We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is the Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Poste Montane At Beaver Creek
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is the Place to Stay”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We are avid skiers and this was our first trip to Beaver Creek since it opened in 82 0r 83. We loved staying at the Poste Montane. It was intimate and had the feeling of a bed and breakfast. They staff was outstanding and did everything they could to anticipate and handle any requests. The room was comfortable and quite large. We were there a week and never felt like the walls were beginning to close in on us. The bed was very comforable which is a requirement after a full day of skiing, a full vanity outside of the bathroom was very much appreciated and the walk in closet, fabulous. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choices and the food was good. Again the staff was so gracious and accomodating they would do anything they could to make you happy. We will go back and we will definately stay at the Poste Montane. It was outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cindy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    18
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
39
55
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We're avid skiers and come to Beaver Creek regularly. We've never stayed at Poste Montane and decided to give it a shot this year. After staying there for a week, I can honestly say we will likely not stay anywhere else in the future. The room (we had a 1-bedroom) was spacious and well-appointed. The continental breakfast was actually closer to a full-breakfast buffet; there was enough food to keep my teenage sons happy. We liked that we weren't "nickel'd and dime'd" on things: (1) parking was included, (2) use of laundry facilities was included, (3) use of the Hyatt's spa/fitness center was included. The staff was excellent and very helpful.

We can be pretty critical of high-end properties, but we have nothing but high-praise for Poste Montane.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank travelfam201126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights end of january 2013 for a ski trip in a Lodgeroom with fireplace (king).

Overall a convenient lodging option and -for Beaver Creek Village- one of the more affordable (affordable meaning less than $300 a night here) places to stay.

What we liked:
- Very spacious accommodation with walk-in closet with fridge, humidifier, hairdryer, vanity area and a roomy bathroom with good shower.
- Although it was hard to get the fireplace working (woodburning), it felt very cosy once it did!
- Price included breakfast (small compared to european standards but more than sufficient to start your day. Items included bananas, apples, raisin bread, whole wheat bread, white bread, wafels and syrup, bagels, cereal, coffee, tea, milk, oatmeal and two hot breakfast items a day like hot cinnamon rolls, eggs or pancakes and bacon etc.
- Price included free wifi
- Price included free parking in a nearby garage (steps next to hotel entrance)
- The back of the hotel is on the BC Plaza and a few meters from the side entrace to the Park Hyatt where your Poste Montane key gives you free entry to their spa facilities (didn't use though).
- The Poste Montane has it's own hot whirlpool and sauna, small but nice.
- There is a ski run that ends approx. 150 yards from the hotel entrance (on the same level), a little tricky to find first but once you know where it is (on ski map; Ski your way down to the right of the strawberry park express lift) it is far more convenient than skiing down to the Park Hyatt and needing to go down all those steps or taking the escalators down at the base area.
- The ski room in the hotel provides free lockers and has a ski boot drying system in place which was very comfy.
- We liked the quietness of the hotel (I guess since this is a timeshare)

What we didn't like:
- Bathroom would get very cold, no floorheating or heatlamps.
- Although the hotel is on the plaza, you still have to negotiate a considerable amount of steps to get to the base area, it's definitely not ski-in/out (noone said it was, but just saying).
- Staff: There is a romanian girl working there and she should be promoted for her excellent service and genuine interest in her guests, very helpful and welcoming!
Her female colleague on the other hand was rude, not helpful at all and seemed annoyed that we came to the front desk while she was eating.. On one occasion we called her from our room to ask where the hairdryer was and when we found it she felt the need to tell us off: "see, I told you!".. Would have barely accepted this response from a motel employee!
- Their generic Shampoo, conditioner, lotion comes in those big hanging flasks which are a little tacky.
- At times, this hotel does feel a little rough around the edges as far as finishings aso. Eg: hallways look more like a boarding school than a luxury hotel.
- Apparently it is customary in this hotel to clear your own breakfast items away when you are done, not the end of the world coz the breakfast area is very small and kitchen closeby but we found this practise a little odd in a hotel like this. The Breakfast staff in the kitchen (where you would bring your used plates aso) should be more friendly and helpful.

So all in all a convenient place in a beautiful ski area, but with some cons.

Room Tip: Some rooms have fireplaces (wood provided in a basket) which is nice; quite hard to get it working...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XploreBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awalshpml, General Manager at Poste Montane At Beaver Creek, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am the new GM and there is also a new Assistant GM at Poste Montane since May. We appreciate all feedback, especially comments that will help us improve our service levels. We are committed to providing the highest levels of customer care. We are happy that you recognized one employee and the overall experience you had as positive. We are delighted to let you know that Beaver Creek Resort is installing an escalator in the Village that will take you to the base of Centennial so you will no longer have to deal with all the stairs. We hope to serve you on a future stay.

Andrea Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, Illinois
Level Contributor
109 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

True old world ambiance. Outstanding staff, pleasant and interesting fellow guests. Best value on the mountain. Located close to the restaurants and shops. Close to the lifts. Free shuttle within the village and ample transportation options to nearby Avon and beyond. Also free indoor heated parking for guests.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hinsdalejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My father from Indiana who is 81 years old came out to visit me in November. I was in the process of selling my place and did not have a room for him. I contacted the Poste Montane and they were more than happy to take care of him for his stay. He LOVED it there. He was very impressed with all of the Poste Montane's staff. They treated him like he was a king.
The Poste is located in a great location and he could just walk next door and get a drink and something to eat. I was very happy that he was in great hands while I was working.
Thank you Poste Montane for giving him a wonderful experience that he still talks about with all of his friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basalt, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a small hotel with charming and located in a great location. If you are a skier or summer visitor, you should stay here. It is very reasonably priced and has excellent staff. One of the great things is that you get to use the pool and spa across the mall in the Park Hyatt for free.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haggsBasalt_Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland, Colorado
Level Contributor
216 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed in the Poste Montane in late August, during a busy, eventful weekend, and again at the end of October, during the off-season. We very much enjoyed both of our timeshare-trade stays. But the Poste Montane may not be for you, especially if you want to eat inexpensively. There are no kitchens in the units, although one at-large kitchen is available, and a simple, complimentary breakfast (with one hot entree, plus waffles if the waffle iron isn't broken) is available in a pleasant dining area off the lobby. For lunch and dinner, you must eat in a restaurant off-site (except for a pizza restaurant that is within the hotel)...and all restaurants in Beaver Creek and many others in the Vail/Avon/Edwards area are pricey. (During the off-season, most but not all restaurants are closed; those that are open often offer appreciable discounts.)
The Poste Montane is an attractive small, 5-story building, originally designed as a boutique hotel. It is centrally located, right off the Beaver Creek Plaza near the ice rink and just across from the Park Hyatt where P.M. guests have privileges to use the fitness center, year-round heated swimming pool, and hot tubs (the P.M. has a hot-tub and sauna of its own). The units are especially inviting with unusual floor plans. Our one-bedroom unit in August had a large walk-in closet and a complex bathroom (one part had a sink and a shower/bathtub; another had a sink, toilet, and bidet). Our two-bedroom unit in October had three bathrooms of different sizes, but all with shower/tubs and toilets; also three mini-fridges. Amenities include ceiling fans, safes, tables, and electric kettles. Rooms were spacious, beds were comfortable, wi-fi connection worked well, living rooms were tastefully designed, and there were abundant hooks, dresser drawers, and storage areas. An uncommon amenity for a timeshare was the daily housekeeping service, as you would expect in a hotel. Maintenance must be good because things generally worked well.
Staffers at the front desk and throughout the Poste Montane were friendly and helpful. Access from the outside after-hours, to units, and to other rooms (like the hot-tub, ski lockers, ice-machine/washers/dryers) is via code rather than plastic cards. These occasionally failed to work. Parking is in a heated garage a couple hundred feet away. Daily newspapers are available in the breakfast area. We highly recommend the Poste Montane.

Room Tip: Many different types of units, so select the features you want in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaver Creek hotels
0.2 mi away
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
#3 of 18 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort
0.1 mi away
Beaver Creek Lodge
Beaver Creek Lodge
#6 of 18 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Charter at Beaver Creek
The Charter at Beaver Creek
#9 of 18 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Beaver Creek Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poste Montane At Beaver Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poste Montane At Beaver Creek

Property: Poste Montane At Beaver Creek
Address: 76 Avondale Lane, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Beaver Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poste Montane At Beaver Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Poste Montane At Beaver Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poste Montane At Beaver Creek Hotel Beaver Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing