We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely and Rustic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Beaver Creek
Certificate of Excellence
orlando
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely and Rustic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Very tucked away in the Vail/Beaver Creek area, but worth the extra trip. Casual Bar dining in addition to Wolfgang Puck's restaurant. Ski-in resort makes it extra convenient. Rooms are rustic, but still elegant, clean and up to standard.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank solotravelergirl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    158
    79
    57
    33
See reviews for
307
299
19
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

I stayed at the Ritz Carlton Bachelor Gulch for a week. The location is nice, because it has a dedicated ski lift and close access to the slopes. But, there are numerous ski-in, ski-out properties in this area, so that doesn´t set it apart.

I´m going to focus on the most noticeable issues. The walls in this building are extremely thin. In my bathroom, you could easily hear someone splashing in the bathtub in the room next to me. Although I couldn´t hear what they were saying, I could easily hear casual conversation through the wall, as well. I had to call the concierge more than once about this problem, but there was nothing he could do. I would compare the ease of hearing the room next door to what I´ve heard in a Motel 6.

The prices in the coffee shope and bar are very, very high for what you get. I know that the Ritz is usually patronized by people for whom money is no object, but the prices are at least double for a simple coffee than you could get at similar properties.

The building looks like a rustic, log building, but it´s made of plastic. All one has to do is press on the side of the building to realize it is made from pre-fabricated, plastic panels.

This Ritz is really not any better than a decent, roadside, chain hotel, and I´m sure that if the cars were parked outside the rooms rather than underneath, it would be noisy. The access to the pool, hot-tub, and spa is really no different than any other upscale property. The on-site ski shop isn´t very big, and doesn´t have a big selection, and there´s nothing else close-by to compare. To get to the main Beaver Creek Village, you have to either go up the lift and ski over, or take the shuttle. It can take 15 to 20 minutes, and doesn´t drop you off at the most convenient of locations.

This is an over-priced property. You can do a lot better at the Hyatt, which is literally at the Beaver Creek Village, where it´s walking distance to shops, restaurants, and the Vilar Center, and it has a gondola at it´s front door.

Room Tip: I´d check out the Hyatt--much better value for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harrowhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

We actaully stayed in 2010 but you know how trip advisor only gives you dates choices 12 months back. This is a very beautiful hotel and you will feel like you are in a chalet in Switzerland. However, we stayed on the club level and this one is jus to most. It reminds me of the Boston Ritz where I always think they are hiddding everything in the back room in case no one ask for it they don't have to open a bottle of wine and so on. REally funny because most Ritz Carlton Club levels are not like this at all. Stay but don't waste money on the club level as you will have to chase them down to get a drink.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HRHofPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughquag, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Just returned from a week of Spring skiing with my family of 4 (2 kids, ages 8 and 14). We had a 1 bedroom residential suite with the bed and breakfast package. As usual, the staff was friendly, courteous and efficient. It is always nice when they refer to you by name, or open the main door for you, or ask if there is anything they can help you with. This type of positive service is the reason why we stay at Ritz Carlton.
Hotel: Picturesque mountaintop ski lodge, very woody and rustic, yet they have all the modern amenities. It is not a big hotel (like Disney's Wilderness Lodge), instead it has exposed beams, high ceilings, fireplaces, and big comfortable worn leather chairs. Plus they have their own ski lift into Beaver Creek. In addition, they offer ski valet which is even better then ski-in/ski-out. Having someone to take your skis/poles and then your ski boots (and the boots get air dried) is a fantastic service. We also used the ski nanny service for our 8 year old who took 2 day all-day ski lessons. The nanny was extremely nice and organized. We dropped him off at the Ritz Kids room, the nanny then takes him to the ski school (which is in the Beaver Creek village, needs a bus ride) and helps puts on his equipment. At the end of the ski lesson, the nanny picks him up and returns back to the hotel, where we pick him up at the end of the ski day. My son had a wonderful time, and his skiing has really improved.
Room: our 1 bedroom residential suite came with 2 fireplaces and a full kitchen. It had a king size bed plus a queen size sofabed. The room was an ideal size for the 4 of us. I guess our only complaint was that we could not get the kitchen range to work (we wanted to cook something, but the range was locked)
Package: we did the bed and breakfast package which had the valet parking included and breakfast for 2 either at Spago's or in-room dining. I mention this because we did have problems with the in-room dining. First day, we found we were missing half/half for our coffee and no napkins. Another day, we ordered the continental breakfast, but they forgot to deliver the fruit platter that comes with it. Twice, our breakfast was delivered 15 minutes beyond the time we asked for it.
Nevertheless, we had a great time at this hotel, and would love to come here again (hopefully when the snow is more plentiful)

Room Tip: Book early if you can. We got a good rate when we booked 4 months ahead. We checked the same room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank figmentsas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

My wife and I took a last minute trip here in April, warm weather for skiing, but it was our first time, so slow slopes were great. The hotel is fantastic, excellent staff and beautiful rooms. Our favorite part was live music by the fire every night. Only downside for us is that we were not expecting so many young kids, but it was the tail end of spring break and the Ritz is always very family friendly. Be sure to see Bachelor, the hotel mascot!

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the slopes
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GetAway2Relax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm harbor fl
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

Loved our visit to the Ritz. The staff was attentive,friendly and extremely helpful, the surroundings were beautiful and finely appointed. I felt ill on the day I arrived and I therefore I the chance to appreciate the great sheets and bed coverings! It was heaven. Everything was perfect the rooms are large and comfortable!Great food, convenient chair lifts and handy ski valet. The food was incredible. My husband and his friends enjoyed the pool and hot and outside bar and grill. Can't wait to visit again soon!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weberdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

Right at the bottom of the lift so it was very easy to get right on the lift in the morning and get right back to our room at the end of the day. Their food was amazing, amazing and amazing. The staff was very friendly and tried to help us in all ways possible. Stay here if you want to ski at Beaver Creek

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashton34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaver Creek
1.6 mi away
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
#3 of 18 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort
8.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
1.8 mi away
Beaver Creek Lodge
Beaver Creek Lodge
#6 of 18 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
Address: 130 Daybreak Rdg, Beaver Creek, CO 81620-5404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Beaver Creek
#4 Spa Hotel in Beaver Creek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Beaver Creek
#4 Business Hotel in Beaver Creek
#5 Family Hotel in Beaver Creek
#6 Romantic Hotel in Beaver Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A year-round mountain resort, The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch combines the comfort of Colorado luxury hotel with the finest outdoor adventures. Located on Beaver Creek Mountain, The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch offers an unforgettable escape in the heart of the majestic Colorado Rocky Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Carlton Bachelor Gulch Hotel Beaver Creek
Beaver Creek Ritz Carlton
Ritz Avon
Ritz-Carlton Avon
Avon Ritz-Carlton
Ritz Carlton Beaver Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing