We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all for slopeside dining”
Review of Spruce Saddle

Spruce Saddle
Ranked #34 of 84 Restaurants in Beaver Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not bad at all for slopeside dining”
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Huge self service / self clear restaurant serving a wide variety of burgers, pizza, salads etc. All good quality food on the go.

Separate bar area for those needing some dutch courage.

Very clean restrooms. Great views from the deck - but watch the local birds who have no problem with helping themselves from your plate!

Good place to refuel and meet up.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GallopingLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpruceManager, General Manager at Spruce Saddle, responded to this review, November 23, 2010
Good food on the Go, we look forward to seeing you again this Ski Season.

Thanks,

Chad Anderson

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    35
    16
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Best spot for lunch while skiing!!”
Reviewed March 14, 2010

We loved to eat lunch around 1 at the Spruce Saddle restaurant located on the top of the mountain. It was either eat at 11:30 or after 1 because the lines were just too long. Food was EXCELLENT - I loved the fresh turkey sandwich, and Hot Mamma loved the salads, and with 2 drinks it was a good deal

Please see my blog at http://talesfromtheroad-mwalno.blogspot.com/

Total - $28.55

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mwalno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpruceManager, General Manager at Spruce Saddle, responded to this review, November 23, 2010
Thanks for the Great Feedback, we are looking forward to seeing you this Ski Season.

Thank You,

Chad Anderson

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice mountain Restaurant”
Reviewed January 26, 2010

For a cafeteria style restaurant mid mountain I was very impressed. We ate here every lunch for 5 days. The chile and soups are excellent and very filling. Also had a sandwich and the pizza which I enjoyed. My only complaint was the Hot Chocolate was a bit watery. The prices of the food are very reasonable. Drinks were very expensive. The Chile was about $8 and the Hot Chocolate was about $5. You can get free water from the drinking fountain (cups are located next to the fountain).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dwolff517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpruceManager, General Manager at Spruce Saddle, responded to this review, November 23, 2010
Thank You So Much for your Review Last Season, We hope you come back and see us this Ski Season.

Thanks,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Located on the mountain, otherwise not that special”
Reviewed October 2, 2009

Spruce Saddle is located at the top of the Centennial Lift at Beaver Creek ski area. The location on the mountain is clearly the #1 thing this casual restaurant has going for it. You wouldn't wind up here unless you were already on the mountain for skiing or summer activities. And, as such, location matters a lot! You can grab a meal between activities on the mountain without having to descend into the village below.

However, beyond the location, this restaurant doesn't have a lot going for it. Prices are fairly high for what you get ($13 or so for a burger with what looks like a frozen patty, though does have a fairly tasty combination of pre-made toppings -- extra for entirely uninspired fries). Service is slow, despite food being served cafeteria-style. The other menu options are somewhat limited - a few salads plus pork & chicken sandwiches (but, for being up on the mountain and not easily accessible to delivery trucks, a limited menu is not too shocking).

During our visit, we got a special rate for our summer-time lift tickets (regular price for just the lift was $20 - price for the lift ticket & a $15 voucher for Spruce Saddle was just $25).

Admittedly, we visited here in the fall, not during ski-season. So, there's a chance that the food is better when the interior dining room is also open. During summer/fall, food is served under an awning and all seating is outdoors. Though the seating is outdoors, most of the tables aren't in very picturesque locations. You can carry your food to some nice chairs on the side of the building, looking over more of the mountain.

If you're hungry from a day of hiking or skiing, and don't want to take time out of your adventures to leave the mountain, Spruce Saddle would be a good choice. Otherwise, you can certainly find other options down the mountain.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SDSUGRAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpruceManager, General Manager at Spruce Saddle, responded to this review, December 10, 2010
Thank you so much for your review.

Since your last visit we have increased the Variety and the Speed of Service. The Lift & Lunch is a great Value that we also offer in the Winter.

Come see us again and thanks for your input.

Chad Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spruce Saddle also viewed

 
Beaver Creek, CO
 

Been to Spruce Saddle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing