We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for a better stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Beaver Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Il
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for a better stay”
Reviewed August 8, 2008

We just returned from a 2 week motorcycle trip through Colorado. With out a doubt the Pines Lodge was the nicest place we stayed for the price. They were very accomodating with our bikes and bent over backwards to help. They don't charge for extras like other upscale hotels. Not only was laundry free but so was the detergent. I needed to send and receive several out of state faxes and there was no charge. Even postage was free. The normal charge for valet parking was waived since we parked our own motorcycles in their underground garage. The food in the restaurant was excellent. Overall, I will return.

  • Liked — Beautiful room and great service
  • Disliked — nothing
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EAdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    117
    24
    18
    5
See reviews for
178
212
24
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2008

We booked this hotel thru
www.visitvailvalley.com/vailonsale.asp?id=97
The booking was nonrefundable, but the price was reasonable
so we booked it. We were emailed a confirmation showing
the 'total charge.'When we checked out, however, the hotel
had charged our credit card a higher rate. The front desk
said they couldn't help us as 'the credit card had already been
charged,' but that we could call reservations monday morning.
We did that, and they said that we had been charged an
additional 'resort fee' of $30, plus tax on that fee, per night.
Of course, that fee didn't show up on the web site, or the
confirmation they emailed...only on my credit card bill!

So...there appears to be little assurance that a reserved and
prepaid booking will match the actual price you are charged
when you check out. Be warned.

The hotel itself was a mix. The room was nicely furnished and clean, the staff friendly. The room however was very hot, and
since our room was over the entrance, opening the windows meant we heard lots of noise - cars and people coming and going. So it was either hot or noisy in the room. The pool and exercise room were not very clean - lots of dirty towels lying around, and the bathroom smelled.

  • Liked — Location.
  • Disliked — Dishonest billing practices.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lamar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kayakvail, General Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, August 28, 2008
The Pines Lodge management team appreciates all feedback we receive from our guests. We thank you for taking the time to inform us of the issues you experienced during your stay.

The resort fee is a company-wide policy that includes valet parking, wireless internet, business center access, coffee, bottled water and many more amenities you receive during your stay. This policy pertains to all guests and we strive to always communicate this fee at time of booking. We apologize if this was not the case prior to your arrival.

We are committed to continually improving our hotel, our most recent project being air conditioning installation. We will address the other issues you had in regards to the pool, fitness center, and bathroom with our Director of Housekeeping.

Thank you again for your time and we would love to have you return in the future. Please contact myself directly at Ronn@vailresorts.com if you have any other comments or concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2008

The location of this hotel is spectacular, but all around the service was poor. Upon check-in no one helped us with our bags, we were given the lowest class room overlooking the drop-off and valet driveway (probably because we booked through priceline), despite the fact the hotel was empty for the duration of our stay. We requested a better room and they accomodated us. Room service took about an hour, when they said it would only be 15 minutes. We left a note on the bed with a tip and the sheets were not changed. Everytime we called ahead for the car from valet it was never communicated to the valet and we had to wait for it. We called the front desk and made a request for a toiletry item and they said it was available and to come down to the front desk, but when we arrived there they did not have the item.

The room and view were beautiful. The gym, pool and hot tub areas were clean and very nice. Overall, we were very disappointed with the service but we liked the hotel itself.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobandbritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kayakvail, General Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, July 29, 2008
On behalf of the management and staff, I sincerely apologize that your stay with us was less than legendary.

In order to make your stay with us as comfortable as possible we staff two bellmen during the day to help with luggage assistance as well as valet services. It seems that during your stay our bellmen were active in assisting other guests which accounts for the delays you experienced. We pride ourselves on the quick and efficient service the bellmen provide and we apologize for any inconveniences.

The room that was booked was a King Regular room which we feel is an outstanding room. As you noted in you letter, if a guest is dissatisfied with their room we will do everything in our power to make your stay with us as pleasurable as possible, and I am happy we could provide you with a room that better suited your expectations.

At the Pines Lodge we are focused on providing guests with legendary service during their stay and I am very sorry that you feel your stay with us was less than excellent. In the future please contact me, Ron Neville, with any questions or concerns that you may have. You may contact me directly at ronn@vailresorts.com

Warmest Regards,

Ron Neville
General Manager
The Pines Lodge – A Rock Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2008

We stayed in a double room (2 queens) for 2 night on July 3 & 4, 2008. We bid on the room on Priceline and got a $112 a night rate including taxes. We were thrilled to find out we had gotten the Pines. Though we ski Beaver Creek frequently, we had not visited in the Summer. This resort is situated within walking distance to the shops and restaurants in the village and is ski in/out in Winter. We had a room on the 2nd floor facing the mountain. The room was very nicely appointed with a comfortable decor. A clock radio with relaxation sounds, 2 wonderfully soft robes and slippers, very nice shampoos, soaps, etc in bath. Coffee pot and hairdryer in room as well as a safe and mini fridge (and boot warmers for winter). We had a french door that opened to the mountain with a step out (wouldnt call it a deck). The room had an overhead ceiling fan (you will need it in summer as there is NO air conditioning). Also equipped with a fan on a stand that can be situated anywhere in the room and a humidifier. The bedding was very fluffy and soft. Very comfortable. We also used the pool. The pool area is small, but big enough to enjoy on a warm summer day. Also on the pool deck was a nice hot tub with waterfall. Very relaxing. The valet's were very efficient and the front desk very pleasant. I had requested a rollaway for my son hours before we arrived and we were so pleased the rollaway was already in the room when we arrived! We had a very nice stay. The high point of the weekend was the fireworks display that we watched from our room balcony. We couldnt have asked for a better location.

  • Liked — location and comfort
  • Disliked — lack of air conditioning
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5boys2girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandstx
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2008

A brief stay at Pines Lodge over holiday weekend was simply spectacular. What an extraordinary hotel-the service was incredible; the staff went out of its way to anticipate every need and make my family's vacation wonderful. The rooms were charming, the location perfect, the cuisine amazing and the service fabulous. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — perfect for families with young children
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazelcrestmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2008

The hotel is beautiful and best in class. The Pines is perfectly located in Beaver Creek providing breathtaking views. You will feel like a world class traveler. You are in walking distance to all the shops and activities (or shuttle bus is readily available if preferred). The summer months are truly magnificant with the sun filled days and cool nights, with so much to do or if you prefer the perfect the setting to simply relax. (While we weren't skiing in June, I checked and the Pines also provides easy access to the mountain during those winter months.) You simply cannot beat the experience that the Pines Lodge in its perfect location with the best staff will provide.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank monbtrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2008

Not my type of place. Too expensive for what you get. They tried to stick us in a room NEXT DOOR to construction. You HAVE to valet your car, and nope if you forget a bottle of water in your car you can not walk to it, you have to have them bring it around. The hotel is in a bowl, if you like sunshine avoid beaver creek. The restaruant is too expensive, the non-help staff was not cool. The valet kid did give us a great idea of some other place to go for food.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Being there
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DJFresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kayakvail, General Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, July 1, 2008
I apologize that your stay with us in Beaver Creek did not meet your expectations.

In an effort to continually improve our facilities and satisfy our guests, we occasionally complete construction projects. I apologize that you were placed in a room too close to the noise, we are always willing to rectify situations like this if it is brought to our attention.

For liability purposes and for our guests' safety, we are unable to allow public access to the parking garage. We are always happy to retrieve any forgotten belongings from parked cars or to pull the car around at the guest's convenience.

Due to our limited on-site parking space, we are unable to offer self-parking on property. There is the option of self-parking in a complimentary lot at the base of the resort for guests who would rather not use our Valet Service with complimentary shuttle service to our door.

The Grouse Mountain Grill, our AAA four diamond restaurant, is widely considered one of the best within the resort. We are always happy to offer less expensive alternatives to guests.

Beaver Creek is famous for its gorgeous weather, getting 300 days of sunshine a year! If you have any questions about The Pines Lodge or Beaver Creek Resort, please don’t hesitate to contact me personally at ronn@vailresorts.com.

Warm Regards,

Ron Neville
General Manager
The Pines Lodge – A RockResort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaver Creek
0.3 mi away
The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort
0.2 mi away
Beaver Creek Lodge
Beaver Creek Lodge
#5 of 18 in Beaver Creek
444 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Charter at Beaver Creek
The Charter at Beaver Creek
#8 of 18 in Beaver Creek
344 reviews
2.1 mi away
Christie Lodge
Christie Lodge
#5 of 9 in Avon
575 reviews
8.3 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Lodge, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Lodge, A RockResort

Property: The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
Address: 141 Scott Hill Road, Beaver Creek, CO 81620-5405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Beaver Creek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Beaver Creek
#7 Romantic Hotel in Beaver Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pines Lodge, A RockResort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slope side at Beaver Creek, The Pines Lodge is a luxurious yet intimate lodge that features ski-in access, exceptional accommodations, and remarkable views throughout the year. Nestled between aspens and pines and overlooking the majestic beauty of The Rockies, The Pines Lodge offers the luxury ski resort experience of a lifetime. While staying at The Pines Lodge you, your guests, and your family will be mere steps away from the ski slopes and the Grouse Mountain Grill, a AAA Four Diamond Award-winning restaurant, where you’ll be treated to some of the finest fare in all of Colorado.The Pines Lodge was recently awarded the #3 in Top Resort in the Continental United States by the 2012 Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards readers survey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pines Lodge, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pines Lodge, a Rock Hotel Beaver Creek
Pines Hotel Beaver Creek
The Pines Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing