We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Beaver Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton Batchlor Gulch a couple of years ago in April but I just had to give it a review. This was one of the nicest places we have stayed. The location was great and the views were amazing. Just getting to the hotel is an adventure with the winding drive up the mountain. Once there we were treated to nothing but wonderful service. There was so much to do and see in the surrounding area. You do need a rental car to explore the area. The hotel shuttle is available to take you to Beaver Creek where there was shopping and dining options but I liked having the car to go out on my own. The food at the hotel was not that good but everything else was great. Other Ritz Carlton properties we have stayed at had better food. Overall it was a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    137
    59
    42
    22
See reviews for
234
239
16
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos,Ca
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

So attentive and the place smelled wonderful - beautiful mountains and wonderful outdoor lap pool. The spa was gorgeous and 4 massages were enjoyed by 4 guests at the same time. Spagos is delish and the coffee shop made wonderful Peet's coffee and foamy lattes. Great concierge... you really don't need to go anywhere at all - hiking, badminton, bean bag throw.... cozy rocking seats in the fresh air - hardly any bugs and smores by a campfire every night! My only comment is that the music by the pool was too loud I couldn't hear myself think. But that's all.

Room Tip: If your room is overlooking the pool it might be too loud - they play the music (great playlist but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swimmerlosgatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Ritz Carlton Bachelor Gulch in Avon Colorado August 26-29, 2012 and for the most part it was a great - if pricey - experience.

First off, the location is phenomenal. The hotel is perched toward the top of a mountain and the winding drive up to the resort is gorgeous. Security was very good with a gated guard shack about located about half way up the mountain drive.

The drive into the valet parking area is somewhat tight, but the valet staff delivered excellent service. They were polite, gracious and very knowledgable about the many sights to see around the area.

The front desk area is also somewhat small, but again, the staff was excellent...very friendly and they made you feel that they were truly glad to see you. Just off the main lobby area is a large, lodge-style room with a huge stone fireplace. And if you appreciate beam construction, you're going love the Ritz Carlton.

To the left of the lodge room is Buffalo's bar, which we enjoyed visting nearly every night! Again, the staff at Buffalo's was excellent, the drinks were very good, although the beer selection was somewhat limited.

There is a Spago restaurant to the right of the lodge room where my wife enjoyed breakfast daily. She said the food was very good, but pricey. An omelet and a glass of juice was just over $30.00.

Walk out the back door of the lodge room and you're greated by a mammoth sky hill with chair lift, which does not run in the summer months. The hill is long and steep, and there are two or three marked trails right at the resort. If you're not acclimatized to this elevation, be careful...it can be very hard to breath just walking around, let alone during a strenuous workout. It's also a good idea to drink plenty of water as you can quickly dehydrate at this elevation, and the hotel has plenty of water coolers spread throughout the resort.

Weather during our stay was hot during the day - in the low to mid 80's - but quite cool at night, so bring a light jacket!

Outside you'll also find a very nice seating area with a beautiful fire pit, an outdoor bar, pool, hot tub and more. You also have access to the excellent fitness area from outside.

We were in room 508, which was a base room with a "resort" view. Our windows looked out over the sky lift, but we didn't have a great view by any means. The room was very nice, with a king size bed and nice bath area, but certainly not over the top. In fact, I expected more from a Ritz Carlton resort. The tub was nice and large, but the shower was very small, very cramped. The towells were excellent, the bed a bit soft and the pillows a bit mushy for my taste, but overall a very nice room. We paid $289 per night for the room, which did not include the $40.00 per day parking fee or the $30.00 per day "resort fee," which included two beers and two bottles of water in your mini fridge every day. A ripoff in my opinion. During peak months - winter ski season - expect to pay about $650 per night for a room like ours!!!

During our stay, the air conditioning in one of the guest rooms quite working at night, quickly running the temperature up to 86 degrees! The guest called the front desk at 1:30am in within minutes a technician was at the room doing everything in his power to remedy the situation. When it became clear the problem could night be fixed that night, the resort staff brought in fans as a quick fix and prompty upgraded the guest to a nicer room the next morning. I'd call that great service, and throughout our stay, the level of service never dropped below excellent!

The resort did provide free shuttle service to several restaurants and attractions int he immediate vicinity.

Overall we had a very nice stay at the Ritz...the service was beyond reproach, the room was nice, the hotel grounds were gorgeous and there are a ton of activities in the area (Vail is only a 15 minute drive east of the resort, Glenwood Springs and Hanging Lake about an hours drive west).

Would I stay there again? Absolutely...but not during the ski season!!!

Room Tip: If you can, request a room with a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HefeGrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My wife and I stay here every January for our annual trip to Beaver Creek. We love this place. We made the mistake of changing one year to the Park Hyatt - yuck. This hotel is beautiful. The "Great Room" is truly great - just gorgeous and a great place to people watch in the morning and afternoon. They staff is amazingly gracious and very helpful. We actually prefer the smaller rooms facing away from the slope - they have fireplaces and are quite cozy. The bathrooms are terrific, all marble and dark cherry wood and quite large. They do have larger rooms with "kitchenettes" that we stayed in one trip but it was a bit of overkill for us and did not have a fireplace. The restaurant was completely redone about 3 years ago, with a new Spago replacing the old and somewhat boring spot - a lot of cougars prowl around the restaurant bar. The separate Buffalo Bar is a great place to catch a football game. The Spa is amazing, with a grotto pool, full gym, and multiple jacuzzi pools. The ski staff is great, they will carry my wife's skis onto the snow and buckle her up too. Love the fact this place is truly ski in/out - the snow comes right onto the patio deck. They have guitar players in the afternoon on the sun deck too. Cons - the prices. Bring a barrel full of money, this place is (understandably) expensive. Not a complaint, just a warning. Another con - unless you have a rental car, it's hard to get down the mountain and over to Beaver Creek Village and nearby Vail. But we always have a rental car so it has not been a problem. And finally, I'd kill to have a small coffee maker in the room for an early cup of joe when I first wake up but that's not available.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the mountain are actually nice. Rooms facing the mountain carry a high premi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rossvesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishkill, New York
Level Contributor
139 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Ritz Carlton Bachelor Gulch during August 2012. We stayed on the club level room during our visit. The room was very nice and spacious. The club food selection was ok but not what we expected. We had recently stayed at the Ritz Carlton in Amelia Island and the food was much better at that hotel vs Bachelor Gulch. we did not encounter at any time that there was no room in the club lounge or food was not available as descibed in some of the reviews. You can not eat dinner with the appetizer offering like you could at the Amelia Island Ritz Carlton. The candy bowls were a nice touch that were located outside of the lounge.

We enjoyed use of the spa which is easly to get to from the club level floor. The wifi worked well in our room and the lounge.

A couple of things to remember, there is a resort fee of $30 and parking in $40 a night.

We spent a lot of our vacation either hiking or bike ridding. The club concierge were helpful with selections of hikes and biking companies.

Overall my wife and I were satisfied with our stay but thought it was not as good as the Amelia Island Ritz Carlton.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Summer in Beaver Creek is a wonderful experience. The Ritz Carlton provided majectic views of the mountains and ski runs, gorgeous flowers, fantastic room with fireplace and deep soaking tub and a great pool with poolside service. They even had Dylan's candy in the coffee shop. Nice touches were the arrival of not only USA Today but also the Wall Street Journal daily and the Denver Post on Sundays. The rooms were equipped with Keurig coffee pots and a lovely assortment of coffee and tea pods. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Senorapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
222 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We have visited this hotel during ski season to eat lunch often, but never stayed here. The staff was fine; however, our room was on the second floor, which is almost under ground. It had a patio door that opened to a wall and to air conditioner units. I am surprised that the hotel even has rooms build like this. No view at all. I would not really recommend staying here because your choices in dining are limited as well. You must take a shuttle or drive to other restaurants or mountain activities. I was disappointed.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the second floor. Choose a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjg2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaver Creek
1.6 mi away
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
#2 of 20 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort
8.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
8.3 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
1.8 mi away
Beaver Creek Lodge
Beaver Creek Lodge
#7 of 20 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
Address: 130 Daybreak Rdg, Beaver Creek, CO 81620-5404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Beaver Creek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Beaver Creek
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Beaver Creek
#5 Family Hotel in Beaver Creek
#5 Spa Hotel in Beaver Creek
#6 Romantic Hotel in Beaver Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A year-round mountain resort, The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch combines the comfort of Colorado luxury hotel with the finest outdoor adventures. Located on Beaver Creek Mountain, The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch offers an unforgettable escape in the heart of the majestic Colorado Rocky Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Carlton Bachelor Gulch Hotel Beaver Creek
Beaver Creek Ritz Carlton
Ritz Avon
Ritz-Carlton Avon
Avon Ritz-Carlton
Ritz Carlton Beaver Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing