this Resort and we found it to be a great place to stay as well as play.

We plan to return to this Resort again.

The room was very nice. Very clean. Loved the furnishings and especially loved the bathroom.
The room was equipped with a medium safe,coffee maker, compact refrigerator. No microwave.

The Resort clerk was very friendly when we checked in. We were offered a room with a scenic view on the 32nd floor which I declined due to the height. We were given a room on the 18th floor with a view. Unfortunately, I was overcome with Altitude Sickness so we left for home after checking in the next morning.....

Room Tip: If you can stand the height; choose a room on the higher floors. We were on the 18th floor and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is the first time we stayed here. The casino and the staff was nice. Ask for a strip view.
The dinner at the Friday crab buffet was awesome. Warm Crab legs, great food. The bell staff gave us lots of suggestions of places to go. We were that during the Flood and even with that the people were all so nice. They need a better gift shop. No Colorado t shirts. The valet was very good option. They also need an ice cream or bakery for snacks. It is partnered with the M life group but the staff did not have any information on how it worked. Still trying to find our how the star rewards and M life in Vegas works together. Need to update their staff on this information.
Did have a problem with getting money from their machine, it needed service and the security offered to stay with me until they arrived. That was appreciated. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure if you have an M life Card from Vegas that you take it to the Star rewards. Don't miss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bantrybaybeardies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit! We appreciate your feedback. Starbucks offers pastry snacks and our Waypost Deli also offers small desserts including ice cream. Our partnership with M life means that you can earn offers like Freeplay and comped or discounted rooms at MGM M life destinations in Las Vegas, based on your play at Ameristar with your Star Awards card. Thanks for being our guest and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

A quick night away in the mountains at Ameristar. A really nice hotel with great rooms and just steps to the casino floor
The good- large well appointed rooms with many modern features, 5 piece bath, contemporary design, decent mountain view. Free internet, smoke free casino, great service!
The bad- sheets not very soft and pilling like crazy. Reduced free room coupons.
In summary- not big gamblers but really enjoy this property over all others in the area, pool area is beautiful. A great place to crash and try your luck!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rs91568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

So just stayed 2 nights. Thought we were getting a King sized bed in the smoking rooms. Turns out we were getting 2 "queen" beds which was no biggie not getting the King. But getting in the room it was actually 2 Double sized beds. First night was fine, but we went to the restaurant on the second floor and the service was horrible, it was not busy at all in there in our section maybe 5 tables max and most had their food. We waited 30 minutes for our breakfast which was just eggs, bacon, hash browns, and toast. Never got refills on our drinks because waitress didn't come and check on us again.

When we went back to our room later that evening house cleaning had straightened up our room. When I went to use the bathroom noticed the floor had lots of hair around the toilet, probably pubic hair and I know it wasn't ours.

Checking out we were told by the lady at the front desk "Oh well will let housekeeping know", and that was it. My husband does have pictures of the amount of hair on the floor. Hmmmph.

Never again staying there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catiyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

I'm so sorry to hear this. Your feedback certainly does not match the quality experience we want our guests to have while staying with us. We would like to follow up with you. If you send your contact information and details of your visit to AtYourServiceBH@ameristar.com, we will get back to you to personally apologize. Thank you for staying with us. We do hope you reconsider and continue to be our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The rooms are really nice at the Ameristar in Black Hawk. VERY comfy and spacious. The bathroom in the room was HUGE! Well worth the price. Only negitives I have are that the slots are not very loose and the Starbucks is not very good. (which stinks becuase it's the only one around) The girls working were not very knowladgeable on drinks and a bit on the rude side. I had to repeat my order 3 times before they got what I wanted, and then the girl working the Espresso machine threw attitude when making my drinks. But we will for sure be staying here on our next trip up the mountian! Hands down nicest rooms in Black Hawk.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KelceyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I wish I could give this hotel 10 stars!! It was so wonderful. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. We were on our honeymoon and prepaid for a standard King size room. They were so incredible! They upgraded us to a suite that was unbelievable!! I highly recommend the suite even if you are paying completely. Just beautiful!! And the views are breathtaking. We also ate at the Buffet which was great. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

We really appreciate your recommendation, Debbie! I'm so glad you had a wonderful experience and we look forward to seeing you again. Thanks so much for being our guest and for sharing your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Hawk
0.2 mi away
Lady Luck Casino Black Hawk
0.3 mi away
Isle Casino Hotel Black Hawk
1.1 mi away
Reserve Casino Hotel
Reserve Casino Hotel
#1 of 3 in Central City
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Century Casino Central City
Century Casino Central City
#2 of 3 in Central City
65 reviews
15.5 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#5 of 14 in Winter Park
517 reviews
10.1 mi away
Eldora Lodge
Eldora Lodge
#3 of 18 in Golden
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk

Address: 111 Richman Street, PO Box 45, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Black Hawk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Black Hawk
Price Range: $117 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk 4*
Number of rooms: 536
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk is a completely new luxury hotel and spa in the Denver area. This Ameristar Hotel in Black Hawk has 536 spacious guest rooms with 64 suites, many featuring panoramic views of the Rocky Mountains. You’ll find a full-service day spa and the only pool in Black Hawk at this Ameristar Resort. Guests may also enjoy an on-site Fitness Center, indoor/outdoor swimming pool and a two-story casino with rustic elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk Hotel Black Hawk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing