We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay in Mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Beaver Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2007

Great rate tip from Travelzoo for two nights in late May 2007. Nice room; front desk and bell staff made all visitors comfortable. Room very upscale, but have to admit the bed is too firm. Hate to complain about this place. There is a Zagat rated restaurant onsite but I did not visit it because there are three taxes added to everything ordered that together amount to 30%. They do give you two bottles of water and granola bars, so that was good enough for most of my visit. I did walk down to village a few times and did purchase a meal to go from Coyote Cafe on my last night. Chicken Fajita dinner was bland but that was the right thing for my stomach after having experienced food poisoning at Mesa Verde earlier in the trip. There was a small fitness room available as their regular one is undergoing updates during offseason. It was perfect for me as there was never anyone in there when I visited it. I had the pool to myself two days looking up at the mountain and sky views to the music of the chattering magpies. This was heavenly for me. A great part of my vacation. I gladly paid the $18 per night to leave the car parked in the garage after driving many miles through Colorado and Utah. The young men working at the front desk are genuine and friendly. There is computer available in lobby. The bathroom is designed beautifully with over-sized tub for soaking. Starbucks coffee for in-room brewing. The area is gorgeous, but I felt like a princess locked in the palace. Apparently there is a shuttle I heard other people asking for to get down to the village for dinners but I never did see it. My timing was a bit off at the end of a holiday weekend and there for Memorial Day when stores were closed. Wish fervently that the front desk would have advised me there was a Blues and Bar-B-Que fest going on in the village when I arrived on Sunday as I really would have liked to get in on that. Oh well. Will have to try this place again and would recommend it to anyone. You might wonder if young people would have fun here - I did not see anyone stopping a group of three young couples taking a cooler to the pool/hot tub area and cracking open their beers.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ChiWind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

521 - 527 of 559 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2007

We had a perfect 3 day and night ski vacation at Beaver Creek and The Pines Lodge. This was our second stay at a Rock Resort; the first having been the Lodge at Vail. At Rock Resorts, they do a lot of little things that make for a very enjoyable stay. Valet parking by very friendly and helpful staff, a concierge who handled dinner reservations exactly as requested, a small ski shop that stored our skis at the end of each day, a small but perfectly charming pool and hot tub with beautiful views, an exellent on-site restaurant for breakfast every morning with an assortment of daily newspapers, very efficient turndown service every night before bed, boot warmers in the room to dry your skiboots at the end of the day and even a small humidifier in the room to use at night. We stayed in a beautiful King Deluxe room, which was perfectly suited for a ski lodge, with pine finishings, french doors to a step-out balcony and a beautiful view of the mountains. The room was quite large, with lots of built-in storage and a very comfortable kingsize bed. Our only complaint. The doors between the rooms are far too thin, making noise between the rooms a definite annoyance.
The charm and appeal of The Pines Lodge is its ability to offer a full service and personable stay without the size and anonymity of most larger hotels. We would highly recommend this hotel for anyone seeking the perfect ski holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank prose01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2007

This is our second time staying at The Pines. I have no idea how Conde Nast and others have rated this a luxury resort. The staff is in fact pleasant except in the overrated dining room. We had stayed 3 nights at the Park Hyatt which is also overpriced although somewhat worth the money but could not extend our stay for a fourth night. Therefore we were forced to move to the Pines for our final evening in Beaver Creek.
I had made reservations at the restaurant where they insisted on a credit card to hold the reservation. I mentioned we would be staying at the Hotel and they could care less; how tacky. When making the dinner reservation I told them we did not want to sit in the bar but in the main dining room. You guessed it, we were led directly to the bar. When I complained they said that was all they could do, our desserts were comped but I would have rather sat in the dining room.
The rooms are adequate in size but the use of cheap pine doors led to unbelievable noise from the adjoining rooms. It was as if we were all together, 3 families, in one room. Normal conversations were heard through the doors and walls. The amenities were standard at best and a 5 foot tall room fan sat in the corner of the room which is hardly needed in March.
With room rates within $100 - $200 of the Hyatt and Ritz there is absolutely no reason to stay at this tired facility.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Beatentraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2007

We cannot say enough good things about the Pines. A quick intro on us: 6 adult travelers (3 couples - ranging in ages 60-25). We are highly sensitive to good service, good quality and good value. We prefer top notch service, without overpaying for it. So, we'll find a way to stay at the 4 or 5 star places with a good offer, etc.

So...we booked a 3 bedroom condo at the Pines for $799/night. (A little more than $133/person.) I was in charge of booking the place and grew nervous when I saw these terrible reviews. DO NOT BUY INTO THEM. We hit the jackpot staying there!

Room review: 3 bedrooms, 3.5 bathrooms, 2 storied condo with cathedral ceiling, granite counter tops, huge kitchen, dining room table, massive 16' bathrooms, with sunken jaccuzzis, separate standing large shower, 2 fireplaces and more windows to stare at the mountains than you can imagine.

Hotel review: beautiful ski-in/ski-out hotel with exceptional views next to the Chateau in Beaver Creek village. Fireplace with roaring fire in lobby with bowls of free chocolates, Riccola drops and granola bars always on hand in the reception area for your convenience. Hot chocolate, tea and apple cider packets are left out in the afternoons along with fresh cookies near the fireplace to sit and relax. Outdoor pool and jaccuzzi are incredible, especially when it's snowing. Temperatures are set perfectly for the environment and towels are always on hand. The ski concierge has boot warmers and offers tuning, waxing & sharpening if you want it for a competitive fee (about $30). The hotel offers free shuttles to anywhere on the mountain - this becomes one of hte nicest options about Beaver Creek. They were always available and the longest we've ever had to wait was the whole 10 minutes they promise to arrive in. When you go to restaurants, ask the server to call for a shuttle to take you to the Pines when you ask for the check. Voila - outside the restaurant when you walk out.

Staff review: EXCEPTIONAL! Paul, at the front desk, is interning for the semester. He's in the Hotel Management program at Penn State. He offers 5 star service and beyond! Nothing could put him out. He found a way to get us all of the following requests: aspirin, sudafed, reservations at restaurants, moving reservations at restaurants, schedules for local events, check with a grocery store for a certain item, more cold medicine and anything we could ask for. The valets are WONDERFUL! Not only could they not do enough for us - always had the car warming, seat in right position, doors opened on time, packed the car tightly when we were leaving etc., they automatically carried our groceries upstairs and put in fridge any cold items while we skipped off to the slopes! Housekeeping was always thorough - prompt and unintruding. The ski-guys down at the ski concierge are wonderfully friendly, willing to answer any questions and offer advice on how to tackle the mountain, but they will help you with any equipment you need.

So...we were supposed to hit the restaurant there, but didn't b/c we were too excited about so many others, but then wished we'd been there one night. Almost impossible to get a table without reservations ahead of time.

Any bad? - it's true the indoor jaccuzzi does have plants in it, but no biggie - it would be weird to have guests working out next to those in a jaccuzzi (in gym). Gym isn't huge, but how many of us are ready to put in an hour after a serious ski mountain all day? Ski in/ski out? Certainly - but maybe not in November/December. They had 293" at the summit when we were there last week, so no worries about melting snow away from the hotel...The hotel is already a quarter of the way up the mountain.

WE LOVED IT! I have to admit that we might have had a different experience b/c we were on the 4th floor, which is all condos, but we would recommend it to everyone we know. Skip the $18 breakfast and enjoy your own bowl of oatmeal or eggs & orange juice in your gourmet kitchen. :) LOVE THE PINES!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank mtlongon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2007

3 of us stayed at this hotel over the New Years Weekend (12/29/2006 through 1/2/2007). This is one of the most popular times of the year for people to go skiing and the rates were very high. Our room had 2 full beds and cost us around $600 a night. The room was very spacious and had a mini-fridge, boot warmers, teeny balcony, flat-screen tv with VCR and DVD player. Last year we stayed at Christies Lodge in Avon and found this hotel to be a huge upgrade. There was also a lot of storage space for all of your ski clothing and equipment which was a big plus. The negative thing about the room was that it got extremely hot during the day and at night. The heat was turned completely off and the room still got very hot all of the time. We had to open the balcony door to cool of the room on many occasions which was a bit annoying. One night we fell asleep with the balcony door open and woke up to a freezing room in the middle of the night. The fact that the room got so hot would have to be about the only negative thing about it. The ski-in/ski-out pathway was very handy and made the whole experience much more enjoyable. It was great to ski right up to the entryway of the lodge everyday. We never used the gym or spa, but the gym seemed to be a little outdated and needed some updating. The indoor hot tub was full of plants and obviously not in use. There was a heated pool and hot tub outside which we used 3 times. The hot tub was never crowded, but they could definately use a second working hot tub for times when the outside one is full. We had the buffet breakfast at the restaurant the first morning and found it to be pretty good. The price of the breakfast was very expensive, however this was expected in a place like Beaver Creek. The rest of the mornings we had cereal and milk for breakfast in our rooms which was a lot cheaper. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant once and found the food to be delicious. The dinner was very expensive, but the atmosphere was plesant. On one other note the valet parking is $18 a day and is pretty much your only option. If you chose not to valet park your car then you have to take it to the free parking lots at the Beaver Creek entrance and take the free shuttle up. If I was to stay in Beaver Creek village again I might stay at this hotel again. Overall, our stay at the Pines Lodge was a fairly pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2006

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TVJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2006

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank utahskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaver Creek
0.2 mi away
The Charter at Beaver Creek
The Charter at Beaver Creek
#8 of 18 in Beaver Creek
368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beaver Creek Lodge
Beaver Creek Lodge
#3 of 18 in Beaver Creek
524 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
8.3 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#7 of 31 in Vail
337 reviews
1.9 mi away
Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa Avon, Vail Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Lodge, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Lodge, A RockResort

Address: 141 Scott Hill Road, Beaver Creek, CO 81620-5405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Beaver Creek
#6 Luxury Hotel in Beaver Creek
#7 Romantic Hotel in Beaver Creek
Price Range: $185 - $1,266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pines Lodge, A RockResort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slope side at Beaver Creek, The Pines Lodge is a luxurious yet intimate lodge that features ski-in access, exceptional accommodations, and remarkable views throughout the year. Nestled between aspens and pines and overlooking the majestic beauty of The Rockies, The Pines Lodge offers the luxury ski resort experience of a lifetime. While staying at The Pines Lodge you, your guests, and your family will be mere steps away from the ski slopes and the Grouse Mountain Grill, a AAA Four Diamond Award-winning restaurant, where you’ll be treated to some of the finest fare in all of Colorado.The Pines Lodge was recently awarded the #3 in Top Resort in the Continental United States by the 2012 Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards readers survey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pines Lodge, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pines Lodge, a Rock Hotel Beaver Creek
Pines Hotel Beaver Creek
The Pines Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing