We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Beaver Creek Lodge(Beaver Creek)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Beaver Creek Village(Beaver Creek)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Bachelor Gulch Condos(Beaver Creek)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Eagle Vail(Beaver Creek)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (421)
Filter reviews
421 results
Traveler rating
324
63
17
13
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
324
63
17
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsski liftstrawberry liftclosest hotelsmall hotelhot tubliterally stepsgas fireboard gamescentennial liftchair liftgranola barsrock resortfantastic locationthe entire staffend of the dayvalet parkingthe pines lodge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
276 - 281 of 421 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Osprey exudes what Beaver Creek is all about. Not Exactly Roughing It? Not even close to Roughing it. Proximity to lifts - Check! Clean, comfortable, luxurious rooms - Check! Customer Service - Check. In fact you won't find a better group of employees anywhere in the Vail Valley. The Osprey is not a large property by any means, and as a guest you feel special and welcomed by a seasoned group of hotel professionals. So if what you are seeking is a vacation of comfort, convenience, and service that is certain to spoil even the most veteran traveler then the Osprey is your place!

Room Tip: Just ask! The front desk is sure the do what they can to make your stay comfortable. The only room "issue" I was made aware of is proximity to lift. Yes, the chairlift is so close, you can hear it! So if your not looking for first chair, or plan on long mornings in bed you may want to find a room thats not so close to what makes this hotel spectacular!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cgersbach, General Manager at The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

The Osprey is so glad to hear this is your second stay at the Osprey and that it’s just as good as the first. We really appreciate your loyal business while in Beaver Creek and love to hear that we exceeded your expectations and lived up to the motto “Not Exactly Roughing it” . We do look forward to having you back with us in the near future and please do recommend us to your friends.

Sincerely

Chris Gersbach
General Manager
The Osprey, A RockResort

P: 970-754-7390
F: 970-754-7340
Front Desk: 970-754-7400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Firstly the staff are super helpful & super friendly. From the ski valet, bell hop, bar staff and cleaning staff. Chuck the ski valet was just so generous of his time and energy – daily snow reports - of groomed runs and he had our boots and our skis waiting for us – even before we asked and got to know us by name which was a really nice personal touch. The Strawberry Express Ski lift is right at back door- simply put your skis on and shuffle 4-5 feet. This takes you up to some good Blue black and simple green runs. Or you can ski across the bridge into the Village ski Centennial Lift that takes you right up then top of Beaver Creek Mountain to the most stunning 7 mile greens, blue and Black runs.
The four chair express lift takes you to the middle section and from there you can catch the cinch right to the top. Restaurants and toilets are everywhere on this mountain and loads of Information skiers, patrol and lift staff. You felt very much supported with good signage, emergency phones and long wide runs.
This resort is a true ski in and ski out resort – not like some of the back tracks you get in some locations. You literally ski off the runs and slide into the door step where Chuck has hot chocolate or fresh oranges and even slippers for your feet if you want to take a break from your ski boots.
The location of the Resort is half an hour’s drive from Eagle Vail Airport - we flew in American Airlines direct from LAX. There are many direct flights from major cities or you can connect through Denver and catch a smaller plane for a 40 minute flight into Eagle Vail.
We booked a 4 WD transfer through the Hotel web site and it went very smoothly.
Location of the hotel is literally across the street from Beaver Creek Village which is a lovely quaint friendly village. Hot chocolate chip cookies at first lift runs and at the end of the day - a signature treat of Beaver Creek.
The hotel itself only has 45 rooms available – some are residential so it has a nice mix. The gym is small but good equipment, a hot spa and the lounge area was a really friendly pace with a large Gas open fire, board games, TV and daily newspaper, magazines for you to relax. The other good thing was a DVD machine rental you could, access at any time through a DVD credit card given to you at reception on arrival. So latest movie releases and was very popular.
Tapas from 3-6 pm - $30 for 3 – even if you don’t stay at Osprey – make sure you eat here. Innovative, fresh and tasty food was really special - bravo to the chef and his kitchen staff. He can cook better than he can interact with folks.
The village itself has a general store for some personal items and basic medicines etc if you have kids, there are shops that sell anything from fine and sculptured art, jewellery, fine fashion, kids toys, ski gear, boots, woollens, crafts, wines etc. The village Cultural centre is fantastic; Smoky Robinson was there, Circus de Soleil, so many really fine entertainment options.
We loved sitting at CJ’s bar enjoying the music outdoors whilst sipping wine and beer at the end of a fantastic day skiing. A gorgeous 14 year old girl from the crowd sang with the band and it was very friendly family atmosphere along with a general overall feel of a small community. Beaver Creek gets it right for young and teenage families. If you want a more action perhaps Vail is a better option.
We used the Beaver Creek ski school and had one of the best ski instructors Wes Cohen really made a big difference to our skiing and enjoyment of the mountain. Ask for him specifically if you want excellent mix of good solid knowledge of skiing and the Beaver Creek Mountain. He will improve your skiing, confidence and enjoyment of this stunning sport. Anything from green run skiers to black run skiers. Our other skiers used Tom Newmann and found him to be excellent as well.
This is a true ski in Ski out for any ability – you don’t have to be a black run skier or boarder to ski right up to the back door. We were in room 201 and over looked both the Strawberry express lift and on our balcony the whole Beaver Creek Mountain by Centennial lift and the bridge with all the skiers moving back and forth.
Our room looked out toward Strawberry express and across to the village Centennial Lifts and mountain runs - gorgeous views. Gas fire place, daily fresh water (that is in glass bottles free and generously refilled at evening turn down service), and turn down service at night with a wee chocolate on the pillow. Generous towels and a Coffee percolator in room.
DVD players in our room, we had a humidifier that was magic as it put some moisture back in the room, and large Flat screen TV. Modern décor, snugly comfy bed, fresh airy rooms if you wanted to open the doors and windows. Two balcony chairs to sit and watch skiers/boarders and the village activity.
We have stayed at non ski in ski out and had to wait and take buses which is fine but the convenience of the ski in and ski out and simply walk across the road to the village and a multitude for restaurants, shops, and activity is magic.
You are so tired after skiing we would often not make it back when we had to bus it to and from the village square.
If you can afford to stay right in the village – give it a go – you won’t go back to taking buses in and out.

Room Tip: Room 201 overlooks Strawberry EXpress Lifts And Bevaer Village Mountain ( and Centential lifts) Its at end of corrider away from lifts and a corner room so two sides of windows
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MushuAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cgersbach, General Manager at The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us here at The Osprey Hotel on your recent trip to Beaver Creek. I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay and thought so highly of our location and staff . We do look forward to having you back with us in the near future and please do recommend us to your friends.

Sincerely


Chris Gersbach
General Manager
The Osprey, A RockResort

P: 970-754-7390
F: 970-754-7340
Front Desk: 970-754-7400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Just checked out today after 4 night stay. Lots of opportunities for this resort to improve upon to make it worth the money. #1 problem was general lack of concern for guest experience. For this price I would expect someone to ask how is my stay going, etc. It always seemed to be an inconvenience for the employees if you asked for anything. Coffee pots were always empty. You would think if Hilton Garden Inn can keep coffee out all day so could a high end boutique resort in a cold climate. There aren't enough conveniently placed electricl outlets in room. Would be nice to be able to plug in phone on night stand and not clear across the room. The poolside firepit is only lit by request. There is no vending so if you get a craving after 11 then your out of luck. It is nice that they have granola bars and oranges but would be nice to have a variety and a way to get a soda if you want one. Coffee pots are in bathroom which quite frankly grosses me out. We asked for a wake up call and never got it.
To give credit, the location is great. Step out the back door and your on a lift. Beds and linens were extremely comfortable which is very important. Very clean hotel. Ski valet was nice. Free DVD rentals was nice.
Overall, when compared to other places at this price point I expected much more. The location and ski valet do not overcome the lack of service. Quite frankly, I get better service from chain hotels that I frequent for business. The personnel need a class on customer service and with the exception of Oliver and the valets, the rest of the employees need to get a personality.
Will not recommend this hotel and will choose other options next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PNCOOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cgersbach, General Manager at The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at The Osprey. Please accept my sincerest apologies that our guest service did not meet or exceed the expectations we strive to deliver to each of our guests. We are extremely disappointed to hear of this situation and can confidently say that this experience is not at all the norm for our guests. I can assure you that we are addressing each one of the issues stated in your review to make certain this type of situation does not happen again. To all of our guests, on behalf of the management team, we each take personal responsibility to ensure the safety and well being of our guests. We take comments like this very seriously and greatly appreciate your feedback.

Sincerely

Chris Gersbach
General Manager
The Osprey, A RockResort

P: 970-754-7390
F: 970-754-7340
Front Desk: 970-754-7400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My family stayed at the Osprey during the Christmas break. While many people were nice there were things going on at the hotel that I find unacceptable. First of all we had to wait over a hour for our lunch food to come out. During that time we could hear some cook screaming and yelling about the people in the restaurant. This carried over to the lobby area in front of everyone to see. He kept screaming and cursing that he quits. I had watch all of this while I wait for my food. To my surprise this individual was still there the next day. Very poor management to allow an employee to act any way he wants in front of paying customers. This is not the type of experience that someone should have to go through during the holidays especially at a Rock Resorts.

Room Tip: as convenient as the location of the lift is, stay on the other side of the htel
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cgersbach, General Manager at The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your holiday stay at The Osprey. Please accept my sincerest apologies for your dining experience and that it did not meet or exceed the expectations we strive to deliver to each of our guests in the Osprey Lounge. We are extremely disappointed to hear of this situation and can confidently say that this experience is not at all the norm for our guests. I can assure you that we have addressed the issues stated in your review to make certain this type of situation does not happen again. To all of our guests, on behalf of the management team, we take comments like this very seriously and greatly appreciate your feedback.

Sincerely,


Chris Gersbach
General Manager
The Osprey, A RockResort

P: 970-754-7390
F: 970-754-7340
Front Desk: 970-754-7400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Wow!!!... is how I'll begin. This resort is amazing in every way. Beautiful, friendly, & the PERFECT location with modern, clean, super-cool rooms. Did I mention clean??? I know this is what everyone expects with this level of resort...but how many times are you actually impressed with every detail? They really think of everything. The shower is like a spa, and the beds are the most comfortable, ever. The tea assortment & bottled water was also a nice touch. And, the staff is very professional and friendly!

A special "thanks" to Devin (sp)? who went out of his way to get our skis from our car when he heard we had left them behind. We didn't even ask for his help.

The fact that you can walk right out the door and onto lift is just an added bonus. There is nothing I would change about Osprey....except that I wish I could visit more often.

Thank you for an amazing trip. This is the BEST place to stay in Beaver Creek!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodine3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews