We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Pizza!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Moose

Blue Moose
Ranked #5 of 82 Restaurants in Beaver Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the heart of Beaver Creek Village, the Blue Moose serves anextensive menu, featuring its signature NY Style pizza, in addition to a variety of appetizers,salads, subs, and hot Italian entrees from a convenient location.This lively Italian eatery offers the perfect locale for a fun and casual dining experience for groups of all kinds and sizes. Kid friendly, from the menu selection down to the paper tablecloths perfect for a creative coloring session, the Blue Moose has established itself as a family favorite amongst the guests of the Vail Valley.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good Pizza!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

This is one of the most reasonable restaurants in the Beav. Pizza is very good, Salad was good, and drinks were good. The layout of the restaurant is a little unusual but we were seated right away and you are not on top of each other. We enjoyed this visit a lot and will go back again without hesitation. Didn't try the cookies but I heard they are really good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FloridaBetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    247
    94
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
600 reviews
372 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Hit the spot for reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Eating out in Beaver Creek isn't cheap. However, I would never say the restaurants here are a rip-off unless I determine it to be true. In fact, most of our dining experiences in BC have been worth it. As a resort town with international visitors and a more rigorous reputation for excellence than Colorado's other Vail Resorts, high prices come with the territory.

So it's always with pleasure to stop by the Blue Moose. Knowing that it gets very busy for being one of the few reasonable places at which to dine in BC, we decided to eat early at 5:30PM on a Monday evening. We were seated immediately by a friendly host, and our server soon greeted us. She was nice and efficient, and we received much more attention from her than from our server at the neighboring, higher-priced Hooked. Not surprisingly, it began to fill up around 6:15PM.

Our Big Moose pizza was great, and the 15" was the perfect size for two hungry skiers. It was simple and nothing extraordinary, but it hit the spot so wonderfully that we wondered why we don't dine here more often. The crust is good (not thin but not deep dish), the sauce is tasty, and they don't skimp on the toppings.

Atmosphere is very family friendly. The brightly-lit restaurant has seen better days as much of the interior seems a bit worn, but the easy-going bar up front makes you feel at home. Tables are covered in paper with a can of crayons waiting for artists of all ages. Restrooms are shared with the lobby of the neighboring hotel, so it's a short walk to the nicely-appointed facilities.

Recommended - just understand that if you go during prime dinner time, most likely you'll be waiting awhile for a table.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aerofaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Their pizza really hit the spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We sat in the bar area- service was quick and pricing was reasonable. Pizza was very good and restaurant was conveniently located in the village. We ordered a simple pepperoni and a couple local beers. Will definitely go back next time I'm in Beaver Creek.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mthede1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwards, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“D- at best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

The restaurant couldn't handle the busy Saturday night. Long waits for a table and even longer for so so food. Not impressed. Inexperienced staff all around.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“ok NY style pizza”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

It was ok. Not great, not terrible. A little overpriced for pizza. We ordered take out. Maybe the dinner menu is better.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank NTN2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Moose also viewed

Avon, Beaver Creek
 
Avon, Beaver Creek
 

Been to Blue Moose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing