We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive- Special Night”
Review of Zach's Cabin

Zach's Cabin
Ranked #29 of 84 Restaurants in Beaver Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: (970) 754-6575, Zach's Cabin 214 Beaver Creek Place, Avon, CO 81620 (970) 754-6575‎
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Expensive- Special Night”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

The tab for 6 adults was around $700. The sleigh ride up from the Ritz Carlton was very nice, even though my daughter and son-in-law had to stand in order to let us have a seat on the sleigh. Be warned- they will pack you in- they don't care...really.
The cabin is very upscale...we skied by it during the day on our way from Arrowhead to Bachelor Gulch. Your young guide will give you the low-down on the mountain's history. The star brilliancy is incredible.
We had drinks at the bar- and the bartender was very personable. Our waiter was professional but detached... I'd say that he was motivated by the fact the gratuity was automatically added. On a large tab like ours... we could have had friendlier service- just saying.
I had seafood- which was about a 4 out of 5 on my standard- and son-in-law had elk, which he says he wished he would have skipped for a steak. Those who had steaks say they were nice... but nothing to write home about. The restaurant ambience was wonderful though- so good marks for the ride and the rustic setting. It did feel exclusive and turned out to be a special night for our group. To those who want to know - they DO bring you back from the mountain!!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anthropomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    17
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NYC, NY
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Setting & Experience”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Zach's Cabin is a member only lodge situated slope side between Bachelor Gulch & Arrowhead. It's closed to the public during the day but open to everyone at night.

We made a reservation after we visited during day to get lunch (and got denied). The evening starts with a ride up the mountain in a sledge which is towed behind a Pisten Bully. This is great for kids and provides some spectacular night views of the sky, however on the return I asked the driver if I could ride with him in the warmth of his cabin. So dress warmly, blankets are provided in the sledge.

Upon arrival we were seated quickly. The staff is ueber-friendly. Great wine list, even so our first selection wasn't available but the sommelier quickly provided an alternative. The menu features a large variety of typical items. We choose a salad and a soup, followed by rack of lamb and a steak.

The food arrived quickly and well prepared / cooked. I would give all of our food a 8 out of 10. The food was great but I think considering the prices and setting could use a little improvement / refinement. Don't get me wrong, the food was great but it was missing the wow-effect.

We were done with our food and wine within 1 hour so if you plan a romantic dinner, make sure to tell your waiter to stretch it out a little. Upon paying the bill, the staff held a downhill sledge for us, which brought us back to the Ritz-Carlton at Bachelor Gulch within 10 minutes.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Beat my expectations”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Would highly recommend experiencing Zach's to anyone visiting Beaver Creek. The food, atmosphere and service was awesome. The wine list was good but very pricy. We stayed after dinner to have a few more glasses of wine. We sat on the couches in front of the fireplace for another hour and never once felt rushed. Everyone was so friendly. The sleigh ride was chilly but well worth it! Make sure you get a seat at the front of the sleigh. We sat in the back on the way there and got sprayed with snow all the way up the mountain.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNAPOLIS
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Memorable All Around Experience!”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

You start this dining adventure when you hand your car keys to the Ritz Carlton Bachelor Gulch valet. Once inside the stunning lobby of the Ritz you check in for Zach's. Tip: arrive a 1/2 hour early and have a cocktail in one of the Ritz's lounges - Spago was my favorite.

Soon you are called to meet your sleigh for a short trip up the mountain to arrive at Zach's and walk in on the red carpet. The cabin is a smallish cozy room with a large fireplace in the middle of the room. Tip: request a table by the fire. The service was excellent from the moment we arrive. Kyle our waiter was knowledgeable a very helpful in making choices from the many wonderful selections. There is a Somalia on staff, whom was also most helpful. If Elk is on the menu, don't hesitate to order it. The apple tart was also fantastic.

Zach's in on the expensive side, but by no means over the top price wise. Entrees were 21 to 47 and the wine list was much higher for selections I've had other equal places. But Hey They Have To Hull it Up A Mountain!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Winterstime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Food and Ambiance”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We have been to Zach's 4 or 5 times over the past several years. The restaurant has demonstrated great consistency in both food and service. During our most recent visit in Jan 2012, members of our party had the Kobe beef appetizer and Caesar salad both of which were excellent. We also had the beef tenderloin and my personal favorite - elk tenderloin. The entrees were delicious and everyone was very pleased with their meals. It's also fun getting to the restaurant, because you are taken there on a sleigh. Since you have to board the sleigh at the Ritz Carlton at Bachelor's Gulch, be sure to stop in the bar for a nice hot buttered rum before you head up the mountain on the sleigh. Highly recommend this restaurant for a special night out. It is a little on the expensive side, but will not disappoint!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LBTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zach's Cabin also viewed

 
Avon, Beaver Creek
Beaver Creek, CO
 

Been to Zach's Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing