We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs refreshing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Beaver Creek
Certificate of Excellence
newport beach
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“needs refreshing”
Reviewed January 22, 2010

Our room must have allergens or mold. When problem 1st began, we got rid of humidifier. That decreased the problem as it must have had mold. Then were careful with bed cover and quilt as when they were exposed the room was uncomfortable.Allergy discomfort remained. Must be because room is older and needs new carpets. Stayed here about 12 years ago and looks like the same furnishings.
Trying to use ski in ski out was very difficult and circuitous. Would not consider the Pines ski in ski out.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewportBeach1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kayakvail, General Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, February 23, 2010
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Pines Lodge. It is unfortunate to hear that your stay was less than satisfactory as we hope all of our guests have a great experience with us. I would like to address the concerns you have expressed in relation to your stay. The hotel conducts a deep cleaning of each lodge room four times a year including a steam cleaning of all the carpets. We have also renovated our lodge room bathrooms, lobby, fitness center, and pool area over the past three years to keep our property up to current standards. We are also sorry to hear about the inconveniences caused by our ski path.

We appreciate all guest feedback and thank you again for expressing your concerns. Please contact me directly for your next visit.

Regards,

Ron Neville
General Manager
The Pines Lodge – A Rock Resort

ronn@vailresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    118
    24
    19
    5
See reviews for
179
215
24
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SE WI
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

Stayed at the Pines for a conference. Rooms were spacious and clean, views were tremendous(ask for an even numbered room for the views) and the restaurant was top notch. Had the steak with garlic mashed potatos and Portabella mushroom appetizer. Just wonderful. Staff was excellent and did a good job with our meetings. Even though I don't ski, I might bring my wife for a long weekend in the fall or summer.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveCher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2009

My 24 year old daughter & I went on a 4 night ski trip to Beaver Creek and stayed at The PInes Lodge because she was able to secure a fantastic rate of $89/night because she works at a hotel that is affiliated with The Pines. I think the rack rate would have been about $450.

We drove in from Denver and arrived just before lunchtime. The hotel only offers valet parking and when we drove up, we were greeted by name. After unloading the car, we were escorted to the front desk to register and then shown to our room which had wireless internet in addition to every other amenity possible. Bottle water in the room was free and replaced twice a day. The room had lots of wood and quite spacious. Beautiful tiled bath. There is a pathway leading to one of the ski slopes and while they consider themselves a ski in ski out property, I tried it the first day and the fresh snow made it difficult to navigate the 50 yards to the slope. Bus service runs every ten minutes from 8-5:00 and available any time by calling by telephone. Service was excellent, friendly and prompt. We parked our car at arrival and left it for 4 days until we checked out.

The hotel restaurant is first class, as is just about everything in Beaver Creek, and the prices are reflective.

There is a ski rental facility just off the lobby and you can leave equipment there at the end of the day and pick it up early the next morning.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if I could afford it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenox862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, N.Y.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2009

Our family just returned from an amazing eight day stay at the Pines Lodge in Beaver Creek. The Pines Lodge surpassed our high expectations in every way. Even before we arrived, the staff bent over backwards in helping us plan our vacation, from ski school and ski equipment rentals to restaurant recommendations and reservations. The room was beautifully appointed and extremely comfortable. The lodge is a short walk from Beaver Creek Village and there is a convenient shuttle service, too. Our room was quiet, enormous and well decorated, with a glorious view of the mountains. The friendly housekeeping staff bent over backwards to make sure we had everything we needed. The Pines Lodge is much like a boutique European hotel. The fitness center, pool, jacuzzi and steam room were wonderful. We liked that the hotel didn't nickel and dime us with lots of extra charges. The $30 daily fee that covered wireless Internet, valet parking (indoor garage), Starbucks coffee, etc. is a brilliant idea and a good value. The hotel offered free laundry equipment on the third floor, which we used several times (the front desk even gave us little boxes of detergent). Thank you for that! My children loved the complimentary freshly baked cookies and hot chocolate set out by the fireplace every afternoon. The staff, especially Evan and Meghan, were extremely friendly and helpful. The Pines Lodge gave us a late check-out time, which was extremely helpful and much appreciated. Our only criticism relates to the food service. The breakfast buffet was adequate, but could have offered a broader fresh fruit selection. We had dinner one evening at the Grouse Mountain Grill, which did not meet our expectations. The service was excellent, but the menu should be more kid-friendly. Even for the adult diner, the menu was limited and the food disappointing (especially considering how expensive it is). It was impossible to hear the live piano player in the main dining room where we were seated, which was also disappointing, as this was the primary reason we chose to eat there. Our mediocre dining experience did not cloud our excellent impression of the Pines Lodge, however. We were very sad to leave on our last day and look forward to returning. We will highly recommend this property to our friends and family. The Coolidge Family.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coollnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, AZ
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2009

I stayed at the Pines Lodge for a business getaway with colleagues and clients. The hotel had the perfect ski lodge feel. Rooms were spacious with great views of the mountain. I can't say enough how friendly the staff was...it was noticeable!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabrina713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2009

Every nice hotel has a certain feeling. This one is warm, friendly and luxurious. My idyllic ski lodge. My son and I just visited on a four day trip and I'd highly recommend it. The staff and service level is second to none. The tasteful rooms are designed for skiers and all the equipment it takes. The lodge truly is "on the mountain" with ski-in/out by the Strawberry Park lift. The Grouse Mountain Inn restaurant was exceptional (try the crusted pork chops!!!) They even helped me through a truly awful experience with Denver's Dollar-Rent-A-Car, quite possibly the worst car rental company in the free world. Dollar gave me a car with a tire problem and when it went flat refused to offer any support, telling me "I better find myself a tire store and replace it." The Pines Lodge actually fixed the tire for me and made sure it was safe to drive. Stay at The Pines for sure. But don't ever rent from Dollar. EVER!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCW14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2009

My wife and I stayed 3 nitesJan. 4/7. We arrived a few hours prior to check in and they already had a room available for us. The reception staff, concierge, housekeeping and particularly the valet service (Raul) were all superb. Cozy relaxing fireplace lobby with hot choc/cookies in afternoon and internet. Also wireless in rooms. Very nice and large rooms, boot warmers, bottled water included, upscale bathrooms with quality shampoo, soap,etc. Free Starbucks coffee on same floor every morning was a very nice touch. Also newspapers delivered to room as well. We had dinner at the restaurant 2 nites. Excellent chef. Food was outstanding and Tony provides exceptional service. A true ski in with skis left right at door. Not exactly a ski out. A short walk to lift or very efficient shuttle about every 10 minutes or so. Overall a very enjoyable stay and well run Lodge.

  • Liked — Very clean, upscale, coffee/newspapers, service, food/bar, location
  • Disliked — short walk to lift..
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lilysouthcarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaver Creek
0.3 mi away
The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort
0.2 mi away
Beaver Creek Lodge
Beaver Creek Lodge
#2 of 18 in Beaver Creek
461 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Charter at Beaver Creek
The Charter at Beaver Creek
#10 of 18 in Beaver Creek
345 reviews
2.1 mi away
Christie Lodge
Christie Lodge
#5 of 9 in Avon
584 reviews
8.3 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Lodge, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Lodge, A RockResort

Property: The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
Address: 141 Scott Hill Road, Beaver Creek, CO 81620-5405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Beaver Creek
#5 Luxury Hotel in Beaver Creek
#7 Romantic Hotel in Beaver Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pines Lodge, A RockResort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slope side at Beaver Creek, The Pines Lodge is a luxurious yet intimate lodge that features ski-in access, exceptional accommodations, and remarkable views throughout the year. Nestled between aspens and pines and overlooking the majestic beauty of The Rockies, The Pines Lodge offers the luxury ski resort experience of a lifetime. While staying at The Pines Lodge you, your guests, and your family will be mere steps away from the ski slopes and the Grouse Mountain Grill, a AAA Four Diamond Award-winning restaurant, where you’ll be treated to some of the finest fare in all of Colorado.The Pines Lodge was recently awarded the #3 in Top Resort in the Continental United States by the 2012 Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards readers survey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Pines Lodge, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pines Lodge, a Rock Hotel Beaver Creek
Pines Hotel Beaver Creek
The Pines Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing