We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I want to go there again and again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Black Hawk
Certificate of Excellence
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I want to go there again and again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

This hotel was just so wonderful! It was a "Girls" night out and we decided to have an overnight casino fix! The rooms here are huge and comfort abounds (not to mention the relaxing chair and footstool in which to read a good book). Our room looked onto the main street below with a magnificant view of the surrounding mountains and at night we could see the lights of Central City going up the mountainside. The bathroom has a relaxing tub with separate shower, all tiled in marble and big enough for 2 gals to get ready without fighting for the mirror! The pool is on the top floor of the hotel (as is the wonderful spa) and just outside from the pool area is an outdoor lounging space complete with hot tub and firepit. What a relaxing way to end one's day at the casino! If you become a member in their "Star Awards" gaming program you will also get deals for reduced hotel rates and also with game play, you can earn a free buffet. The buffet is also wonderful I might add!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor facing the main street as these have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keebler4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisha T, Social Media Manager at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your Girls Weekend with us. Thanks so much for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    313
    80
    64
    60
See reviews for
224
706
67
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Massapequa, NY
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

It seemed nice enough on the website and when you get there they smile at you but service and customer caring are meaningless here. That was the theme of the 2 day visit however here is a prime example.

We booked a smoking room. We called to confirm. We get there and they don't have any. Ok, we ask can you please call us when one opens up? No. we can't do that, come down and check. Ok we did that a few times.Then we were told to stop bothering them. Next day a whole bunch of folks check out. Any rooms, no. Check back. What about the rooms that opened up? Those rooms are for new people checking in.

Rude was their theme,and to tell us no room ever became available is absurd. And to boot, we met someone who checked in after us who received a smoking room.

And although this was our main issue, food and food service were bad. Casino folks were ok.

They were basically a no service facilty and if you didn't book directly through them, they knew, they were angry and they didn't care. Special no thanks to Bob (no last name) manager, and Wray.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RVMarkVIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisha T, Social Media Manager at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Very sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with the guest services during your stay with us. We do our best to accommodate all requests for specific room types. It's best to select your preferred room type when making your reservation. Again, sorry if your stay did not meet your expectations. We hope you do consider visiting us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

First Class accomodations! We always get free rooms every month from their rewards system...and we are NOT big gamblers! Magnificient pool, spa, and fitness center! Great (hidden?) walking trail across street behind hotels along entire creek. LOVE this hotel. Always top notch!!

My only complaint of ALL of Blackhawk and Central City is that there is not enough shopping/diversions for when you tire of gambling.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denversnowy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julesburg, Colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

This is like a 4 or 5 star hotel in Vegas. I had one of the "less classy" rooms but it was the nicest room I've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: I used AARP travel to get a great last minute price on this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ddtburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Well, It's been a year since my wife and I stayed at the Ameristar and it was just like yesterday. The room we had looked like were the fist occupants,,,,EVER. It was that nice. A couple of things I should mention for visitors who may have health issues: There are electrical outlets on both sides of the beds and every room has a nice fridge that's hidden in the bureau below the giant flat screen TV. It's the best in Blackhawk.

Bob G,

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms at the Ameristar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rgarramone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Way better then I expected. The view out our window was fabulous. We were on the 32 floor. The pool was spectacular. Very clean. Towels well stocked. Pool was very busy in the evening. Not very busy in the morning. The room was super big. The bathroom was nice. A deep tub that was perfect for soaking. Glad I brought bubble bath. Definitely not a kid friendly place. Next time I'm leaving the munchkins at home. I didn't gamble.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 01_klynn_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

This was our first stay and the rooms were very nice! They were large upscale finishes and furnishings. The trouble is that the elevator waits were unbelievable... We had one guest tell us to take to stairs as they waited nearly 20 minutes for an elevator. I can say our typical wait was 10 minutes. Also there was a fire drill in middle of the night on a Saturday which woke us up. Also check out is at 11:00 and house keeping woke us up at 8:30 which wouldn't be so bad but it's a casino and people are typically up late anyway. The front desk was not apologetic about anything and said management told them no comps could be offered for the elevators or fire drill. As this is the largest casino/hotel in Blackhawk they probably could have offered something to keep people coming back. Would I stay here again? Yes but just don't expect anything over the top with service.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DenTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisha T, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
I'm sorry about the elevator delay. At the time of your visit, two elevators were undergoing regular maintenance. Normally the wait time is much much less. Thanks for visiting property and for taking the time to post a review. Oh and when you return, remember to put the Do Not Disturb sign on your hotel door so that housekeeping does not knock. We definitely understand the value of sleep!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Hawk
0.3 mi away
Isle Casino Hotel Black Hawk
1.0 mi away
Reserve Casino Hotel
Reserve Casino Hotel
#1 of 3 in Central City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
1.2 mi away
Century Hotel and Casino
Century Hotel and Casino
#2 of 3 in Central City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Golden West on Evergreen Parkway
14.6 mi away
Table Mountain Inn
Table Mountain Inn
#1 of 18 in Golden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
18.5 mi away
St Julien Hotel and Spa
St Julien Hotel and Spa
#2 of 19 in Boulder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk

Property: Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk
Address: 111 Richman Street, PO Box 45, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Location: United States > Colorado > Black Hawk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Black Hawk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk 4*
Number of rooms: 536
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk is a completely new luxury hotel and spa in the Denver area. This Ameristar Hotel in Black Hawk has 536 spacious guest rooms with 64 suites, many featuring panoramic views of the Rocky Mountains. You’ll find a full-service day spa and the only pool in Black Hawk at this Ameristar Resort. Guests may also enjoy an on-site Fitness Center, indoor/outdoor swimming pool and a two-story casino with rustic elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk Hotel Black Hawk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing