We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Our First B&B Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berthoud Inn & Events

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Berthoud Inn & Events
Ranked #1 of 1 Berthoud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Our First B&B Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was our first stay at a B&B. Our first impression is that the old Victorian house
looks like a haunted house. We are the Inn’s only guests so we have no trouble finding
a parking space! Berthoud Inn is located right off a traffic circle in a residential area in
an old well-kept town. As far as we can tell, this is the only lodging in Berthoud. The
next nearest place is located in Loveland.

Berthoud Inn is clean, very quiet, and charming with classic elegance. Mark, a former
chef and owner of Berthoud Inn, is warm, friendly and accommodating. Upon arrival
we were greeted and shown around. Each one of the eight rooms is decorated in a
different theme with a private bath. The king bed room we stayed in is decorated in Art
Deco style and is about 400 square feet (??). The TV is a floor model and cannot be seen
from bed. There is no refrigerator / microwave in the room; however, cold soda is
available in a refrigerator found in the dining room. Clear Belgium blocks separate the
bathroom from the sleeping area and there is a blue light along the top of the Belgium
blocks which adds ambiance to the room. The bath has a pedestal sink, tile floor bath,
and a bathtub with shower. There is no individual temperature control for each
bedroom. There are a few candles in the room / bathroom. As far as we could tell,
there is no Internet connection. Breakfast is amazing and wonderful – fresh fruit with
light cream, freshly squeezed orange juice, ham, bacon, eggs, toast, sweet potato
pancakes, freshly baked apple crisp with ice cream, and delicious coffee. There is a
main table that seats six and two or three smaller tables that seat four.

Other room decors include French, Egyptian, Oriental, Frontier, Tropical, and Country. Berthoud Inn also has a separate unit (not inside the main house) that allows pets, has a full kitchen, washer, dryer, etc. This unit is often occupied by families with children or contractors working in the area.

Berthoud Inn is a relaxing, clean and nice place to stay; however, the lack of wireless Internet,
individually controlled heating / air conditioning, hot tub, room refrig and the length of time spent on breakfast is not our cup of tea. We like to relax in a hot tub at night, watch TV and then get up and run the next morning. Please don't confuse our not being B&B people with the quality and hospitality of Berthoud Inn. Those who enjoy B&B's will no doubt enjoy your stay.

Berthoud Inn would be a great place for a wedding, rehearsal dinner, shower, or other
type of party. The grounds were meticulously manicured and there is a dance floor and
place for a DJ / small band. Mark handles weddings all the time and the guests often
stay in the Inn. There is a bridal suite that has skylights, a high ceiling and a round
bed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peachessmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    14
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
104
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Great bed and breakfast within walking distance of charming, downtown Berthoud, Colorado. This historic home, built in 1888, has unique and comfortable rooms. Plus there's a 2-bedroom apartment for extended stay visitors and people with dogs.

The best part of staying at the Berthoud Inn, however, is the food. The innkeeper is a top-notch chef. We think this is what really sets this place apart! We've stayed at many bed and breakfasts across the United States and the UK, and a lot of them have great food, but the Berthoud Inn has outstanding food.

We would definitely go back and we will definitely recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeidioftheRockies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berthoud, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We spend most of our time away in Bed & Breakfasts, so we want to commend the uniqueness and well-run nature of this one for everyone considering a small town experience like this one. The food, attention to detail, balance of privacy & social time was all quite possible here. In fact, we considered the Inkeeper to be a "model" person to run a small town B & B or anywhere really. He was an excellent chef, helpful host, and an all-round good person! It doesn't get any better than this from our perspective. Thanks for providing is a "home away form home!"

Room Tip: We loved the Korean Room-very unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2rabbits1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My stay at the Berthoud Inn was my first experience of a B & B in the US. Marc is an amazing host, the house an amazing house, and the breakfast was beyond amazing! I would do this again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meriwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

If your ever in Colorado it is worth the effort to make it to the Berthoud B&B. The food is exceptional as is the hospitality. Berthoud is central to Denver, Fort Collins and the ski areas. Don't hestitate to stay there.

Room Tip: Stay in the Country room or the Egypt room. PS, There is not a pool, I couldn't get the program...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This was at least our 8th stay at the Berthoud Inn. Mark never stops amazing us. His home is now considered our home away from home. His breakfasts are absolutely wonderful. My husband had some unique medical needs while there and Mark took it all in stride and met all of our needs. We look forward to our visit to Colorado every year and Mark and his Inn are such a big part of it.

Room Tip: We always try to stay in the Art Deco room. It has it's own TV and is on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank munsonlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

If you seek a relaxing, personalized, home-away-from-home experience in Colorado, Berthoud Inn and Events is your house. Mark (and his sidekick Jessie) provide a quite, peaceful, clean, safe, and VERY beautiful place for your travels. No detail is overlooked: juice and drinks chill in the fridge, the quite/peaceful main room and living room almost beg for YOU to sit and chill.

Angela and I have been to Bed and breakfasts all over Texas and several all over Panama - Mark and the Berthoud Bed and Breakfast lead the pack!

And the breakfast: Simply amazing. Mark is up with the roosters preparing the most visually awesome and DELICIOUS morning treats you can imagine. Meanwhile Jessie keeping everyone company ensuring the hospitality is as impeccable as the food and the service.

Room Tip: All room are incredibly spacious, clean and comfortable. 5 Stars all across the board..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dustin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berthoud
10.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Longmont
Hampton Inn Longmont
#2 of 13 in Longmont
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
7.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 15 in Loveland
4.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
8.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Crossroads Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Plaza Hotel
10.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Loveland - Hotel, Spa and Conference Center
17.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berthoud Inn & Events? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berthoud Inn & Events

Property: Berthoud Inn & Events
Address: 444 1st St, Berthoud, CO 80513-1317 (Formerly Berthoud Bed and Breakfast)
Location: United States > Colorado > Berthoud
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Berthoud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Berthoud Inn & Events 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berthoud Inn and Events is like a step back in time. An elegant yet relaxed atmosphere. Wonderful three-course breakfasts round out your morning. Relax and refresh in a country setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Berthoud Inn & Events reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing