We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ameristar is FABULOUS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Black Hawk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We have stayed at Ameristar in Black Hawk at least a dozen times. The service is impeccable, the restaurants are excellent and the rooms are classy. The beds are so comfortable!
Everything about Ameristar is first class!

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms on the North Side and the suites are very elegant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danno F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

930 - 936 of 1,441 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

We have stayed at the Ameristar Casino Resort multiple times and look forward to going again. The rooms are luxurious with marble tiled bathrooms. There are small refrigerators and safes in the room. The views of the mountains and the town of Blackhawk are gorgeous, we look out the windows several times during our stay. The player's cards grant you free rooms and meals, and free gambling money after a short time. We also use the valet and bellboy services here which are excellent. Any concerns that we had were taken care of immediately. You should prepare yourself for a great room and a great time!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

One of the many nice things about living in Denver is that there is a nice casino community, Black Hawk, CO, located a short drive to the west. Black Hawk used to be a gold mining community that was rescued from obscurity by the casino industry. The old downtown buildings have been preserved and now house casinos. There are several hotels there, and along with Central City, one can have a fun and relatively inexpensive time amongst the mountains. Or you can blow a wad, your choice!

This particular hotel/casino/spa is the largest hotel in Black Hawk. The entire property is designed to look like a mountain lodge. There are two fireplaces in the hotel lobby with nice, comfy seating areas, and there are more fireplaces in the casino, bars, and restaurants. I'm not an expert on casinos, but I can definitely recognize that this hotel is a prime place to spend a night or two.

We made our reservation for two nights a week in advance and the hotel honored our request for a room waaay up high with a view towards the town. Check in was quick and friendly with numerous staff members available to handle the process quickly. Parking is free. So is fast internet access. For $109.00 a night, we got a really upscale room with two queens, HD tv (no stretch-o-vision!), iPod dock, a huge tile/marble bathroom with double sink, shower, and tub, with a separate room for the commode. the room was clean, quiet, with an effective HVAC. Of course, there were numerous towels, washcloths, soaps, lotion, shampoo/conditioner, and coffee/tea available in the room. The housekeeping staff quickly freshened the room when we went downstairs for breakfast.

There is a nice buffet as well as a few other restaurants on site. The food was good and priced in the moderate range.

The top floor has a faboo pool and hot tub area with a 360º view of the surrounding canyon. There is an outdoor hot tub/sitting area, but it was snowing and we stayed indoors. We didn't visit the spa, but it looks like it has full services available.

If you plan on traveling to Colorady, this is a nice place to visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up and facing town (west).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nowitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed in a king room for 3 nights in February.

This hotel has a very warm and cozy feel throughout . . . the furnishings, lobby, lighting, fireplaces, restaurants, bars, rooftop pool, hot tubs, etc.

Our room had high ceilings, warm décor, refrigerator, coffee maker, safe, soaking tub, double sinks, separate shower, flat screen TV and a comfortable bed with lots of pillows.

The pool area, outdoor hot tubs and fire pits were great. We enjoyed the outdoor hot tub during a snow storm . . . it was so relaxing and beautiful.

We ate at the deli twice because it was open very late.

The poker room is very large and nice, however, we did prefer the table game selections at The Lodge better than Ameristar (pai gow and texas hold em).

I would recommend staying here and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alwayz_on_vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thanks so much for your recommendation and for being our guest. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you can visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here a few times now and definitely plan on returning. The rooms are very nice (spa suite is excellent) and the staff has always been extremely pleasant. I've seen several people complain about poor service and rude management, but I have yet to see a single instance of this. My only complaint is the unusual hours on the restaurants at the hotels. With as much business Ameristar does it's hard to believe they can't remain open Mon-Tues. Keep in mind this is far from Las Vegas, but absolutely the best Black Hawk has to offer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deedrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thanks for visiting, Deedrick! I'm glad you enjoy staying with us and find our team members to be welcoming. Timberline Grill is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays. However, Centennial Buffet, Fireside Kitchen, Waypost Deli and Starbucks are open every day with various hours to ensure our guests always have a dining option available. Thank you for sharing your review and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was our furst time to Black Hawk and driving in we could tell that the hotel was clearly the newest in town. Once inside there was a very short wait to check in and concierge was very friendly and even had an employees' signed card waiting for us wishing us a happy anniversary. Nice touch! We stayed in the King Spa Suite (room 2514) and it was the perfect distance away from the elevator and had a beautiful view of the snow overhead mountain. Once inside we never heard a peep from outside of our room. The suite is spectacular and is so spacious. We loved the bathroom & hot tub. We ate at both the fireside grill & at the centennial buffet and both were delicious and nearly free might I add. Once you arrive I highly recommend you go to the cashier stand and sign up for a players card. Anytime you play a slot machine or table game use the card... The points add up quick and can be redeemed for cash or credit at the restaurants or store. The slot machines paid out a lot for us! Deal or No Deal & Vibrant 7's. On 4 different occasions we hit $200-$499!! We checked out of the hotel with more $$ than we came with. : ) Every single staff person we encountered was super friendly and helpful with the exception of one.. Very very rude roulette dealer. I believe her name was Prague... All in all we really enjoyed our stay and look forward to coming back again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank codi24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

I'm glad you had a great 10 year wedding anniversary trip and thanks for choosing to celebrate it with us! We appreciate your review and I apologize if you were not completely satisfied with the service from every single one of our team members; we do our very best to make every single guest feel at home as best as we can. Thanks for being our guest and we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Showed up for our reserved room, which was not available, got a different room. As I was checking in the person rudely asked me to get back in line because a high roller pushed her way in front of me, and he commenced to let me know she was more important. I objected and he glared at me until I backed off. This behavior also happened at their buffet.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ed m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

I'm so sorry to hear this. We value each and every one of our guests whom we do our best to treat with care and compassion. I greatly apologize if you did not feel this way during your stay. We appreciate you sharing your review and I will pass it along to our team members. Please feel free to send your contact information and details of your experience to AtYourServiceBH@ameristar.com and we would be more than happy to follow up with you. Thank you for visiting and we do hope you give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Hawk
0.2 mi away
Lady Luck Casino Black Hawk
0.3 mi away
Isle Casino Hotel Black Hawk
1.1 mi away
Grand Z Casino and Hotel
Grand Z Casino and Hotel
#1 of 3 in Central City
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Century Casino Central City
Century Casino Central City
#2 of 3 in Central City
65 reviews
15.5 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#4 of 14 in Winter Park
519 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk

Address: 111 Richman Street, PO Box 45, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Black Hawk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Black Hawk
Price Range: $115 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk 4*
Number of rooms: 536
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk is a completely new luxury hotel and spa in the Denver area. This Ameristar Hotel in Black Hawk has 536 spacious guest rooms with 64 suites, many featuring panoramic views of the Rocky Mountains. You’ll find a full-service day spa and the only pool in Black Hawk at this Ameristar Resort. Guests may also enjoy an on-site Fitness Center, indoor/outdoor swimming pool and a two-story casino with rustic elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk Hotel Black Hawk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing