We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of Heaven in the Mountains”
Review of Casa Colorado

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Black Hawk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Colorado
Ranked #2 of 4 Black Hawk B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Casa Colorado truly was a slice of heaven in the beautiful Rocky Mountains. Very easily accessible from Denver, CO and yet you are able to get out of the city and enjoy the remoteness of the mountains and nearby ornate quaint towns. Amidst the jacuzzi, private steam shower, sauna and home theater there's no way to not be relaxed in this serene environment. Scott and Morgan were the kindest owners that clearly value others and how their stay is. We had the most wonderful time and will be back for sure whenever we need a break from the city. I feel lucky to have found this wonderful oasis.
Lisa and Nick

Room Tip: Drive a 4wheel drive vehicle and follow website directions, not gps or google maps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaR0713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 13 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had an incredible time at Casa Colorado. Beautiful place. Incredibly comfortable. And Scott cooked up some wonderful dinner and a breakfast that was one for the books. Gorgeous house. Super comfortable and quiet. Amazing movie theater! Can't say enough. Highly recommend visiting!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scott a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Great Location! Great Views! Great Sauna. Our dinner was lovely. Breakfasts for the 2 days we stayed did not include meat. Room was okay - in the basement which means dark, cold and spiders. The "state of the art surround sound home theatre" setup was inoperable and we couldn't get the steam shower to work either. Scott and Morgan have two dogs. Our trip was during the summer and we had nice cool evenings to enjoy the hot tub.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 4ustwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

I love good food, and Morgan's cooking is exquisite! I was attracted to Casa Colorado from pictures of their organic hoop-mansion garden, it’s so big I can’t label it a “hoop-house”! Scott and Morgan really are re-defining what it means to be able to grow food in difficult (mountainous) conditions, proof to the world that sustainable harvesting can be done everywhere. At the end of the growing season Morgan cans old-fashioned style right there in her kitchen, so we were able to enjoy some of their organic bounty in the winter. What they can’t grow is purchased with a mindedness to support local businesses as much as possible. The log cabin house was refurbished by Scott’s own hands, retro-fit with solar radiant flooring, using recycled construction materials as much as possible. And FREE lift tickets to a local ski resort, 15-20 minutes away, a stay at Casa Colorado is a precious indulgence like no other!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lunamejor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2009

Our first trip to Casa Colorado was on Valentine’s Day weekend. Scott and Morgan provided an exceptional experience with no detail left out…from the roses in the suite…to the rejuvenating sauna, steam shower, and hot tub…to the most wonderful romantic dinner we’ve EVER had!!! We also enjoyed a great day of skiing at the nearby resort. Every aspect of their log home is amazing and the breakfasts are so unbelievable. We felt so comfortable staying at Casa Colorado!

We returned in the fall and enjoyed a great hike they recommended as well as all of the other amenities at the B&B, including several movies in the large theater room. The nearby wildlife Colorado has to offer is amazing. We got to see the mountain goats at Mt. Evans up close and personal...what an experience! From mule deer to big-horned sheep to bald eagles, there is so much to enjoy. And the wildflowers are beautiful.

This B&B is close to Boulder and Denver so we just visited again for the THIRD time. We are truly amazed by Morgan’s cooking talents…meals prepared from scratch using fresh, local ingredients…each one even more creative and delicious than the one before. We were able to reconnect with nature as we sat in their hot tub during a very cold, snowy night. We are so inspired by Scott and Morgan and have really enjoyed each stay with them in their beautiful, eco-friendly home.

We highly recommend Casa Colorado (especially the meals) and hope to return again soon!

Tom & Christine
New Jersey

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatureLoverNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2009

In the winter it is truly a winter wonderland place. Comfortable room. The steam and sauna were so cleansing. Morgan's chef abilities amazing, delicious meals we had. Scott and Morgan are so easy and nice to be with. We drove to Nederland which was an interesting little town with great little shops. Casa Colorado came recommended to us and we are so glad we explored it. You should too!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessicaNYBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

I made last minute reservations at Casa Colorado to host visiting family from out of town. Scott and Morgan went out of their way to accommodate our needs and made us feel at home the minute we arrived. Much of my family had not seen the Rockies previously so they were awestruck on the drive up through the Front Range. On our arrival, this gave way to amazement at Casa Colorado. The thoughtful attention to detail on the design and decor made for a place that has real character rather than the cookie cutter layouts of so many other places. Since our stay I have been looking for another excuse to stay there, so I highly recommend it over anywhere else I've been in the mountains.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoradoTraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Hawk
7.8 mi away
Lady Luck Casino Black Hawk
7.8 mi away
Isle Casino Hotel Black Hawk
2.9 mi away
Eldora Lodge
Eldora Lodge
#3 of 18 in Golden
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Reserve Casino Hotel
Reserve Casino Hotel
#1 of 3 in Central City
2,117 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
15.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Golden West on Evergreen Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colorado

Address: 196 Bear Crossing Rd, Black Hawk, CO 80422-4561
Location: United States > Colorado > Black Hawk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Black Hawk
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing