We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star hotel....3 Star price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Black Hawk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Well, It's been a year since my wife and I stayed at the Ameristar and it was just like yesterday. The room we had looked like were the fist occupants,,,,EVER. It was that nice. A couple of things I should mention for visitors who may have health issues: There are electrical outlets on both sides of the beds and every room has a nice fridge that's hidden in the bureau below the giant flat screen TV. It's the best in Blackhawk.

Bob G,

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms at the Ameristar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rgarramone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,229 - 1,235 of 1,435 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2012

Way better then I expected. The view out our window was fabulous. We were on the 32 floor. The pool was spectacular. Very clean. Towels well stocked. Pool was very busy in the evening. Not very busy in the morning. The room was super big. The bathroom was nice. A deep tub that was perfect for soaking. Glad I brought bubble bath. Definitely not a kid friendly place. Next time I'm leaving the munchkins at home. I didn't gamble.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 01_klynn_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

This was our first stay and the rooms were very nice! They were large upscale finishes and furnishings. The trouble is that the elevator waits were unbelievable... We had one guest tell us to take to stairs as they waited nearly 20 minutes for an elevator. I can say our typical wait was 10 minutes. Also there was a fire drill in middle of the night on a Saturday which woke us up. Also check out is at 11:00 and house keeping woke us up at 8:30 which wouldn't be so bad but it's a casino and people are typically up late anyway. The front desk was not apologetic about anything and said management told them no comps could be offered for the elevators or fire drill. As this is the largest casino/hotel in Blackhawk they probably could have offered something to keep people coming back. Would I stay here again? Yes but just don't expect anything over the top with service.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisha T, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

I'm sorry about the elevator delay. At the time of your visit, two elevators were undergoing regular maintenance. Normally the wait time is much much less. Thanks for visiting property and for taking the time to post a review. Oh and when you return, remember to put the Do Not Disturb sign on your hotel door so that housekeeping does not knock. We definitely understand the value of sleep!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I don't know why, but I never win here, and usually get drilled. I go to the Century and seemingly always do well, then I go down to the Ameristar, and it stinks. But the buffet is awesome, rooms are nice, cool pool and hot tub on the top of the hotel. And the beer babes working the casino floor, holy smoke! They have these uniforms that make chicks with hot bodies look really awesome, and most of these chicks are smoking hot. So that is worth losing a few dollars for.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kickbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Whether you like to gamble or not, the Ameristar is an exceptional hotel and a welcome getaway. Float on your back in the indoor rooftop pool and gaze at the stars through the skylights. Relax in the indoor or outdoor hot tub. Put your feet up by the outdoor rooftop fireplaces. Take advantage of the spa or the 24-hour exercise room or the business center. If you have a player's card, it does not take long to earn the free buffet or room. Although the request cannot be guaranteed, ask for an upper level room facing the town of Blackhawk as the views are spectacular. If you're inclined to pay extra, the suite has a wet bar, fireplace, incredible master bath, and more. Desk clerks and housekeeping employees are the best!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level facing the town of Blackhawk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisha T, Social Media Manager at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Nancy, thanks so much for taking the time to post your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

I arrived shortly after 5pm, Thursay, Mar 8, 2012. Valet parking was smooth and check-in was a breeze. The room was spectacular and very comfortable. I travel with my own toiletries but I noticed the lack of hotel-provided items other than soap. The in-room coffee pot was well hidden but is a nice touch. Vegas hotels drive you down to the casino by making you go out for coffee in the AM. In the casino, once you do get the attention of a cocktail waitress, the service was fine but it was a bit of a challenge to find a cocktail waitress to begin with.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mackey719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

The hotel is very nice. The rooms are very nice and comfortable. The hotel pool is pretty cool. The very top floor, outdoor hottubs and fireplace. Towards the end of the day it gets pretty busy (and dirty) and I don't recommend kids because of drinking and language. If you are going to bring kids bring stuff for them to do in the room. There aren't any pay-per view movies or game consoles like other hotels - but this is a casino... The buffet was really good but get there early as the lines can get long. The entertainment in the main bar was really enjoyable.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkelsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisha T, Social Media Manager at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

Thanks so much for the review, dkelsey. Our guests do certainly love the rooftop swimming pool. Thanks for visiting. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Hawk
0.2 mi away
Lady Luck Casino Black Hawk
0.3 mi away
Isle Casino Hotel Black Hawk
1.1 mi away
Reserve Casino Hotel
Reserve Casino Hotel
#1 of 3 in Central City
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Century Casino Central City
Century Casino Central City
#2 of 3 in Central City
65 reviews
15.5 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#5 of 14 in Winter Park
517 reviews
10.1 mi away
Eldora Lodge
Eldora Lodge
#3 of 18 in Golden
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk

Address: 111 Richman Street, PO Box 45, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Location: United States > Colorado > Black Hawk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Black Hawk
Price Range: $117 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk 4*
Number of rooms: 536
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk is a completely new luxury hotel and spa in the Denver area. This Ameristar Hotel in Black Hawk has 536 spacious guest rooms with 64 suites, many featuring panoramic views of the Rocky Mountains. You’ll find a full-service day spa and the only pool in Black Hawk at this Ameristar Resort. Guests may also enjoy an on-site Fitness Center, indoor/outdoor swimming pool and a two-story casino with rustic elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk Hotel Black Hawk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing