We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk
Nearby Hotels
$107
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Grand Z Casino and Hotel(Central City)(Great Value!)
$110
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Century Casino & Hotel Central City(Central City)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Columbine Inn(Idaho Springs)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
H&H Motor Lodge(Idaho Springs)
$69
$66
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge Casino(Black Hawk)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Coyote Motel(Black Hawk)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
Eldora Lodge(Golden)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,467)
Filter reviews
1,467 results
Traveler rating
876
349
100
71
71
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
876
349
100
71
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolcentral cityfireside kitchencentennial buffetglass showercrab legshot tubameristar casinotop floordouble sinkstimberline grillbeautiful hotelnon smokingparking garageslot machinesrooms are largefitness center
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,017 - 1,022 of 1,467 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stay at the Ameristar for 4 nights for our wedding anniversary. It was our first time staying at the hotel. It was a wonderful stay, the front desk staff even gave us an anniversary card with a quote from Aristotle. (nice touch). Even with the snow storm we enjoyed their outdoor spa. We will be coming back. Hubby wants to come for his 50th birthday.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

I'm glad you had a happy wedding anniversary and great first stay with us, Michelle! Thanks for sharing your review and for celebrating with us. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is the best hotel in Blackhawk,CO Very helpful staff and always very clean. We have family that travels from Ohio several times a year and Ameristar is thier choice for their stay.They enjoy the slot selection and the payouts. All comments regarding the food is great.Family returns in April and they are looking forward to thier stay at Ameristar.

Room Tip: All rooms are a good choice.The best view is on the street side.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

It's great to hear you and your family enjoy our property! Thank you for sharing your review and we look forward to your family's return in April!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here for a recent Saturday night in February to celebrate my wife's birthday. This was the first time that we have stayed at this hotel. We arrived a bit early and were told that check-in wasn't available till 2pm, so we went to the restaurant for a quick bite to eat. The service was a bit slow considering there was hardly anyone there. Otherwise the meal/price was average. Finished up and went back to check-in. Terra (?) checked us in and did ask why we were visiting. After explaining (birthday), she checked to see what room we had been planned for but instead changed that to a room with a better view overlooking the main street in Blackhawk. This was much appreciated and we thanked her greatly. The room itself was a regular king size deluxe but quite spacious in size and quality. In comparison, we recently stayed at the MGM in Las Vegas in a king size room for about the same cost and this one at the Ameristar was much better. The room was very clean and no complaints there. We did find out that the TV did not work. When we left to go out for the evening, I informed the front desk of the problem and they said it would be taken care of. True enough, when we returned hours later, the TV was on/working. (I guess proof that someone was actually there). As for the casino area, it can be pictured as a minature Las Vegas environment in a smaller area but more personable area. As can be imagined, there is a multitude of slot machines and table games to choose from. Our experience with these was limited. For food selections there is a good choice from a quality buffet to the standard restaurant mentioned above. As for the rest of our stay, checkout was average. The only negative was that sometime about 2 to 3 am, there were some other hotel guests who had to much to drink - talking (at times yelling) loudly in the hallway. But just as quickly as they started, they finished (10-15 minutes) and that was it. Would I recommend this hotel? Definitely. It is still realtively new in look and feel. As I told the clerk at check out, we had a good time and will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJK789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope your wife had a very happy birthday! I apologize again about your television and we greatly appreciate all of your feedback and your recommendation. Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We are Arvada, Colorado residents and are fortunate to be able to vtsit Ameristar Hotel and Casino often. The rooms are every bit as nice as those in a hotel on the strip in Las Vegas. The staff are always willing to help in any way they can. We are impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel and casino. In our opinion, the Ameristar is the best hotel / casino in Blackhawk and Central City. Weather permitting, we get to the Ameristar at least once or twice a month. Mostly for gambling. Any opportunity we have to spend the night is a special treat.
R&D

Room Tip: We request a lower floor close to the elevators. We are elderly and prefer less walking. The front desk always accommodates us.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thanks for sharing your review, Dorothy! I'm glad you enjoy staying with us and find our team members to be helpful. Thanks for visiting each month and we look forward to seeing you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I am a regular of this casino. I am always happy with the rooms here, but really love the suites, they are like studio apartments. The shower is one of the best anywhere in the world. The food is good here, just wish they had better late night sweet-tooth options but went across the street to the Lodge to get what I needed at 11pm. The Fireside Restaurant served up a great breakfast at 11am as well. I will be back and the staff was amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to get an amazing view, and sometimes they have upgrades for under 100 a night well worth it.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MWATT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thanks for being our guest and for sharing your review. We do serve desserts at Waypost Deli, which is open daily from 11am-7am to satisfy your late night cravings. I'm glad you enjoy staying with us and our breakfast at Fireside Kitchen! We hope you can visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews