We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Beaver Creek!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Beaver Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2012

The staff is great at this hotel!!! Nice modern rooms with fantastic comfortable beds. Only steps "literally" from the Strawberry Park lift. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 396 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2012

I just returned from a stay at the Osprey and absolutely loved my stay. The rooms are well appointed in a modern style. The beds are comfortable, and the rooms are quiet. The ski lift is literally just outside the hotel. You get off the lift, ski 15 feet, turn in your skis, get some hot chocolate and walk up to your room. We got dinner at the hotel restaurant and were pleasantly surprised at the quality. The dishes were unique and tasty and the server was friendly and helpful. There is a nice jacuzzi and heated outdoor pool. The fitness center is small but has nice equipment.

Now for the amazing part. When we arrived at the hotel, we realized that my wife had forgotten her skis in Denver. She was upset, and I was considering driving back to get them, which would have meant missing the super bowl. Before we could even start to turn around or completely lose it, the employees were going way above and beyond to help us out. In particular Andrew deserves special mention- he managed to find my wife complimentary skis to use for the three days of our vacation! When they did not fit, he again went out of his way to find her another pair! The staff completely made our vacation. Rather than starting off on a completely bad note, we were able to relax and watch the game. This amazing service continued throughout our stay. What was most impressive was they never made it seem as though they were doing us a favor; they genuinely seemed to want to make sure we had an excellent time.

We booked this hotel as a special treat and do not typically stay at such luxurious establishments, but I would not hesitate to stay here again. We delayed our honeymoon when we recently got married, and after our trip are considering going back to the Osprey for our honeymoon. It was that good. This place is worth every penny! I cannot give this hotel a higher recommendation. Stay here- you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TylerDurden2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Thank goodness we found this place! The Osprey Lounge could easily be overlooked as a small hotel bar, but that would be the greatest mistake of your stay at Beaver Creek. The food is phenomenal and the service by Chris and Danny was superb. The tapas were very well thought out and the flavors and presentation were outstanding! We started with a mixed green salad and went on to the black bean tacos, flank steak, and shrimp with grits. Try this place on your next visit to Beaver Creek!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birdman676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We had our annual Board Meeting at The Osprey and every one of our executives told me how impressed they were with the rooms, meeting room, food, and especially the employees. The employees go above and beyond to make sure we are comfortable.

Dana in the sales department is incredibly detail-oriented and really helped accommodate our many CHANGING needs! She did an fabulous job with all of our meeting details.

I look forward to working The Osprey for future events.

Room Tip: Strawberry Park lift side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeepskibunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Noting that almost every review includes the word “amazing”, while impressed we were not amazed.

We had a great stay and loved the fireside bar (and the excellent bar service) as well as the tapa style menu. Also, there are plenty of great little touches – complimentary ski valet, tubs of sunscreen, energy bars and coffee (for those who like Starbucks?).

The rooms are warm and relaxing, we especially enjoyed the fireplace. The Jacuzzi and pool are also recommended. The location is fantastic, a very short walk to the village and genuinely ski-in/ski-out. The complimentary resort shuttle service was great for going out in the evening, they dropped us off at the restaurant (Vin48) and then returned to get us when we had finished.

The area that let the hotel down was the management and reception staff, young and not as experienced as you would expect for a hotel that markets itself as “The Osprey at Beaver Creek is the ultimate in Beaver Creek lodging” and as having “exemplary service”.

On arrival the first room were we shown to had an unmade bed and smelt of (very recent) smoking. The second room (an upgrade) was larger but lacked a fireplace (one of features that attracted us to the Osprey). Eventually the receptionist admitted there were no other rooms available so we had to spend a night in the second room, before moving to a third room the following day. Given we had just arrived in the US after a 24 hours journey from Australia this was not quite the relaxing start to our holiday that we had been looking forward to. Given the hotel knew we were arriving that evening we were somewhat astounded at the state of the original room! In the circumstances we also felt that the rather inexperienced receptionist (the only person who seemed to be on duty at 8.00pm) should have at least advised the hotel manager of the issue. Other than the manager introducing himself, the next day, and apologising the hotel made no other effort to make up for the issue.

However, if we return to Beaver Creek we would seriously consider returning to The Osprey despite the initial problems with the rooms.

A quick note on Beaver Creek:

Despite the slightly less than average snow fall before we arrived we thought the skiing conditions were excellent. The village itself is a bit contrived and kitsch, an attempt to replicate a European village but lacking genuine character and atmosphere.

We recommend that you avoid Beaver Creek Sports (the largest ski hire business in Beaver Creek); the staff who assist with ski boot selection and fitting are poorly training and inexperienced. On the third attempt to get boots correctly fitted did they get it right (but that required escalation to the store manager).

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We (4 guys from London who ski Aspen every year, mainly for the food) were beginning to despair of finding a decent restaurant in BC ...... until we found The Osprey's restaurant. Worthy of a Michelin star, with very attentive and staff who cleealry love the osprey and its guests, we found the tapas style menu gave us aroubd 8 dishes of the most excellent seafood, steak and vegetables. Great job everyon! We'll be back Wednesday night for a second evening

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We've been to quite a few resorts out West to ski (Telluride, Aspen, Steamboat) and this ranked as the best hotel experience of all. The staff was great, without being intrusive, and the proximity to the slopes can't be beat...especially when you have a terrific ski valet waiting with your equipment ready to hit the slopes. It was top notch, yet relaxed and our room had a great view of the slopes (on the 4th floor).

We'd highly recommend this hotel to couples and families alike.

Room Tip: Splurge for a 4th floor room with cathedral ceilings facing the mountain. Only drawback is no firep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaver Creek
0.1 mi away
Beaver Creek Lodge
Beaver Creek Lodge
#2 of 18 in Beaver Creek
508 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
#5 of 18 in Beaver Creek
546 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
7.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
7.4 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort

Address: 10 Elk Track Rd, Beaver Creek, CO 81620-5408
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Beaver Creek
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Beaver Creek
#4 Family Hotel in Beaver Creek
#4 Spa Hotel in Beaver Creek
#6 Luxury Hotel in Beaver Creek
Price Range: $195 - $1,421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Osprey at Beaver Creek is the ultimate in Beaver Creek lodging, creating a modern, luxury hotel experience unlike any other you’ll find among ski resorts in Colorado or anywhere else. The Osprey creates unforgettable vacation experiences by coupling luxurious, stylish accommodations and a superior level of comfort with exemplary service from a friendly, welcoming staff. The Osprey was recently awarded the #1 Top Resort in the Continental United States by the 2012 Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards readers survey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Osprey At Beaver Creek, a Rock Hotel Beaver Creek
Inn Beaver Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing