We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upper Boarders Lodge Unit 403 is Stupendous!”
Review of Borders Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Borders Lodge
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Excellent accommodations at the Upper Boarders the absolute Best stay in Beaver Creek Proper for the 2011 World Cup where Bode Miller took home the Birds of Prey Downhill WIN! Friendly staff, super clean unit with all the needed amenities beyond our expectations and so close to the Mountain walking distance to everything! Super place, best value, such an awesome place that we’re coming back to Upper Boarders for the 2012 World Cup!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goodymt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 50 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

The Border's Lodge is in an excellent location for families. A ski-in/ski-out (ski-in is an ungroomed blue. The staff is superb and have been there for many years -- Ryan and Kim are the best. Always ready to answer questions and offer suggestions.

The pool, gym and locker room are always spotless. Family-friendly small lodge.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the lift are quiet and you can often see more wildlife at dawn and dusk from these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SouthFLAFamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed at the Borders Lodge last spring and had a not so great experience. This time was much different. The management at the Borders(in particular-Ryan) was super helpful. They bent over backwards to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. He even went as far as to buy baby gates since we have a 17 month old and there were stairs in the unit which I was concerned about. We did stay in a "superior" unit this time. This is a pricier unit, but worth the extra money. The furnishings and decor are much more modern than a regular unit. There were 3 bedrooms(2 upstairs with a bathroom in the hall) and master downstairs. There was a main bathroom downstairs and then a bathroom in the master. There were nice robes for all of us to use. The bedding was clean and modern. There were fans and humidifiers in each room which was helpful. THere is a full kitchen with everything you need for your stay. The heating in this unit seemed to work well. It was very quite-no noise from hallway or outside of the building. The front desk staff was super helpful every time we passed through the lobby(holding the door open, calling a shuttle, offering to help carry something). There is a pool and hot tub. The pool seemed warmer this time and both seemed to be cleaner as well. As I mentioned in my last review you can get to the village in about a 5-10 minute walk or take the many shuttles that pass through. The location is perfect! So all in all we had a much better stay this time compared to last. I do think though that you have to spend that extra money to get a nicer room-it is worth it!

Room Tip: I would chose a superior room as they are more modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktempelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a wonderful stay at the Borders Lodge this past weekend. I have to say the Borders Lodge was a terrific place to stay. The manager, Ryan, went out of way to accommodate us and was excellent to deal with. The unit itself was great, and the location with the easy ski in and out access was perfect. There is a ski locker room where you can leave your equipment and change into your boots, then head right out the door, and onto the lift just yards away. When you return, just ski right up to the door. Nice, warm pool and hot tub, and they provide bath robes which are a nice touch. Our last day even though we checked out and skied only a half day, we were able to change and take a shower in the locker room. On top of that, the staff at the Lodge, particularly Brian, could not have been more helpful and friendly. Overall, it was really a fabulous experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andyhl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Me: Avid traveler. Avid Skier. Discriminating taste. First time visiting Beaver Creek.

Although the condos were all sold out, we were able to check in early (like 4 hours early). The staff was exceptionally helpful over the duration of our stay. We did our research and, honestly, were a bit worried about the type of condo we would wind up with for a 5 night vacation. Upon entering the condo we were blown away at the level of polish, cozy but high end finishes, the level of furnishings (including cookware, plates, variety of glasses, LCD TVs, etc.), and, of course, the view.

I understand that these are individually owned condos and others may have had worse luck then we but the niceness of the suite really made our trip. You could tell that this was a place where a family spends their time and enjoys their own vacations when not renting out to others. There were a few board games and even a book or two in the TV console.

Squashing a few rumors, the location of The Borders Lodge relative to BC Village is not too far of a walk. My fiancé and I are in our early thirties as were the other couple accompanying us on this trip. Although a slight uphill grade when walking from the lodge to Village for breakfast (none onsite) or lift tickets, it was not enough to make us think twice about taking the shuttle. We did see several people waiting for the shuttle so it does come by regularly but we never used it and found the walk pleasant.

The location of The Borders Lodge for skiing purposes was fantastic. Walk down the hall to the ski lockers holding all of your gear, strap in, and cruise 20 yards to the Elkhorn Lift. Tip: Lift tickets are not checked here (ever) so you can then ride over to either Bachelor's Gulch or Beaver Creek base to purchase lift tickets. I would suggest Bachelor's Gulch for a drink at the Ritz Carlton and a quick jaunt inside instead of having to unbuckle all of your gear and take an escalator down to the purchase counter in Beaver Creek Village. At the end of the day you can either follow the Elkhorn Lift down or, if you are enjoying après ski drinks at The Chop House, you can traverse over (most of it is downhill) and wind up right by the ski lockers. Likewise, you can ski through town and end up directly across the street (i.e., across Village Road) from the Borders and simply walk up the driveway. We found any of these solutions extremely convenient.

Master Bedroom. King bed. LCD TV with DVD player and Cable. Large closet with additional blankets. Direct access to outdoor balcony. Ample storage area and coat hangers. Working lamps and large wall mirror. Perfect.

Second Bedroom. I would have posted pictures of this but was not allowed enough slots by Trip Advisor! When booking via Hotels.com I requested the 2 bedroom with a king bed and then a queen bed but, when checking in, we received the suite with a king bed and two twin beds pushed together to make a king. Upon inquiry I was informed that the suite we wound up in was finished out much nicer with better views. Additionally, just about 100% of the condos have the two twin bed set-up to increase the heads accommodated and pushing them together is very common when 2 couples are traveling. Our counterparts had no complaints on this arrangement. They had their own full bathroom which was also accessible from the main living area. The closet space here was diminished by a stackable washer/ dryer combo, which was not used but nice to have onsite. This room also housed an LCD TV with DVD player and cable.

Positives: Free coffee, tea, and water with paper to-go cups and lids available in the lobby throughout the day along with snack bars to take on the mountain with you. There is always a fire in the fireplace in the lobby to provide a warm feel. The hot tub and pool were both very warm and the walkways to them were heated so you don't have to worry about running through snow to get to the tub. There is free garage parking onsite with elevator access free wireless internet which was a tad but slow. No major complaints though. Any of the front desk agents also served as concierges and ready, willing, and able to answer all of our questions and make appropriate suggestions. The gas fireplace in the living room got a workout over our stay and was a very nice touch. Also, small details like a sock/ shoe warmer in the closet were nice.

Negatives: none of the dehumidifiers worked and, although management was happy to bring us new ones, it was unfortunate that not one out of 6 worked. Management was happy to replace a light bulb when informed one was out.

Beaver Creek Tips: If renting, head to Sports Authority down the hill for $20/ day rentals ($40/ day if demos) and usually whatever you left at home is on sale. Christy's Sports is usually overpriced. There is an in-town (BC Village) liquor store and small grocery located around the ice rink if you want to stock the condo up with necessities. Although no breakfast served onsite, there are several great spots around the base you can quickly grab something for a quick bite or a nice breakfast if you prefer.

Everything in my rating received a rating of Excellent except for the following and here's why: Value: It is very good for Beaver Creek but, as mentioned by others, Beaver Creek is expensive. I've skied Aspen and think I prefer Beaver Creek for the money.
Sleep Quality: The beds were very comfortable and there were no sound issues but this section receives a less than perfect score due to the humidifiers not working properly.
Location: Again, perfect for us but there are places closer to the Village (more expensive though) which may better suit other travelers (older or with children possibly).

Overall, none of the downfalls surpassed the upsides for us and we will surely take a long hard look at booking at the Borders again next season at our new favorite mountain in Colorado.

Happy Travels from Austin, TX!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ZRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Loved Borders Lodge - great location, ski out on Elk Lift or a couple of minutes walk to the Village. We were pleasantly surprised at what a fabulous location this complex has within the Village of Beaver Creek. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend Borders. Brian on the front desk provided outstanding service - shame the snow wasn't better!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingVirgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We loved the Border's Lodge. It was very convenient, the ski-in, ski-out feature was great and the kids loved playing in the snow behind the building after the lift has closed. Great staff too.

Room Tip: In Ski season, ask for an odd numbered room which are on the lift/mountain side of the building. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrozenMargNoSalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaver Creek hotels
0.2 mi away
Beaver Creek Lodge
Beaver Creek Lodge
#3 of 18 in Beaver Creek
509 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Charter at Beaver Creek
The Charter at Beaver Creek
#10 of 18 in Beaver Creek
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
#5 of 18 in Beaver Creek
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort
0.4 mi away
Kiva by Beaver Creek Mountain Lodging
1.8 mi away
Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borders Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borders Lodge

Address: 1120 Village Road, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Beaver Creek
Price Range: $193 - $1,069 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Borders Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Borders Lodge in Beaver Creek Colorado is a limited service 79 room condotel. Conveniently ski in/out via chair 14/Elkhorn lift, relaxing heated outdoor pool, (2) hot tubs, (2) fitness rooms and front desk open daily. Enjoy complimentary morning coffee bar and apres ski hot chocolate & snacks--in winter. Summer guests enjoy complimentary iced tea poolside. On resort shuttle route and serviced in by Dial A Ride (free), 10 minute walk to Beaver Creek Village restaurants, ice rink and ski school. Families love us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Borders Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borders Hotel Beaver Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing