We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twilight Zone material...”
Review of Glen Echo Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bellvue
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glen Echo Resort
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Short and sweet: It's a trailer park that has cabins for rent. By 9:30 one drunk after another left the bar and walked by our campfire. Turns out all of them lived in the park. By 10:30 we had two of the "local" drunk women screaming at each other about heaven knows what, followed closely by another resident male breaking up what was seconds from becoming a physical fight between the two. This was taking place literally 15 feet from our campfire. 10 minutes later a larger "local" group left the bar and headed our direction. This produced a fight between two males where one was clearly knocked out by the other. The others in the group just stood around waiting for the downed gentleman to wake up... like they'd all seen it before. I could go on... and on. We ended up going back into our cabin, closing the windows, locking the doors, paid our $170.00 and went home the next morning. Twilight zone ... truly twilight zone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank WMT_2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 47 of 47 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2010

We spent 2 nights on the island tent camping. Staff was very friendly, views were great, location was totaly awesome however.....the fire pit was not cleaned out for some time. We had to clean it before we could start a fire. Tent sites are pretty small. 5 out of 7 sites are too small for a large tent. Bathrooms were a little dirty as well.
Would I stay again??? you bet ya. Its a great place to camp but the store is pricey.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blondmedic911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

My family stopped at the restaurant and loved it. The food was great, the atmosphere was fun, the facility was clean, the staff was very friendly. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank DSharpVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

This is a beautiful area of Colorado and the Glen Echo Resort is a great place to enjoy the scenery. We stopped in to the cool little bar for a beer and ended up staying all night. Gail, Vern and the rest of the staff was amazing and a lot of fun.

We did not stay at the cabins, but Gail showed us a couple of them and we will definetely stay there next time we come up.

You have to eat the green chile it is the best I have ever had...seriously. Our day at Glen Echo made our trip!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottD21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

In all fairness, the cabin (the West Duplex) was quite roomy and mostly clean except for housekeeper's hand smudges near the shower and very boxed in toilet. I should say roomy except for the bathroom which was adequate but cramped, especially around the toilet, which had a multi-tiered towel rack mounted to the side of it as well. It was a game of dodge and balance to sit or arise without knocking yourself loopy and pretty much impossible for my slender husband to use the toilet as a man prefers -standing up.

I liked the quaintness of the cabin, log on the outside with knotty pine paneling and hewn rock fireplace inside and a kitchen and bath humble, almost stuck in time complete with appliances in one of the gold colors from the 60s or 70s and light turquoise tile from the same time period. Furnishings were shabby but not so chic. The sofa was comfy. The swiveling easy chair rocker was a bit grungy on the edges. People do forget to vacuum under the cushion and the dust builds up. The curtains were cute home-mades or Walmart makeovers, adequate and cheery enough. There were plenty of period light fixtures and lamps as well. Commercial type carpet in a darkish blue was fine, somewhat frayed at the fireplace edge. It looked vacuumed well enough, the corners and edges weren't glaringly dusty which can be a common problem in many lodgings. the bed was comfortable on one side, but the side nearer the doorway of the bedroom was obviously well used according to my husband.

Warmth was no problem whatsoever although it was quite cold at night up in Poudre Canyon. The heater worked very well. We didn't use the fireplace although the resort provides all the wood you want.

We enjoyed the space of a sitting-dining-kitchen area separate from the bedroom. For heat or cooling transfer, the wall between them is open at the peak of the vaulted ceiling, so if you had sleepers on the hide-a-bed-sofa you might have a privacy issue. You certainly do with the bathrooms in the duplex! Such is travel, I suppose.

Linens and bedding were clean and sufficient. The bed linens were basic, with a thin velux blanket under the bedspread. I was glad that the heater worked well enough to not need the pilly acrylic blanket on the closet shelf. It was probably clean, but just not appealing looking at all. There were also extra pillows up there. Bath linens were snowy white and mixed heavy, fluffy and medium, gritty.

The front porch of the duplex was large and commodius with a picnic table for each unit and plenty of built-in seating as well. The porch roof supporter log carved like a bear is a charming touch. We weren't able to park our medium-sized SUV on the west parking pad because of a tree leaning over the pad. That's ok, I'd rather have the tree given the surrounds.

The surrounds. I was dismayed to see what would be beautiful grounds overtaken by what appear to be permanently parked travel trailers and mobile homes. There are many older growth evergreen trees, but in every possible space is a trailer of some sort, complete with sewer drain hoses, television receivers, laundry lines, yard decor and, well, junk. From the "river view" porch and front window we saw: the back of a picnic pavilion, a large propane tank, a semi-permanent trailer, the playground and a bit of a grassy space past a scraggly juniper bush with maybe a glimpse of the riverbank near the little rustic cabins. From the west windows on the cabin: more trailers, some in poor shape and a bit cluttered. From the bathroom window: the tree island in the dirt drive, the back of the store/restaurant/bar, the utlity area with their own trash truck, the back of the lodge building, the hot tub hut (under renovation). This wasn't exactly the bucolic setting the website or brochure would have you believe, but it was quiet at night and we could see the stars and hear hooting owls. Remember, though, it was the off season and very few of the trailers were occupied.

Having considered a rustic cabin, we explored their area which is right along the riverbank. They're fairly closely set, which is common at cabin resorts, cute little wooden structures that look a little shabby on the back sides. They are very close to the footbridge that crosses a runlet of the river to a little island populated with too many tentsites for the space. I can imagine it'd be lovely to camp out so close to the gurgling river in summer, but unless all the other campers are part of your group, it'd be too close for comfort. There is also absolutely no sanded area in any tent space for the tent, nor are they especially level or smooth. I wouldn't pay $25 for that at all.

We arrived late, in an off-season time. After taking time for a rest and freshening up, the restaurant was closed. No biggie, we thought. We took the website literally when it said the pizza oven in the bar was always hot. Ok, get this: a convection-toaster oven is not a pizza oven and frozen Schwan's pizza at $9 is a rip-off. The liquor selection is reasonably broad and a number of better beers are offered alongside the usual Budweiser and Coors. A manhattan cocktail was a challenge for the bartender, though.
So, if you're arriving late or off-season, bring some food to cook in the cabin or takeout from Fort Collins to enjoy in the room.

For breakfast the next day we'd planned to check out the bragged-about cinnamon rolls. We were ready to eat at 8:45, but the restaurant wasn't going to open for breakfast until 10:00. The staff tried like hell to get us to wait around. Neither we nor some other guests did. We'd come up to visit Red Feather Lakes, which neither of us had visited previously. Waiting around for breakfast seemed dumb, so we bought cereal and milk from the convenience store at usurious prices but had it the next morning as well.

Late in the afternoon, after driving around the Red Feather Lakes area a bit, we tried the restaurant. I had a decent gravy-type green chile, a generous bowl for $7.50. I was impressed with the accompanying home-made tortilla - it was perfectly flaky and chewy. My spouse had a hand-formed beef $9 hamburger that looked delicious, but somewhat undercooked. The accompanying fries were good but not remarkable. We also split one of the ballyhooed cinnamon rolls. It was good and it was large but nothing special really, although enjoyable. Service was prompt and friendly. The lodge decor punctuated with local art and old time collectibles made for a pleasant atmosphere.

Although our stay was pleasant enough as far as comfort, cleanliness and quiet, I wouldn't venture to the Glen Echo Resort again unless some serious changes were made. The cabin and room prices are far too high given the trailer-park setting. It has to be noisy and smelly in the summer with all the barbecues and fire pits in close quarters.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Coloradotuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2007

I located the Glen Echo Resort on the Camping Directory for Colorado. This is a great directory. Let me first explain that I only tent camp, and the facilities must have flushing toilets and showers. Glen Echo Resort provided some of the best facilities around this area.

Our campsites was right by the river, this made for great sound during the night. The only draw back to our campsite we had no trees for shade. Setting up our tent site was tiring.
Also they have a really nice staff working the grounds.

Pro

Restaurant and Bar on site – Great Music from Nick the bartender.
Flushing Toilets and Showers
Clean campground
Hummingbirds everywhere
Convenience Store on site.

Cons -

RV campground (the RV were permanent so they were quiet)
Cabins

4  Thank striston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Glen Echo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Echo Resort

Address: 31503 Poudre Canyon Rd, Bellvue, CO 80512-9312
Location: United States > Colorado > Bellvue
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Bellvue
Price Range: $50 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Glen Echo Hotel Bellvue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing