We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super convenient spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pines Lodge, A RockResort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Beaver Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
505 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Super convenient spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Pros: ski in/ski out, ski valet (they store your skis and poles at night--less lugging of gear), friendly, efficient staff (front desk, bell hop, bartender, housekeeping), quiet rooms, easy shuttle transportation, great hot tub. Cons: not a large airy lobby with fireplace and bar--doesn't make you want to hang out there. Double queen room accommodated 2 adults and 2 teens efficiently. All in all a nice value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annieb40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pines L, Front Office Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Annieb40, Thank you for sharing your experience of you recent visit to The Pines. I always enjoy hearing great comments about our team and I will definitely share this with all of the staff. We did recently have a remodel in the lobby and would like to invite you back to The Pines to experience the wood burning fireplace, warm cookies, hot chocolate and cider everyday at 3:30pm after you get off the slopes. Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    106
    21
    15
    4
See reviews for
165
190
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I can't think of one thing that wasn't just perfect during our stay at the Pines. We were there 3 nights before Christmas and found every staff member to be incredibly helpful, jovial and accommodating. The room was luxurious and comfortable, with plenty of space for 4 people and their ski clothes/boots. The filtered drinking water provided in glass bottles in the room was just wonderful, it was so nice to have those, and have them refilled so promptly when asked! The pool was warm and clean, a beautiful peaceful setting, and the hot tub was perfect after skiing in the cold all day. Internet worked perfectly, beds were comfortable and the room temp was easy to control.

We only tried the breakfast buffet at the restaurant and it was definitely worth it - delicious!!! I can only imagine how good dinner would be there. And of course the chocolate chip cookies in the lobby at 3 each day were wonderful (on the days when we weren't getting them at the base of the lifts).

The location is just perfect, just a few minutes' walk from the village and lifts via the ski in/out trail. Very convenient whether walking or skiing. We used the shuttle a couple times at first but preferred the trail once we discovered how close we were to everything!

I'm going back as soon as I can!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephanie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pines L, General Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear stephanie a,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Our water on the rocks filtered water program is a hit with all our guests. It is very important to stay hydrated while staying at altitude and the program also eliminates use of plastic disposable containers.

Please come back and visit us again soon!

Regards,

Bill MacFarlane
wmacfarlane@vailresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Pines Lodge for two nights and loved the place. This hotel is a ski in and out hotel, it does take some pushing to do it as the area is very flat from the ski lift. If you would prefer they have a shuttle that leaves every fifteen minutes to and from the chair lift, the shuttle is prompt and the drivers very helpful. This same shuttle will take you to and from the village at night as well, you just call and they will drop you off or pick you up.
The hotel had free Starbucks coffee on our floor every morning from 7:30- 10:00 am, A nice touch, just walk down the hall and get it.
Lastly the employees were great, from the front desk to to the guys that helped load the car or get your skis for you. You will not find a nicer or more helpful group of people. I wish I had payed more attention to names so I could list them here.
The rooms are nice and finished with pine wood all over giving the hotel a casual look. The beds were extremely comfortable and the heat system was quiet and efficient- some hotels put those darn noisy systems that wake you up every time they come on.
Our room had a refrigerator and worked great. While we did not eat at the hotel the restaurant
looked nice and was rather expensive. I wish I could say something negative about the place but I would be lying. I will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rakramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pines L, General Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear rakramer,

Thank you for posting about your recent stay with us! Always glad to hear how helpful and friendly our staff was to our guests. Please come back and see us the next time you are coming to Beaver Creek!

Kind Regards,
Bill MacFarlane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Wow where do I start? Beaver Creek is stunning and The Pines Lodge is the place to stay. I had a large king room with a great view. The bed was great, the room was very comfortable and spacious. Free internet is a nice plus. I have to admit I didn't spent a lot of time in the room and I don't think you will ether. The bar and restaurant are really great. And the Ski Rental right inside the hotel is always a great thing. I would go back here in an instant if I go back.

Room Tip: My room looked out over the Valley and Village of Beaver Creek. Ask for a working humidifier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thecolonel1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pines L, General Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear the colonel1215,

Thank you for posting about your recent stay! I am so glad that you enjoyed Beaver Creek and the hotel! Please come back soon and try out the Grouse Mountain Grill Restaurant – # 1 out of 61 restaurants in Beaver Creek on Trip Advisor.

Regards,

Bill MacFarlane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We just finished another great weekend at the Pines. This place is the best - great location, great facilities and great staff. The shuttle to the Village is convenient and runs all the time. The pool and hot tub is always a kid favorite. Rooms are nice and big and the view is 2nd to none.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pines L, General Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Jason C,

Thank you for posting about your recent stay at the Pines Lodge! I am so glad that you enjoyed Beaver Creek and the hotel! Please come back soon and try out the Grouse Mountain Grill Restaurant – # 1 out of 61 restaurants in Beaver Creek on Trip Advisor.

Happy Holidays!

Bill MacFarlane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We had such a nice stay last year for Thanksgiving that we decided to repeat our trip for this year. There was a mistep in reservations when I tried booking an extra night. Was quickly resolved and front desk upgraded us for free. Another nice surprise is they started their breakfast buffet up again that week so we didn't have to go into the Village to eat each morning. For the price you really can't beat this place. A smaller venue for sure, but done very well. Staff is very accomodating. Warm cookies and hot cocoa are served each day at 3:30pm in the front lobby. We just love coming here for Thanksgiving week. Be sure to check out free ice skating show followed by fireworks in The Village they have on Friday, the day after Thanksgiving. A great way to kick off the holiday season.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kfriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pines L, General Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear kfriel,

Thank you for posting about your recent stay at the Pines Lodge over Thanksgiving! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay so much in 2012 you decided to repeat the trip in 2013. Glad to hear the one misstep regarding your reservation was resolved to your satisfaction. Look forward to your next visit to Beaver Creek.

Happy Holidays,

Bill MacFarlane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We have been driving across country, staying at Hampton inns and Hilton Garden Inns. We looked forward to our night at Pines Lodge high in Beaver Creek. Everything about the hotel (check-in, valet service, room, view, dinner at Grouse Mountain grill) was superb BUT we were quite stunned to learn that there was no breakfast service! This is a Rock Resort for heaven's sake; all these road hotels offer breakfast! We were told there would some muffins on buffet table, but only place in town for breakfast was Park Hyatt or we could drive into Avon! We are wondering what a $30/ day resort fee covers? Silly us to book a night in the "off season" ; how were we to know? We are a long way from home, and we won't make that mistake again! If hotel is open for guests, breakfast should be offered!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tesoro760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pines L, General Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
DearTesoro760,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Pines Lodge. All of us at the hotel, and throughout RockResorts work hard to consistently exceed our guest's expectations and when we fail to do that it is a disappointment. For this please accept my sincere apology.

We will work with our reservations, front desk and concierge staff to do a better job of reaching out to our guests to prepare them for their stay. I am sorry you were not informed prior to arrival that the restaurant would be closed for breakfast during your stay. The fall and spring can be quiet in the Vail Valley, so many local businesses reduce their hours operation and services during these times.

I hope you will come back to see us again!

Regards

Bill MacFarlane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaver Creek
0.3 mi away
The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort
1.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
0.2 mi away
The Charter at Beaver Creek
The Charter at Beaver Creek
#8 of 20 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beaver Creek Lodge
Beaver Creek Lodge
#7 of 20 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
8.3 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#1 of 33 in Vail
5.0 of 5 stars 1,083 reviews
2.0 mi away
Christie Lodge
Christie Lodge
#4 of 8 in Avon
3.5 of 5 stars 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Lodge, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Lodge, A RockResort

Property: The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
Address: 141 Scott Hill Road, Beaver Creek, CO 81620-5405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Beaver Creek
#7 Romantic Hotel in Beaver Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Pines Lodge, A RockResort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slope side at Beaver Creek, The Pines Lodge is a luxurious yet intimate lodge that features ski-in access, exceptional accommodations, and remarkable views throughout the year. Nestled between aspens and pines and overlooking the majestic beauty of The Rockies, The Pines Lodge offers the luxury ski resort experience of a lifetime. While staying at The Pines Lodge you, your guests, and your family will be mere steps away from the ski slopes and the Grouse Mountain Grill, a AAA Four Diamond Award-winning restaurant, where you’ll be treated to some of the finest fare in all of Colorado.The Pines Lodge was recently awarded the #3 in Top Resort in the Continental United States by the 2012 Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards readers survey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pines Lodge, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pines Lodge, a Rock Hotel Beaver Creek
Pines Hotel Beaver Creek
The Pines Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing