We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Blackhawk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Black Hawk
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best in Blackhawk”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

June 12,13/2013 By far the largest hotel/casino in Blackhawk at 34 stories, property is well kept and clean, check in was fast and employees were excellent, casino and hotel are non smoking !!! A great surprise!
Room was very clean, a great size, with a walk in shower that is separate from the deep tub, toilet in its own room, double sinks, tastefully decorated, excellent towels and linens, very comfy bed, we were right across form vending and ice machine which was in its own room and never disturbed us. You could hear the doors closing in hallway so not sure how well the rooms were insulated by noice (we were there on a wed,thurs) Casino pay outs were few but would still stay at Ameristar whenever we return to beautiful Colorado. Doc Holidays in Central city has officially closed June 13 and the other casino's in central city appear to be struggling also.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helpingtheeconomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    819
    319
    83
    65
    63
See reviews for
230
720
67
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2013

we recently stayed at Ameristar in black hawk; and were very pleased with everything at the hotel; great room, extremely luxurious, very clean and quiet;
central to the town of black hawk; easy walk in either direction
covered parking; has both central city and black hawk bus; free to ride on the side of Ameristar, on richman street; you can take richman street up the hill to go for a scenic drive to golden; sights are breathtaking
it just doesn't get any better

gary & becky

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary4221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
I'm glad you had a pleasant stay! Thank you for being our guest and for sharing your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenham, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This place is amazing. The rooms are very elegant are large. I personally liked the glass shower. The room was very clean. We have a city view on floor 26. Get a higher floor for a better view. The casino was great. We won some money so that's always a plus. If your considering Ameristar, you can't go wrong with this facility.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJW3935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I'm happy to hear you had a nice stay and enjoyed your city view! Thanks for being our guest and for sharing your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

i was here, again, at the ameristar 6/7-9/2013, and as usual the weekend went fine. had lunch on saturday at the fireside restaurant. their new milkshake, strawberry cheesecake was to die for. i also ordered the vegetable soup and a ham & cheese club sandwich. the soup was so filling i took the sandwich back to my room and ate it for dinner! the pool was great and not very many children this time.

nancy m smith

Room Tip: ask for a high fl facing the city. can see all the way to central city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nms19134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I’ve been going to Blackhawk and Central City since their inception of gambling. The Ameristar Casino Hotel in my opinion is the best place to spend your time in both Blackhawk or Central City. Here are some reasons why:

1. The Ameristar has an outstanding comp system. Not only are they generous in comping free hotel rooms, on Monday’s through Thursdays when you play 25 points you get a free meal worth about $17.00 that you can use at any of the eateries in the casino for 72 hours from the time you print out your comp receipt at a kiosk. Also the food is well prepared and is tasty. Also you don’t have to download your money comps onto a slot machine you only need go to one of the many money kiosks in the casino and cash in your comp’s for cash money.
2. The Ameristar is more like what you can find in the ritzy casinos on the strip in Vegas.
3. Finally I’m a normal red-blooded American male (not gay in any way) and I really enjoy the scenery of beautiful women that work at the Ameristar. Also not only are the women beautiful but they treat me well, like to talk and do their jobs efficiently. Needless to say the Ameristar has earned my patronization and I even make a few bucks gambling their every now and then.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nefesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, CO
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Impressed by this hotel. Beautifully decorated, nicely appointed, very clean, and views are great. Rooms are spacious and comfortable, property is easy to navigate, parking garage feels safe, and staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. The roof-top level pool is stunning, with both indoor and outdoor jacuzzis. The card readers in the elevators were not functioning correctly when we were trying to get to the pool, but we just took the elevator to the 32nd floor, and walked the last two flights on the stairs. Bathrooms were very nice, however, I was a little disappointed in the water pressure in the shower - it was pretty weak. Bed was super comfy with nice linens, TV had good but limited cable selections, and there is a mini-fridge in the room, but we did not have any bottled water, which would have been nice. Not too big of an issue though since you can get free soft drinks/water down in the casino. Free wi-fi provided, and it was adequate, but a touch slow. We received a discounted offer, which made it a good value, but I would not pay what the weekend rates typically go for.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoCoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Platte, Nebraska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Let me start with this was our first time to Black Hawk and the Hotel is so clean! Everyone was very nice! The room was the best I have ever been in!! Bed was awsome! Tons of pillows! the room was huge! Glass shower and tub! The room could not have got better!!! The restraunts in the hotel were ok...the lower level one was an upscale and costly place that was NOT worth the price at all! The buffet was very good! The spa was 5 star all the way!!! oh my gosh what a treat!! The pool area was very nice! We are going back in 3 months again and this will be a trip that we take every few months now forsure! and take the short trip only like 7 miles to Idaho Springs to Beau Jo's (its a pizza pub place) It is worth the trip over and over and over again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We just got a standard King and that is all the room you need!!!!! It is huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dustietaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I'm glad you had a great first experience with us and we are excited to welcome you back in three months! Thanks so much for giving us a try and for your feedback; we really value what our guests think so we can make any necessary improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Hawk
0.3 mi away
Isle Casino Hotel Black Hawk
0.2 mi away
Lady Luck Casino Black Hawk
1.0 mi away
Reserve Casino Hotel
Reserve Casino Hotel
#1 of 3 in Central City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Century Hotel and Casino
Century Hotel and Casino
#2 of 3 in Central City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
18.5 mi away
St Julien Hotel and Spa
St Julien Hotel and Spa
#2 of 20 in Boulder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
10.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Golden West on Evergreen Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk

Property: Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk
Address: 111 Richman Street, PO Box 45, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Location: United States > Colorado > Black Hawk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Black Hawk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk 4*
Number of rooms: 536
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk is a completely new luxury hotel and spa in the Denver area. This Ameristar Hotel in Black Hawk has 536 spacious guest rooms with 64 suites, many featuring panoramic views of the Rocky Mountains. You’ll find a full-service day spa and the only pool in Black Hawk at this Ameristar Resort. Guests may also enjoy an on-site Fitness Center, indoor/outdoor swimming pool and a two-story casino with rustic elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk Hotel Black Hawk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing