We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury ski in ski out experience with all the perks!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Beaver Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Luxury ski in ski out experience with all the perks!”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Why carry your own skis when you don't have to? Warm boots and slopeside skis are ready for you in the am. Best Apri ski experience in Bachelor's Gulch. Groomed beginning or intermediate slopes or go for the diamond runs. Other activities include s'mores at the dlopeside fire pit, a spa that included a grotto warm pool, full spa and exercise facilities or snow shoeing excursions. Best ski location even when the snow pack is light.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eijtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    165
    83
    62
    33
See reviews for
327
323
22
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, tx
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Stayed on a five nights for the price of four package. Our room was on the club level (8 floor) and faced out onto the ski slope which could be viewed via a nice sized balcony. We have stayed at this hotel and other Ritz properties before and as a consequence have unreasonably high expectations of the whole experience. The Ritz did not disappoint. The friendliness and attentiveness to every detail was outstanding (special kudos to the club level concierges and the team in the ski boot storage and assistance area). The choice and quality of food was top notch. The cocktails at the Spago bar helped ease weary limbs at the end of the day. Recommended..

Room Tip: Good views from most rooms. Ask for one of the slopes or one of the vail valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank restlesshouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed for a long weekend just before ski season opened in November of 2010. We were looking for a luxury getaway at a decent price as we were booking very close to our departure. We did not plan on skiing but more so just a relaxing get away. We were not disappointed with our choice. The resort is beautiful.

We booked via a discounter website and part of the package was a free room upgrade upon check in, if available. As we arrived on a Saturday morning there was nothing above a standard room available when we arrived. Saralyn at the front desk described the location of two different rooms to us. We couldn't decide which to take so we took the keys for one to look at it and make our decision. Of course this room was as far away from the front desk as humanly possible. When we arrived at the door the key card would not open the lock. I was pissed, my wife who has a background in hotel sales, decided it would be best if she went back to the front desk. She came back with another key card, same result. This time we called the front desk from our cell and Saralyn came to the room with another keycard plus her master key. The 3rd key card would not open the door but her master did.

Once inside the choice was easy for us. The room looked only half cleaned from the night before; there was still a pile of change sitting on the desk and patio door opened up to a concrete wall 5 feet away. Saralyn was mortified at my response to this room and immediately took us to the other option we were considering. We took that room and Saralyn offered us free wifi during our stay for our troubles. She didn't stop there, though. This is the beauty of service at The Ritz. As I was putting the bags in the closet she then asked us if we like nachos. Our response was yes, why? She replied with, "we have great nachos in the Buffalo Bar, let me put an order in for you two and once you've settled in the room, come down to the bar and I'll take care of your lunch."

We unpacked and went down for our nachos. Saralyn stopped in the bar during lunch to make sure we were doing ok. She then proceeded to tell us that she looked over the room inventory for the remainder of our stay and noticed one of the Resort View Suites was opening up on Sunday. She suggested that we switch rooms the next day to the suite. We said thank you and were very pleased with how things had turned around so quickly. Upgraded to a suite, free lunch and a couple beers, things were looking up.

We went back up to our room to grab our coats after lunch as we wanted to explore Beaver Creek. BTW, the free shuttle bus from the Ritz to Beaver Creek is a very nice touch. Upon arriving in our room, we found a bottle of Champagne sitting on the desk with a card from Saralyn. She had taken the time to hand write us a note. Below is how it read.

Dear XXXXX's

It's always my highest priority to ensure that you fully enjoy your stay - every time - all the time. Smiley face. As such I've made it my mission to thank you for staying with us in many small ways. I truly hope you enjoy every moment from here out. With warmest regards and cheers.

Saralyn M Niemi

We thanked Saralyn and took the shuttle over to Beaver Creek. The next morning we stopped at the front desk to talk with Saralyn about our room transfer before driving over to Vail. She told us not to worry about it, just have your bags packed and on the bed and they would take care of moving everything to the suite for us while we were gone. We just needed to stop by the desk when we came back and they would give us our new suite keys.

Upon our return form Vail we picked up our keys as suggested and the desk person on duty (Saralyn had gone home for the day) escorted us to our new suite. The suite was beautiful and our luggage was already in the two big walk-in closets off of the bedroom. The suite had a large living room and bedroom with huge balcony overlooking the pool that spanned the length of both the living room and our bedroom. The bathroom had a huge Jacuzzi tub and separate shower. To our surprise on the bathroom counter was a large tray with all the fixing for a very nice bubble bath, including scented bubbles and rose petals galore with another note from Saralyn. Just call the front desk 30 minutes before you'd like your bath and housekeeping will come set it up for you. Wow, this girl doesn't stop.

About 45 minutes later, our doorbell rang. It was the hotel manager stopping by at Saralyn's request to make sure the suite was to our liking. The manager then handed me a wrapped gift box and said, "Compliments of The Ritz, just to make sure you continue to enjoy your stay." I thanked him and went back into the suite. We opened the box and it contained two oversize Ritz Carlton Bachelor Gulch cobalt blue coffee mugs. Every time I enjoy a cup of coffee from these mugs I think back to this trip. Their service, worked on me, I'll certainly visit the Ritz again.

The outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi’s are great. It was so fun to swim and relax in both while it was on 17 degrees F outside and snowing. The outdoor fire pit is also great they provide the fixings to make smores each night. We enjoyed cocktails and coffee in front of the huge fireplace in the lobby on several occasions.

We also dined at Spago and did the prefix tasting menu with wine pairings. The quality was great and reasonably priced compared to other prefix meals we have done at home in Chicago. My wife commented to our server how much I like the dessert and surprise, surprise, 3 minutes later our server showed up with another, compliments of Spago.

The spa was amazing and we certainly enjoyed the various, steam, sauna, hot tub and cold plunge combinations. The large coed Jacuzzi room with waterfalls is also great.

Bottom line, this is a great property in a good location but the service we received is what we will always remember about this visit.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a suite if available. Rooms overlooking the pool and ski slopes are great als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flossmoortraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
234 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

This property has it all from the Ski Concierge to it's resident Golden Retriever! The hotel itself has the quintessential lodge decor and architecture. The rooms are spacious and most have a fireplace which I highly recommend requesting. The Club Level is outstanding and Buffalo Bar is the perfect spot to watch the skiiers return from the ski slope located by the hotel.

The restaurants are outstanding at this hotel and you will find yourself staying on property and not venturing out to nearby Vail because everything you need is at your fingertips.

I stayed on Club because I prefer the extra amenities associated with Club and the plus of having your own concierge vs sharing with the entire hotel. It is well worth the extra money in my opinion. But whether you are on Club or in a regular room, this hotel will leave a lasting impression and you will look forward to next year so that you can return for yet another great ski trip!

Room Tip: I prefer Club Level with a fireplace and a view of the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBHAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2012

EVERYTHING at the property was first rate with the exception of dinner portions at Spago Restaurant. The service there was great but food was only slightly above average. All else was incredible including the Spa, Buffalo Bar, Rooms, etc...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougnCari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Beautiful hotel high a top the mountains. Lovely modern and tastefully decorated room with large bathrooms and nice towels. Service was nice, the kids enjoyed the hot cocoa and marshamallows by the fire. The bar restaurant food off the main lobby was less than superb and the kids' chicken noodle soup was exactly like the Chicken Noodle Soup in the can from Campbells. Food there was pricey for what you got. Valet service and maid service was quick and helpful. Loved to see the resident Labrador Retriever who greeted us daily.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renea718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

The best part of this hotel was definitely its extremely convenient ski in/out location at beaver creek. Could literally stroll out of your room and be on the bachelor gulf express lift in less than 5 min. Cons were the lack of adequate dining options and ridiculously overpriced parking at 40 bucks to park your car you'd think you were stashing your car in midtown manhattan instead of on a colorado mountain. The ski valet was convenient, the down bedding was actually a bit uncomfortable and i just couldn't get a good nights rest the whole time i was there. Fire pit was large with adequate amount of seating and you could even go purchase over priced smores to roast when you're out there. IMO not really worth the price, but if you're a beaver creek mountain lover you really can't beat the location.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s3jwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaver Creek
8.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
1.9 mi away
The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort
8.8 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
1.6 mi away
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
#5 of 18 in Beaver Creek
529 reviews
1.8 mi away
Beaver Creek Lodge
Beaver Creek Lodge
#4 of 18 in Beaver Creek
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
Address: 130 Daybreak Rdg, Beaver Creek, CO 81620-5404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Beaver Creek
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Beaver Creek
#3 Spa Hotel in Beaver Creek
#4 Business Hotel in Beaver Creek
#5 Family Hotel in Beaver Creek
#6 Romantic Hotel in Beaver Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A year-round mountain resort, The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch combines the comfort of Colorado luxury hotel with the finest outdoor adventures. Located on Beaver Creek Mountain, The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch offers an unforgettable escape in the heart of the majestic Colorado Rocky Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Carlton Bachelor Gulch Hotel Beaver Creek
Beaver Creek Ritz Carlton
Ritz Avon
Ritz-Carlton Avon
Avon Ritz-Carlton
Ritz Carlton Beaver Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing