We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice stop on the way back from the mountains!”

Mishawaka Amphitheater
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Bellvue
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Really nice stop on the way back from the mountains!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stopped at this local bar/restaurant after an overnight in the mountains on our way back to Fort Collins. It's built literally on the shore of the river - we could have almost reached about and touched a rafting group that floated by. The beer is from local breweries - lots of styles, cold and ready. Menu was varied - fish tacos, chicken wings, but also great veggie chili, burgers, and steaks. They have a large amphitheater outside that showcases both local and national talent. I agree with other reviewers that (like many things in this part of Colorado) there is some tension between local regulars and more yuppie tourists. But I think there's room for everyone - and the overall vibe of the place was very friendly and pleasant. Great option for tasty well prepared food and locally brewed craft beers - and the view cannot be beat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jungsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    25
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellvue, Colorado
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Used to be a great place, in the day.”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This use to be a really great mountain place to go for cold beer, good steaks and great music. New owners have turned it into a down town yuppie wanna be place. Way to expensive plus they charge to park and boot your tire if you don't pay.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Poudre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
161 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Definitely unique, definitely Colorado”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Great beers great music, great scenery, good food--up in the mountains with the Poudre River rushing by, bighorn sheep commonly grazing just on the hillside across the river. New owners have made some needed changes for the better. Seems to attract hot babes, got no problem with that! Great place to stop while on a scenic weekend drive.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kickbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
495 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Local Music, Rustic Setting, River View”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

http://www.themishawaka.com/ 13714 POUDRE CANYON HIGHWAY, BELLVUE, COLORADO 80512 • 970.482.4420
We visited this bar/restaurant/amphitheater in December, on a business day and not at meal time, which is probably not the optimum time. We were driving up the highway and our host thought we would enjoy seeing the place. So we stopped in and had drinks and snacks. Even though it was a bit chilly, there were people in and out and we got a nice preview for another more seasonal visit.
The house hosts many local bands, most of which are good local talent and the variety of music changes with the musicians. There is a smallish rustic outdoor amphitheater, and an indoor 'barn' which holds 100-150 during shows held during inclement weather. The barn features a floor-to-ceiling rustic fireplace which heats the room wonderfully.Tickets are sold to the performances and schedules are posted on the website. Join them for New Year's Eve!
This is a roadside bar first, restaurant and amphitheater second, so no one under drinking age is allowed inside and they carefully card all. It's right on the Poudre (say POO' ter) River and the outside dining balcony is positioned right over the water. Wading outside the facility is no longer allowed.
The wait staff was fun and friendly. We had fries and beer, mixed cocktails, and a guest had cocoa. The drinks were good and neither too strong nor too weak. The fries were so hot and fresh they were almost too hot to eat, which is how they should be served. The wait staff admitted that they arrive at the restaurant flash frozen, so they are not from potatoes peeled on the premises. They were still delish...
Onsite parking is available, but fills up quickly so there is a shuttle from Fort Collins. there are no overnight facilities, either hotel or RV nearby, but people can and do camp in the wild in permitted areas. Mishawaka is roughly 14 miles up the canyon from Fort Collins, so it's not far, but the scenery changes quickly to a mountain community, and it feels more rustic than that.
The 2012 fire did not touch this place, but it came close, on the other side of the Poudre. The staff is working hard to encourage visitors to come back. It's still very beautiful and sounds like a fun night for local music enthusiasts.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Violette54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Always a treat!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I make sure to come and have a nice breakfast or lunch in the late spring or summer here. It's truly a treat to eat on the deck overlooking the river and has a pretty good selection on the menu. Everyone is friendly and food is tasty! My favorite place to take visitors from out-of-town. Was very happy the recent fire didn't claim this gem! Parking can be a challenge however, not a lot of spots to park at times, especially on the weekends!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TanyaM53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mishawaka Amphitheater also viewed

Been to Mishawaka Amphitheater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing