We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Beaver Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Our party of 4 stayed at RC for 5 nights during New Years. The resort is nice but feels a bit dated. I liked the nice touches of warm apple cider and smores packets. Concierges was very helpful in securing dinner reservations during PEAK season. Being a ski in/out resort is great, but the better runs are a shuttle ride away. Overall great stay and will be returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vuguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    173
    87
    65
    36
See reviews for
351
339
23
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Let me preface this review - I understood beforehand that this resort is kid friendly. And if I had kids - I'd go back again. However adults without kids really shouldn't come here. The only place remotely kid-free is the spa area. Bar, restaurant, and every square foot of public area is overrun by children. If you think think that the Club Level is an adult refuge - think again. All of 5 of the "presentations" were filled with kids. The vast majority of the kids there would be normally very well behaved - however in an environment with 2 or 3 neglected hellions, all kids tend to default to bad - and loud - behavior. Parents seemed to be of the opinion that since they've paid a $1000+/night rate, that they're entitled to let their kids run amok. Enough said.

The resort is beautifully situated on the slopes and it offers the best ski-in/ski-out service I've ever experienced. No waiting to get skis in the morning and dropping them off at night. The decor is "mountain-lodgy" and is very comfortable. Room amenities were top of the line - minifridge, coffee maker, plenty of storage for bulky ski wear, reliable wifi,etc. Baths are nicely appointed - esp. separate WC and shower. The resort is going through a renovation that's bound to freshen the place up.

Every aspect of service at the resort was topnotch - easily on par with their competitors. Our Club level room wasn't available at 4PM check in so our service assistant - Ivette - opened up a suite for us to wash up and relax until our room became available. Club level service during meals/drinks was attentive without being intrusive - dirty plate and glass magically disappeared. Minor peeve of mine - I had to toss out a plate of food after attendant sprayed cleanser on neighboring table - which essentially covered nearby tables with a mist. Better to spray into a washcloth.

Other items to note - the resort is remotely located. And while Spago and the Buffalo Bar serve nicely prepared meals - you might want a change of pace. Vail is about a 20 minute ($50) cab ride away and offers alot of dining and entertainment options. If you have children, the Club Level might be a good deal since restaurants are pricy. For those without kids, you'll be surrounded by kids - adding a separate adult Club level dining area during the renovation might be a good way to accomodate those wanting a quieter, more relaxing environment.

All in all, service, location, kid-friendliness make this a perfect family resort.

Room Tip: Mountain rooms have spectacular views although snow grooming equipment runs through the night. And o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rc78703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stopped by the Ritz Carlton during our day of skiing for lunch and drinks. The indoor dining was full-service sit down meal, but outside was wonderful. They had heaters near each table and live music. The menu choices had a variety of healthy options and great drinks.

After eating, we went inside to warm up and it was a very happening and fun scene. A massive fireplace and lots of seating everywhere. We even got to pet and meet the RC "Ambassador" a giant St. Bernard.

They also offered free 10 minute shoulder massages for guests.

Would highly recommend stopping by for lunch and cocktails.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThreeLegFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Along with my wife and our two kids (9 & 13) we stayed 9 days at the Ritz in BC. Overall the hotel was very good with a main-story floor plan that is designed to feel cozy despite its size (Unlike the Hyatt which we also considerd which feels as massive as it is inside) with multiple fireplaces and common spaces that didn't make you feel you were in an airport lounge. We found the staff to be exceptionally friendly and helpful with the exception of the concierges who, while nice, seemed inexperienced and/or overwhelmed. The ski and boot valet staff was great--even offering suggestions to my son when they overheard us complaining about the fit of our boots. The Buffalo Bar was a great casual place for drinks and delicious apps/burgers while the great room had a nice vibe to it with live music and drink service while overlooking the lift. We only ate in Spago for breakfast but found it to be very good. Only real complaint
was the hallway and room decor, which was dated and didn't seem up to the level of expectations set by the prices. As others have said, a major remodeling is planned (Spring 2013?) that I suspect will remedy this issue. Despite this, I still think its the best hotel we've stayed at in the Vail/BC area in the 20+ years we've been visiting and I'm glad we chose it over the Hyatt.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHI
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this resort in late August of 2012. We loved it! Nice rooms. Beautiful weather, fabulous spa amenities and awesome food and service on Club Level! One of the cutest things was the outdoor smore making area. We did not have our kids with us but would loved to have them experience that next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HHICNSAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

A first class hotel, with exquisite service, food and amenities. Hard to find after a snow storm and a few gates to motor through but one you are there, you'll never be pampered more professionally anywhere. This is a first class hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

My review is going to be moot very soon because they're about to do a major reno where I think (hope) they'll be fixing some of the flaws, so I'll be brief.
In general we found the service to be excellent - especially from the drivers, bell staff and housekeeping. On a couple occasions it was hard to get the front desk and concierge on the phone, but the delay was minor. I'm very surprised to read that people found a lot of staff to be indifferent - we had a very different experience.
The rooms themselves were the weakest link - could use an upgrade in decor (and it's coming). It's currently too dark and "woodsy/western" for my tastes. Unattractive and uncomfortable (including beds), but bathrooms were very nice.
Spago is delicious but insanely expensive to be filled with small children and folks in ski gear. I'm not suggesting it be stuffy or formal, but the clientele is just too casual for those prices. I'm told that after the reno there will be more options for upscale casual dining, hopefully leaving Spago for folks who want a little less chaos while they spend hundreds of dollars on a delicious meal :)

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank eh555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaver Creek
8.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
8.8 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
1.9 mi away
The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
1.8 mi away
Beaver Creek Lodge
Beaver Creek Lodge
#2 of 18 in Beaver Creek
484 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
Address: 130 Daybreak Rdg, Beaver Creek, CO 81620-5404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Beaver Creek
#2 Spa Hotel in Beaver Creek
#3 Luxury Hotel in Beaver Creek
#4 Business Hotel in Beaver Creek
#5 Family Hotel in Beaver Creek
#6 Romantic Hotel in Beaver Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A year-round mountain resort, The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch combines the comfort of Colorado luxury hotel with the finest outdoor adventures. Located on Beaver Creek Mountain, The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch offers an unforgettable escape in the heart of the majestic Colorado Rocky Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Carlton Bachelor Gulch Hotel Beaver Creek
Beaver Creek Ritz Carlton
Ritz Avon
Ritz-Carlton Avon
Avon Ritz-Carlton
Ritz Carlton Beaver Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing