We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, abhorrent staff & service, take your business elsewhere” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Beaver Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location, abhorrent staff & service, take your business elsewhere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Good location. The condo was on the small side, but very clean. Things that were broken in our room: jetted bathtub, door key card sensor, thermostats- we had the patio door and bedroom window open 24/7 with 20 degree temps outside just to make the room bearable. Amount that the Sheraton staff cared: zero.

The Sheraton staff was completely inept, unresponsive and unprofessional. Our credit card was billed $897 for a total charge of less than $300. After discovering this error on Saturday evening, we were told we could not speak to a manager until Monday morning. It is completely unacceptable to have no manager available for over 36 hours during the high/ski season. No one was able to explain why we were overcharged and we now have to spend an additional 5 days worrying about an overdraft before the account will be credited. A call to the corporate hotline provided no explanation or assistance.

We can't figure out if this sorry excuse for customer service is because we are younger or because we don't ooze money and pretentiousness like most of their clientele... regardless, the management and staff at this hotel is out of control and is certainly a poor reflection on the Sheraton name brand. I highly suggest taking your business elsewhere.

Room Tip: Check the functionality of ALL amenities upon arrival and stage a lobby sit-in if they refuse to acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alex-Skis-a-lot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMVHotelManager, Manager at Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at our property and for writing this review on our property. I do want to apologize for the many issues you encountered during your stay. It is unacceptable and we will bring up the many issues to the correspondent departments to get these addressed. We treat all guests with respect and great customer service, I do apologize that we failed you to provide the service all you deserve. I do apologize for the inconvenience that the debit card issues caused you. The banks due to tend to double or even triple the amount authorized on debit cards to protect from over drafting. I am sorry that you were not informed of this at check in. Once again I do apologize for the many issues you encountered and hope to do right by you on future visits to the beautiful Vail Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    179
    71
    34
    13
See reviews for
191
140
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Had a nice one night stay at the condo. It was very nice. A little on the small size but we enjoyed it. Nice hot tubs and game rooms. Location is good. City bus pick up is across the street and was very convenient. Staff was nice and helpful. Beaver Creek and Avon are expensive overall. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cholowiski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Sheraton Mountain Vista has lovely, spacious rooms and good service. Even the smaller lock-off part of the two-bedroom lock-off units has a separate sitting area, good size galley kitchen and nic bedroom. While not in Beaver Creek Village, there are two options for relatively easy access -- a free shuttle that stops right outside the hotel entrance or a 4-minute walk to the gondola at the Westin Riverfront. There is a ski shop right on the premises to provide guests with rentals and other items -- the ski shop staff members are really helpful, as are the concierge desk staffers. The underground parking area is very tight and fills up fast as many guests take up two spaces with massive SUVs. The rooms are quiet and the regular beds were very comfortable but avoid the sofa bed pull-outs -- even my teen (who could sleep through a parade) complained about sofa bed. Best bet for kids or additional guests is to opt for the reasonably priced rollaway (at $5 per night).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
90 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Very nice property. Reserved the basic one-bedroom villa (at a great late-season price) and was upgraded to the deluxe. Very spacious, nicely appointed condo. Two fireplaces, whirlpool tub in bedroom, two-sink bathroom and separated toilet. Small balcony with BBQ. Full kitchen. Luxurious feel overall. Free underground parking. Free ski bus right at the hotel.

Good staff, concierges reach out to be helpful --- that is probably because they want to get you to come to a timeshare sales pitch, but were completely low key and non pressuring about simply inviting you and nothing more --- completely reasonable. (I didn't go to one.)

Overall a great stay.

Only downside was getting the room cool enough. As with many mountain properties, there is no a/c. Even here on a Spring ski trip ( highs in the 50s, low in the 30s) we had to keep windows open continuously to keep the unit comfortable. So that could be a concern for summertime stays. Or maybe our heating was just malfunctioning...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yamhillbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMVHotelManager, Manager at Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your ski vacation here in Beaver Creek and Avon. Thank you for your review of our property, we are glad the accommodations were pleasing to you. Unfortunately, our property does not have air conditioning, like many of the resorts here in the beautiful Vail Valley. We do have air cooling fans provided for our guests on the warmer days. We greatly appreciate your review and we hope to welcome you back to the resort for your future ski visits to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
120 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Other reviewers had me worried that this hotel was out of the way and would make it very difficult to access winter sports.

Not true!! About 300 m from the Westin and its gondolas.

Pros: free parking, great rooms and big rooms.

Cons: hot rooms, gym ok not great.

Also stay away from taco night.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Solange72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMVHotelManager, Manager at Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Mountain Vista for your getaway and for writing this review on our property. As you mention we are conveniently located to the town shuttle and also a short distance to the Westin gondola which give all guests access to the slopes at Beaver Creek. Our rooms are very spacious, great décor and parking is complimentary for all guests. Once again thank you for staying at our resort and hope to welcome you back to the Vail Valley on any future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas while skiing at Breck and Copper. It is actually closest to Beaver Creek and Vail but it is only 30 min to Copper and 50 min or so to Breck so with a car it really did not make a difference. Avon is a relatively small town and there was a grocery store within a 2 min drive, City Market, and several restaurants/shops. Hotel is conveniently located not far off I-70, but there was no issues with the traffic noise. Hotel itself has 8 floors of one and two bedroom apartments (i think a fair portion of them are time shares) with fully equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, grill, living/dining room area, jetted bath, bedroom, and small balcony.There is also an underground parking garage, outdoor heated pool and hot tub on the ground floor, indoor and outdoor hot tubs on the 7th floor with beautiful views!, gym, sauna, game room on the 8th floor, ski storage, small restaurant, and ski shop. Hotel also offers some activities every day, e.g. manager's taco bar on Mondays, yoga on Thursdays, ice skating on Wed etc, so even if you are not in the area for skiing and do not have a vehicle, there are plenty of amenities that hotel itself offers.
The room/apartment itself was very spacious, beautifully decorated with a fireplace, and all the kitchen/bath appliances looked almost brand new! There were also two TVs, one in the bedroom, one in the living room. We had no issues with the service as well though we did not use the concierge services offered in the lobby. The only comment I have is that the 7th floor hot tub did not get open until 10 am in the morning, while the posted hours are from 7 am?
Overall we really enjoyed our stay, it was especially nice to have a grill and make dinners in the hotel instead of going to the restaurants, and would definitely be back -but not in the summer, there is no A/C in the hotel so beware of that!

Room Tip: 7th floor is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merryl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Our family took a last minute spring break trip to Avon/Beaver Creek when our beach reservations got mixed-up......so glad we went!!

Hotel - cute lodge vibe, great heated garage parking, super convenient location to the Beaver Creek Resort via free shuttle, City Market grocery store close to grab quick food items for villa.
Rooms - We stayed in a smaller one bedroom villa which was tight but manageable. In order to stay in the larger bedroom villa, we had to pay an additional $50/night so we opted to just stay in the smaller room to avoid moving. Bathroom was very large which was a nice surprise. Balcony with grill was nice but very small.

We started each day later than most but would take mid day shuttle (stop across the street from hotel) to Beaver Creek resort area. Shuttle is very convenient, runs every 15 min or 30 min during the day. Kids loved the outdoor ice skating rink, rode gondola to mountain top (free if you are not wearing ski boots) to go tubing and play in the snow. Note: Free chocolate chip cookies are passed out daily at 3:00 pm via chefs in white jackets/hats at the bottom of the ski slopes. We did not ski as the trip was planned literally on Friday morning and we picked up kids Friday afternoon after school with our suburban packed for Colorado. Suitable snow clothes were purchased at Dick's Sporting Goods store in Denver in route to the hotel. Ski lessons run $230/person per day ($1000 for one day of skiiing for our family!) Plenty to do if you don't ski. Everyone would like to take lessons next time; we will be prepared!

After a full day outside, it was wonderful to go back to hotel and relax before dinner. One night we opted to buy steaks from the City Market and my husband grilled steaks for dinner. We don't like cooking while on vacation, but a bag of steamed veggies in the microwave and grilled steaks is a quick meal with zero clean up required. Food can be pricey at the BC Resort area, so having the kitchenette made it less expensive to grab bagel with cream cheese or waffle before leaving in the morning then eat at the BC Resort restaurants for lunch/dinner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottFamily30712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMVHotelManager, Manager at Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you chose our resort for this last minute family getaway and that you were able to enjoy a lot of what the Vail Valley has to offer even for non-skiers. The shuttle that stops right across the street is very convenient for our guests that are skiing Beaver Creek. As you mentioned eating out in Beaver Creek area can get expensive, so having a grill and the kitchenette in the villas help alleviate some of the expenses that come with eating out every night. Thank you for your review and also again for choosing the Sheraton Mountain Vista for your family vacation and we hope to welcome you back in any future visits to the Vail Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaver Creek hotels
2.1 mi away
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
#3 of 18 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.2 mi away
Christie Lodge
Christie Lodge
#4 of 7 in Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Charter at Beaver Creek
The Charter at Beaver Creek
#9 of 18 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Vail Beaver Creek
2.3 mi away
Beaver Creek Lodge
Beaver Creek Lodge
#7 of 18 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley

Property: Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley
Address: 160 W Beaver Creek Blvd, Beaver Creek, CO 81620 (Formerly Sheraton Mountain Vista Resort)
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Beaver Creek
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Beaver Creek
#6 Business Hotel in Beaver Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy spacious one and two-bedroom villas that comfortably accommodate as many as eight adults in up to 1,250 square feet. Each villa features a fully equipped kitchen or well-equipped kitchenette, washers and dryers, separate living and dining spaces, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood and Booking.com so you can book your Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mountain Vista Hotel Beaver Creek
Sheraton Beaver Creek
Sheraton Avon
Sheraton Mountain Vista Resort
Avon Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing