We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good on mountain rest stop and food/bar!”
Review of Talons Restaurant

Talons Restaurant
Ranked #67 of 84 Restaurants in Beaver Creek
Restaurant details
Mount Desert, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“good on mountain rest stop and food/bar!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

good selections, expensive but on the mountain. recommend for location and food. like a mini spruce saddle farther up the hill

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JH928S4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    14
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yummy eats on the slopeside”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Delicious and unexpected flavors. Our family enjoyed the chicken sandwich, salmon burger, burger grilled outside and parm truffle fries. Wish this whole place didn't serve Pepsi products :( prices sky high of course. Bathrooms are downstairs of course (such fun in ski boots)

Helpful?
Thank Jules2181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Out-of-the-ordinary food menu for an on-mountain lunch spot”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The good: great location at the base of Beaver Creek Express, Larkspur Express, and Grouse Mtn Express chairs. Lots of space inside, free refills on hot chocolate, delicious fries, and a not-your-normal-ski-area-menu for lunch (try the "shinckenstulle" or however they spell it - sourdough toast topped with ham, tomato slices, white garlic sauce, and a fried egg - incredible!)
The main flaw is the lack of bathroom facilities downstairs - only one or two "holes" for a busy on-mountain restaurant. Would have gotten 4 stars but for that.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HT3777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
1 review
“Needs Improvements”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

After a morning of bright blue sky, warm temperature skiing, we looked forward to lunch on the deck of the new Talons restaurant. We skied Dally and arrived below the facility. We grabbed space on the smallish deck since there appeared to not be much available space. The bathrooms are tiny so we each had a wait. The food was served cafeteria style with one line for salads, another for burgers, etc. Boy, did we miss the pulled pork smoked at Red Tail.

Only, after eating our good, not great, chicken sandwich did we hear an instructor explaining the set up. Pulled pork sandwiches freshly made UPSTAIRS! There were no signs giving any indications of an upstairs! We would have even listened to helpful employees in place of signs describing the set up of this new restaurant. While we now know, I imagine someone else having our experience.

We are surprised that they built a place with very limited outdoor seating and inadequate bathroom facilities. Hopefully these problems can be corrected before our ski trip next year.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewJerseyAce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Improvements at Red Tail Camp”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Talons Restaurant replaced Red Tail Camp at the base of three lifts (Larkspur/Grouse Mtn/Birds of Prey) for the 2013-14 season in preparation for the FIS Alpine World Cup event in Nov/Dec 2013 and ahead of the FIS World Championships in Feb 2015. The building is a huge improvement over the previous facility, which had very little indoor seating and was a bit of a climb if you were coming in from the Larkspur Bowl. The new building seats ~500 on two floors and even has an elevator. Restrooms (surprisingly small) are available on both floors. The lower floor has the cafeteria while the bar is upstairs.

A wealth of food choices are available and portions are huge, though the prices generally match. As is usual on a ski hill, you can order a burger/sandwich but don't expect any sides to come with it. Side orders of fries are good but large enough to feed two - with a price to match. (The sweet potato fries were quite good, however!) Expect burgers to run about $15.

Overall I'd say it's a great improvement vs. the facility that was replaced. There is a small area for sitting outside when the weather's good. Be aware that this area is a dead spot for cell phones, except for during the World Cup races when extra towers are brought in.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cards-Preds-Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talons Restaurant also viewed

 
Avon, Beaver Creek
Avon, Beaver Creek
 

Been to Talons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing