We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, the best quality in Blackhawk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Black Hawk
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, the best quality in Blackhawk”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Ameristar is by far the nicest hotel in Blackhawk, so the prices are the highest as well. It is very nice, the rooms are well appointed and the rooftop pool and hot tubs are wonderful. The Timberline grill is very good, the other restaurants are just okay. Honestly, it is very nice but not worth $200 a night. The only reason they can charge that much is because it is the only decently nice hotel in Blackhawk. If you can get a good deal it is well worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor that faces the highway, it wil have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    328
    85
    66
    64
See reviews for
237
727
70
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I love it here, it's beautiful, the staff are wonderful, the spa is definitely,5 star, the food is exceptional , the roof top pool and hot tubs are amazing summer and winter...guess you can tell why my Husband and I spend 3or 4 days and nights here every time we just need to unwind and enjoy, and the casino is 1st class...

Room Tip: The Spa suits are wonderful....but then so are the regular rooms....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hippie55_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thanks for the love! We’re pleased that you and your husband are able to enjoy relaxing getaways with us. Thanks for posting your feedback and for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Very good place. Loved it, but I was suffering from altitude sickness. Which is a real condition I assure you. I asked early the day before we were to leave if I could checkout early and get a refund. I was assured that I could. When we packed up to leave the supervisor informed me that since I had booked through a website that I was not able to have early checkout.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
I apologize for any confusion regarding your stay and an early check out. When a guest books through a third party website, the room is prepaid and typically nonrefundable. In that situation, it is up to the third party website to make any cancellations and award refunds. When booking directly through Ameristar, we are able to eliminate this confusion and refund directly to the guest. Again, we do apologize for the inconvenience. Please feel free to send your contact information and details of your experience to AtYourServiceBH@ameristar.com and we’d be happy to follow up with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at Ameristar 4th and 5th of July, had a great time! Watched the fireworks from the rooftop pool, which were amazing!! There was a bar up there also, although the bartender was struggling with room/cc charges. Check in was great, short wait at about 3:30 PM. Room faced the mountains, which was not our preference, but we did get to see a fox on the road out the window. We ate at the buffet one day for lunch, it was good, as usual. Friday PM we went rafting out of Idaho Springs, not the best water levels, but still had a really good trip with Clear Creek Rafting Co. They provided wet suits for all, booties for rent, and a photo cd is included in the trip price. Awesome guide named Dylan...don't forget to tip the guide!! Casino employees all very friendly. Check-out was seemless, although a later check out time would be nice :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dnvrjeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks for spending your holiday with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was a great hotel room, consistent with casinos. The bathroom was very spacious, and the room as well. Several choices for dining within the casino/hotel. Area is a little like Laughlin, Nevada as it is all casinos. But very easy to go between casinos. It is a good stopping point without going into Denver. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaynerappleycoppola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2013

What a great resort. Ameristar has the best buffet, selection of games, and the room decor is rich and warm. I really love staying there. They have numerous selection of games, live music; and it seems help with anything is minutes away. I think this is definately my first choice to stay in Black Hawk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tami R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We're so happy to hear we are your first choice, Tami! We're glad you enjoy visiting and we appreciate you sharing your review. Thanks for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We went up the hill from Denver to see Central City's fireworks on the 4th of July. We had reservation at the Ameristar in Black Hawk. Getting there early is the key to a good room for viewing the fire works. We got there at 1:00 pm and requested a room on the upper floors with a city view. We got the 25th floor near the elevators. Of course we had to gamble, eat and drink until the room was ready and then wait for the show to begin. We had good 4th of July type food and the drinks were great. Didn't have much luck with the gambling, but then you always come expecting to lose. There are two reasons why I didn't give this 4th of July an Excellent rating. There was suppose to be music sync with the fire works, but just before the show began the web site crashed. We supplied are own music. The next reason was the beds at Ameristar. They are very soft in the middle and you tend to sink which bends your back. Overall we had a great time visiting and viewing the fire works with our friends.

Room Tip: Get there early and request a city view room on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TobaCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We're happy to hear you had a great 4th of July! Thanks for spending it with us and for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Hawk
0.2 mi away
Lady Luck Casino Black Hawk
0.3 mi away
Isle Casino Hotel Black Hawk
1.0 mi away
Reserve Casino Hotel
Reserve Casino Hotel
#1 of 3 in Central City
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Century Hotel and Casino
Century Hotel and Casino
#2 of 3 in Central City
57 reviews
18.5 mi away
St Julien Hotel and Spa
St Julien Hotel and Spa
#2 of 20 in Boulder
925 reviews
23.3 mi away
The Westin Westminster
The Westin Westminster
#4 of 19 in Westminster
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk

Property: Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk
Address: 111 Richman Street, PO Box 45, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Location: United States > Colorado > Black Hawk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Black Hawk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk 4*
Number of rooms: 536
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk is a completely new luxury hotel and spa in the Denver area. This Ameristar Hotel in Black Hawk has 536 spacious guest rooms with 64 suites, many featuring panoramic views of the Rocky Mountains. You’ll find a full-service day spa and the only pool in Black Hawk at this Ameristar Resort. Guests may also enjoy an on-site Fitness Center, indoor/outdoor swimming pool and a two-story casino with rustic elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk Hotel Black Hawk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing