We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for location, but better off eating somewhere else before you go”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Spruce Saddle

Spruce Saddle
Ranked #35 of 82 Restaurants in Beaver Creek
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“OK for location, but better off eating somewhere else before you go”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

This mountaintop outdoor grill definitely has a unique location and atmosphere on a summer's day, but you'll pay a price. You can pay $25 for a lift ticket, but for an extra $4, you get a $15 food voucher. If you're going to eat lunch here, this is essential. For 2 sandwiches, 2 drinks, 1 side and a brownie it was over $45. Our vouchers knocked that down (you still paid $4 per voucher), but it was still pricey for an outdoor cafeteria grill. The dining area itself (outdoor deck tables and picnic benches) is not covered and does not itself afford a mountain view. This is a great place to stop for a drink or snack, but there are other restaurants at the bottom of the mountain where I would eat first before getting on the gondola.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bearnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpruceManager, General Manager at Spruce Saddle, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Thank you for your feedback on our Mountain Top Grill @ Spruce Saddle Lodge. We make all of your Menu Items from Scratch on a Daily Basis at 10,200 Feet above Sea Level. The Views of the Gore Range and Mountains are always Spectacular. There is plenty of covered seating available inside the restaurant with great views from the windows. The Lift and Lunch is a Great Deal with $4 getting you an additional $15 worth of Food or Beverage. We Look forward to you returning to see us again and wish you safe travels on your visit to Colorado.

Thank You,

Chad Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    35
    16
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great variety, wonderful staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

Ability to feed the kids friendly food while still having some great choices was a real plus. Did they ship in an Irish bartender special for St. Patty's day?!?! He was great, as was the rest of the staff. We had to have a Spruce Saddle Bar just about every day. They were out of them on this day and a staff member actually offered me the rest of hers!!! Of course we didn't take it, but how nice was that? I would LOVE to have that recipe. Will return every time we are in Beaver Creek.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kelcalkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpruceManager, General Manager at Spruce Saddle, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Thank you for your Nice Review, Make sure to stop in and see me, next time you visit Beaver Creek. I will make sure you get a Spruce Bar.

Thanks,

Chad Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Amazing ski food!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

After skiing Vail and being incredibly disappointed with the restaurants on the mountain(Two Elk and Mid Vail) we were so impressed and grateful for food quality, choices and cleanliness of Spruce Saddle! How to you get a salmon sandwich perfectly cooked and fresh at a restaurant on the mountain? Two Elk is a cafeteria, Spruce Saddle is a restaurant!!!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cchendren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpruceManager, General Manager at Spruce Saddle, responded to this review, March 2, 2011
Thank you for your positive review of Spruce Saddle Lodge and the Salmon Club Sandwich.

Please come back and see us again and safe travels.

Thanks,

Chad Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not bad at all for slopeside dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

Huge self service / self clear restaurant serving a wide variety of burgers, pizza, salads etc. All good quality food on the go.

Separate bar area for those needing some dutch courage.

Very clean restrooms. Great views from the deck - but watch the local birds who have no problem with helping themselves from your plate!

Good place to refuel and meet up.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GallopingLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpruceManager, General Manager at Spruce Saddle, responded to this review, November 23, 2010
Good food on the Go, we look forward to seeing you again this Ski Season.

Thanks,

Chad Anderson

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
166 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Best spot for lunch while skiing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2010

We loved to eat lunch around 1 at the Spruce Saddle restaurant located on the top of the mountain. It was either eat at 11:30 or after 1 because the lines were just too long. Food was EXCELLENT - I loved the fresh turkey sandwich, and Hot Mamma loved the salads, and with 2 drinks it was a good deal

Please see my blog at http://talesfromtheroad-mwalno.blogspot.com/

Total - $28.55

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mwalno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpruceManager, General Manager at Spruce Saddle, responded to this review, November 23, 2010
Thanks for the Great Feedback, we are looking forward to seeing you this Ski Season.

Thank You,

Chad Anderson

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spruce Saddle also viewed

 
Beaver Creek, CO
 

Been to Spruce Saddle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing