We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Most memorable stay in my life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Beaver Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Most memorable stay in my life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed in this property with my family for a week. Though I usually leave lengthy reviews about hotels where I stayed, this one is going to be simply short: I will never forget about staying there. It is definitely a place je-me-souviens. My heart always anxious to visit again. It will live in my heart with the best memories.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidohm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    137
    58
    42
    22
See reviews for
233
239
16
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Hard to top the Ritz in Beaver Creek. The hotel is rustic at base of the mountain
Restaurants and service are excellent. Highly suggest getting a suite if its in your
Budget as the extra space is very helpful if traveling with children

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elliot f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at this gorgeous property with our two young children, ages 4 and 15 months. We had a one bedroom residential suite. It was clean, spacious, and had the perfect layout - the bedroom and bathroom each opened separately off a hallway which was itself separate from the kitchen and living room. So, we could put the kids to bed and still enter the bathroom without having to go into the bedroom.

The kitchen was fully appointed - Sub-Zero fridge, Wolf electric cooktop and oven, and Miele dishwasher. Knowing that we would have a full kitchen, I brought a cooler full of prepared meals and salad kits from Costco and we saved a LOT of money eating in. I didn't feel deprived by doing this because we would put the kids to bed, pop open a bottle of wine, rent a movie on TV (that was currently in theaters!) and enjoy a romantic meal that I still didn't have to prepare.

The bedroom was large enough to accommodate a twin rollaway for my daughter and a crib for my son. The crib was a proper crib, not a pack'n'play!, complete with matching patterned crib sheets and quilt! It was so cute. They also had a bag of helpful goodies for kids - swim diapers, electric plug safety stoppers, band-aids, even a forehead thermometer, which we ended up needing!

On arrival, while waiting for our room, we got to meet Bachelor, the resident St. Bernard. My kids loved him! The gift shop attendant kindly gave my infant son a plush toy of Bachelor, also while waiting, which is still in his crib! Later in the week, we attended the daily marshmallow roast around a huge roaring fire, fresh-baked cookies, and complete with singing cowboy. Our kids loved that too!

Everywhere we went, the service was excellent. We enjoyed the outdoor hot tub and heated pool every day - we actually did this with our kids instead of skiing. And the spa was divine. As a guest, there is complimentary access to the famous coed rock grotto, and the women's only hot tub, sauna, steam room, and cold plunge, complete with robe, slippers, and a locker. Finally, there is a quiet relaxation room with light snacks, tea and water, and magazines - sheer bliss for this working mom of two. Alas! I discovered all this late and only made use of the spa on our last two days.

In summary, what we loved most about this hotel, in addition to the exemplary service we experienced, was the feeling of casual elegance, log-cabin luxury. It didn't feel uncomfortably posh and exclusive. It felt warm and welcoming and cozy and relaxed. We loved every moment of our stay and we will be back for more.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travels_with_kids_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Must be one of the worst run Ritz Carlton hotels. While the location and amenities are first class the staff attitude is one of indifference. Arrived on a Sunday at 2:30pm as was told check-in time is 4pm. Not only had to wait the full 90 minutes I only got a room then when I asked for a manager. Then they did not honor our request for the type of room we reserved. In the meantime, went to the lounge and our server disappeared for over 20 minutes. Other guests just left.

The lack of professional service continued at dinner when our reservation for 17 at Spago was somehow lost by the staff, after having been confirmed in person just two hours earlier. They offered to seat 12 of us and the other five 30 minutes later.

The one exception was the floor staff. Housekeeping and bell staff were very accomodating. This hotel needs substantially better management. We will not return. The Pary Hyatt is a much better value, better location, comparable ammenities and they actually seem happy to see you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank killy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valhalla, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I recently stayed at the Ritz Carlton Beaver Creek with my family. Although it was a very busy holiday period the service was outstanding - from the bellmen and front desk to ski valet and restaurants - everyone was friendly and welcoming. We love the casual pub restaurant - it had something for everyone including a great kids menu. They were very accommodating to our daughter who is a vegetarian. We were also able to order sushi from the special sushi bar set up in the lobby. Our room had a view right to the ski slope which motivated us to get an early start.
The lobby and outdoor patio are great gathering spots for lunch or apres ski. The champagne bar on the patio was a lovely touch on a beautiful sunny day! My kids loved roasting marshmallows and listening to live music. It is really the perfect family resort. This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel and look forward to returning - maybe in the summer next time!

Room Tip: Some rooms have kitchens - great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Very little must be said of my impression of Ritz Carlton Bachelor Gulch beyond how much it impressed. I stayed in a lovely little room on the ground floor which opened up to show a view of the valley in the morning which was perfect for breakfast. The rooms were quite very clean, the bed cosy and the black marble bath was a treat I couldn't resist.

The hotel itself was perfectly formed with cosy communal sitting rooms and log fires and a range of facilities and shops onsite. The hotel staff were extremely attendative and any issue seen by one of the staff members was handled by them personally. Very impressive!

The hotel restaurant Spago was quite a letdown and is one of the few things that detracted from the experience; the bistro grill outside by the pool area gave better service at better prices.

Overall since we went during the summer we missed out on the skiing but we will certainly make plans to come back again for that.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H-G-Powell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a lovely luxury ski property where the staff pampers you, the rooms are nicely appointed, the lobby is beautiful and the spa fabulous. They do a fabulous job in virtually every category except one. While they have a branch of Spago which has fine but pricy food and does everything pretty much on target, they don't have a nice family restaurant where you can get a simple meal of good clean food. They do have a bar but they have bar food there, burgers, chili, natchos etc all to the beat of a large screen tv and a raucous after ski crowd. As the hotel is isolated, that doesn't leave many choices.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pachytene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaver Creek
1.6 mi away
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
#2 of 20 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 stars 486 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort
8.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
8.3 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
1.8 mi away
Beaver Creek Lodge
Beaver Creek Lodge
#7 of 20 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
Address: 130 Daybreak Rdg, Beaver Creek, CO 81620-5404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Beaver Creek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Beaver Creek
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Beaver Creek
#5 Family Hotel in Beaver Creek
#5 Spa Hotel in Beaver Creek
#6 Romantic Hotel in Beaver Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A year-round mountain resort, The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch combines the comfort of Colorado luxury hotel with the finest outdoor adventures. Located on Beaver Creek Mountain, The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch offers an unforgettable escape in the heart of the majestic Colorado Rocky Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Marriott, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Carlton Bachelor Gulch Hotel Beaver Creek
Beaver Creek Ritz Carlton
Ritz Avon
Ritz-Carlton Avon
Avon Ritz-Carlton
Ritz Carlton Beaver Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing