We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something different but welcome”
Review of The Metropolitan

The Metropolitan
Reserve with OpenTable
The Metropolitan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 82 Restaurants in Beaver Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $25
Cuisines: American, Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the St. James Place below the Dusty Boot at the base of Beaver Creek Mountain. Featuring the Enomatic Wine Dispenser, only the 3rd in the state of Colorado. Taste wines from around the world in 1.5 Oz, 3 oz or 6 oz glasses with the Enomatic. Tapas served with the finest, freshest ingredients from Colorado and around the world from 3pm - 10 pm daily.
Epping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Something different but welcome”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Not the usual cheese-based fare

Our 2nd visit and I would say the menu has improved. It is quirky (tapas-ish but heartier dishes) dishes such as short rib with sweet potato (looked good, wish I'd ordered it), boar ribs with mushroom risotto (was really good)

My only suggestion would be to insert some kind of linkage on the menu to show what goes well with what. We ordered 4 dishes, all of which were tasty but some didn't go with others. Probably our fault but the menu is so different that you aren't sure how it will be presented

Overall though, really good

(FYI, the breakfast burritos are also really good but really filling)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve_N1059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    68
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, VA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great spot for apres-ski!”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I was on a ski club trip (group of 38) in late February, & we arranged an after ski gathering at the Metropolitan, with a catered menu of their small plate offerings. What a treat! This was not your usual "bar food" appetizers, but some true gourmet treats - such as duck confit tacos. They also have a very nice wine list, including a high-end self-serve wine serving machine, which I have only seen before on cruise ships. The decor of the restaurant is very pleasant, with nice artwork on the walls, and comfortable booths --- perfect for groups. We arranged our gathering fairly early, as The Metropolitan is very popular, and starts getting a good crowd in the late afternoon -early evening. Can't recommend this place highly enough..

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hitman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Our family dined here on our ski trip to Beaver Creek and we were blown away. Amazing tapas, great atmosphere, and fantastic service. Without a doubt, this was our favorite dining experience in Beaver Creek,

Helpful?
1 Thank In_Sandy_Springs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
137 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Cool Tendy Tapas & Wine”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Very cool place - we ate at the bar - had wine & tapas. Service was friendly and quick - food was delicious. Casual and fun. Nothing over the top - but worth a try. Good for big groups.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katsandcards_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
117 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fun dinner”
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

I came here after reading TA reviews. What a fun menu ! Everything we had was really good. Great service and a fun lively atmosphere but not too loud and we weren't hurried. Definitely would return.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank mdcdr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Metropolitan also viewed

 
Avon, Beaver Creek
Avon, Beaver Creek
 

Been to The Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing