We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Housewife”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Black Hawk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2012

I had never been to Blackhawk and never really had a desire to go because I thought it would just be gross casinos. I was so wrong. Blackhawk and Central City are both adorable! My family was so impressed with the Ameristar. It is beautifully decorated with large fireplaces and soothing water features. You honestly forget you are in a casino. The buffet there was excellent. The food tasted real and the chicken marsala was made with real wine. Yum. Awesome cheesecake as well. Our rooms were very fancy and I couldn't give the pool/hot tub any higher reviews. Who cares if you go to gamble...this momma i going back and getting in the outdoor hot tub?!?

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marathonmeredith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,246 - 1,252 of 1,435 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2012

These folks run a pretty efficient ship, from start to finish. Rooms are a bit on the pricey side, but you essentially get what you pay for; very nice accomodations, especially the bathrooms. You will feel quite upper class as you relieve yourself. At its location 'atop' the quirkly little town of Black Hawk, you get a pretty nice view of the surrounding area as well.

I also like the layout of the casino; it's arranged in a circle around the escalator, making you feel well-connected and never too disoriented. The restaurant upstairs was adequate, but nothing too special and seemed to have random hours.

Be advised that if you appear to be under 80 years of age, you will be carded viciously (which is true for pretty much all casino properties in Black Hawk). On the first occasion, you'll be given a wristband indicating that you are of age "so that we don't have to keep stopping you." However, these wristbands are only good in that invidual casino and even with them, you are sometimes stopped regardless. I was once even carded in a restaurant on another property while ordering BREAKFAST. Also, these wristbands are only good for that particular day, in the event that you were to hook up with Marty McFly and time travel back to your pre-21 days. If you're traveling with a group, however, this can make for a fun competition to see who can compile the most! My hat is off to anyone underage who manages to slip through!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pknight212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

The Ameristar Casino and Hotel in Black hawk are joined but essentially are two separate business entities. This is a review of the HOTEL ... already amply reviewed, but I will add my $0.02.

In reading through the other reviews I can summarize by saying the hotel has excellent physical facilities, but marginal and sometimes poor service. Our one-night stay confirmed this. We took advantage of a $90/night weekday special ... and were totally blown-away with the room quality. I stay in many hotels, and this room would have been cheap at three times the price. Nicely decorated, beautiful views, new linens, comfortable bed, quiet, easy chairs AND a nice desk, coffee service, refrigerator, bar ... AND a wireless Internet connection that is both free and easy to connect-to. Wow!

Other reviewers have commented on the rooftop pool and hot tubs ... not to be missed. Many other guests don't miss them either so that even at 10:00 PM they are pretty busy.

Unfortunately we found the Timberline Restaurant closed on a Tuesday evening (?), and the buffet less-than-wonderful. The Casino was quite a disappointment, so we recommend staying at the hotel, but playing at other of the many good casinos in Black Hawk and Central City.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cigano-Gitano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Checked in just before 4 pm. The line was a little long but it moved quickly and the staff was nice. Got to the room and it was just as nice as the pictures I've seen. We were on the 27th floor with a city/mountain view. It was beautiful. We needed extra blankets and they were brought right up. I didn't eat at the hotel but friends did and they said the dinner buffet was great. Slots were fun, win-lose either way we had a great time. If you want to enjoy the outdoor spa don't plan on going too late, it closes at 11pm (pool too) and by the time we got there both inside and outside spas were full of people so unfortunately we did not get to use them. The Starbucks downstairs was very nice to have in the morning. Check out was easy and we were on our way again.

The only thing that was not so good is when the toilet door was shut a dirty pull-up was found behind the door.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktbfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I took my Mom up for her 80th birthday and we had a blast! The rooms were absolutely gorgeous! We had a beautiful view and the room had plenty of square footage! The bathroom was more like a spa! It has a separate toilet area, a two person glass shower, a hot tub and mirrors and lights everywhere! I felt like I was in the queen's restroom! The buffet was endless and the food was really top notch as well as the service! They brought my mom a tray of cakes and pastries and sang Happy Birthday. My mom is still smiling!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMULYNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We went here one weekend in October 2011 and we stayed 1 night and were satisfied. Were led here because of the commercials they put on. This was our first visit to Black Hawk, and we only had time here to spend, not much anywhere else. We went to one of their restaurants and loved the courses we chose. The rooms are amazing. We are planning to go back to the area later in February during President's Day weekend.

The con over here was of course the casino. It looks like an endless road, but if you go through there enough times you might be used to it. Security here seemed more strict than those in Vegas. But I do understand they have to follow the law as we do. They're just doing their job.

Mostly, this was a good experience.

Room Tip: Any room seems like a good one. Not too far a walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thelooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

The rooms are quiet, spacious and well-appointed and the beds, eminently comfortable. The rooftop pool is spectacular and the casino, a cross between a ski lodge and Caesar's Palace. You're not going to win because Colorado's casino tax structure is such that you don't have a punter's chance, but this is a place you will want to stay at.

They have a full spa and superior fitness center, and the restaurants are of high quality; even the deli is worth doing [Warning: the steak house is closed on Monday and Tuesday]. But its crowning glory is the outdoor Jacuzzi, where they even serve drinks on weekends (they don't seem to mind if you bring your own, but do make certain that you have plastic glasses (you can get them from Starbucks on the casino floor).

Rooms for the disabled were actually designed for it, sporting an oversize bathroom with a proper shower and fancy electronic room control system.

Room Tip: If you are a disabled traveler, get there early: you don't have a lot of choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dissenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Hawk
0.2 mi away
Lady Luck Casino Black Hawk
0.3 mi away
Isle Casino Hotel Black Hawk
1.1 mi away
Reserve Casino Hotel
Reserve Casino Hotel
#1 of 3 in Central City
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Century Casino Central City
Century Casino Central City
#2 of 3 in Central City
65 reviews
15.5 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#5 of 14 in Winter Park
517 reviews
10.1 mi away
Eldora Lodge
Eldora Lodge
#3 of 18 in Golden
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk

Address: 111 Richman Street, PO Box 45, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Black Hawk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Black Hawk
Price Range: $117 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk 4*
Number of rooms: 536
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk is a completely new luxury hotel and spa in the Denver area. This Ameristar Hotel in Black Hawk has 536 spacious guest rooms with 64 suites, many featuring panoramic views of the Rocky Mountains. You’ll find a full-service day spa and the only pool in Black Hawk at this Ameristar Resort. Guests may also enjoy an on-site Fitness Center, indoor/outdoor swimming pool and a two-story casino with rustic elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk Hotel Black Hawk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing