We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic property, with only tiny nitpicks”
Review of Snow Cloud Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Snow Cloud Lodge
Reviewed February 22, 2011

We stayed in Snow Cloud over for a week that overlapped into the holiday President's weekend. In a nutshell, it was our family's favorite vacation.

The location is fantastic, as long as you anticipate and understand your needs (if you are in Beaver Creek to ski, of course). With children in ski school most days, we boarded what most of the time was a 10 minute shuttle to the main village. No issue there, as long as the shuttle was working efficiently (more on this in a minute). If you do not have children in ski school, simply place your skis on the snow and glide into the chairlift about 50 yards downhill. For apres, we LOVED the ambience of the Ritz, which is also located 50 or so yards down the hill and which you have full access to as a Snow Cloud guest. If you and your family like to enjoy a beer, live music, some smores, etc...you will love Bachelor Gulch. If you are a foodie, like to enjoy the ski village atmosphere, etc...the village or one of the adjacent lodgings may be a better choice. While not inconvenient to hang in the village and stay in Bachelor Gulch, it does require the occasional dose of patience.

The unit itself knocked our socks off. My wife and I generally stay in luxury hotels or complexes when we travel, and Snow Cloud more than holds it's own. The kitchen housed top end appliances, the wood flooring and wood beams in the living area was rustic elegance, etc. The master bath was very nice (not quite as elegant as the rest of the unit, but certainly high end), and the second bedroom and bathroom were nice as well. One neat addition was that the unit owner left close to 100 classic and recently popular DVD's, which we enjoyed on the nights we couldn't move from skiing the powder left behind by two rather large storms.

A minor nitpick was that, in a condo this nice, the TV's were easily 10+ years old. We don't go to Beaver Creek to watch TV, but it's one of those head scratching moments when you have a fire burning, a glass of wine in one hand, and a grainy movie on the small screen in the living room. Again, though, a minor nitpick, and we'd stay in Snow Cloud again and again.

One other issue was the Bachelor Gulch dial-a-ride. I am willing to give them a pass- maybe it was a bad week, maybe there were things going on behind the scenes that we couldn't know about, etc. But, in a word, their service the week we stayed there was horrible. The first day we called the night before for a pickup that would get us to the village well in advance of our children's school. They didn't show. When I called from my cell, they told me a van would be there within 5 minutes. 20 minutes later, it rolled up (and we weren't their intended passengers!). The second day, we were in the midst of a 14", 3" per hour snowstorm. They were late, but that's not a complaint in that type of weather. However.....you run a dial-a-ride shuttle service in a ski resort. Bachelor Gulch is over 8k feet in the air, and you travel down the steep mountain and up a steep mountain to travel to the village. No chains on the shuttles! Our shuttle, of course got stuck. We then sideswiped a passenger car that was stuck on the road to the village, and had to sit in the van for 30 minutes before walking the final quarter mile or so up the hill in our ski boots. Again, it was a major snowstorm...but we felt the shuttle service was ill prepared. I mean....it's a ski resort! The drivers also seemed generally lazy, and were the only service individuals we encountered all weekend that were not spectacular. By the end of the week, we were walking down the road 4=50 yards to the Ritz and taking their scheduled shuttles. Our vacation was PHENOMENAL, but the four or five minor incidents of poor execution by the dial-a-ride service caused little headaches that Beaver Creek prides itself on not allowing it's guests to encounter.

All in all, Snow Cloud is a gorgeous property in a tremendous resort. You will not be disappointed in the lodging no matter how particular your tastes, and as long as you understand that while you are ski in, ski out- it is not connected directly to the main village (it's a fairly easy ski over there, as long as you don't mind a few cat walks). We would stay there again!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gold233790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Snow Cloud Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 45 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2010

Everything exceeded our weekend, the accomodations, the servcice, and the events. Phenomenal weekend..

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

The Condo, the service, the weather, was absolutely perfect. Even our 2 year old was wanting to stay longer. A picutre perfect weekend for all four of us.. We will be returning again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

I want to be detailed, because I was disappointed in how little I could find on this place. First of all, getting on the slopes was awesome. I counted 45 steps from my condo door until I placed my skis on my feet and went down to the lift. We would come back every two hours and rest, have a drink or snack, relax and go back out. We never waited in line at the lift. We skied right onto the chair. This was the case with all the other lifts at Beaver Creek while we were there. We were right next to the carpet ride where the little kids would go up and down a small hill. We were also next to The Ritz. The Ritz patio is next to the lift. They have live music outside, a pool (available to Snow Cloud), and outside dining. You can go roast complimentary marshmellows in the fire pit while watching the skiers come down the slopes. Some condos at Snow Cloud had their patios facing the lift and slopes. I could see people sitting on their patios and enjoying the live music being played at the Ritz. These guys kept their skis on their patios and didn't even have to go through the lobby to start skiing.

The condo was supplied with seasonings, dishes, laundry soap, coffee, cleaning supplies, portable heaters, and fans. There were extra blankets, games, and recent bestsellers to read. 309 was a one bedroom, and it was huge. It had a sofa bed that the kids could easily sleep on if you bring them. The front desk was very helpful. The lobby was nice. There were always coffee and granola bars in the lobby. The ski lockers were large.

They did not have humidifiers. However, you could rent one for $8 a day. They said the reason for this was the cleaning was not always done properly and they decided it was safer to use a service. Otherwise, the mold could make people sick.

The only negative was that most restaurants were a drive down the hill. If you stayed in Beaver Creek Village, you could walk to the restaurants, that really wasn't the case at Bachelor's Gulch. The drive is only 5 minutes though. We had a car, so I can not rate the shuttle situation.

We will be back as soon as possible. We are bringing our friends and families.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3girlsohmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2010

Our unit in Snow Cloud was absolutely beautiful. Spacious, clean, and luxurious. There was more than enough storage space for all the ski amenities that go with 3 adults and one child. The kitchen was stocked with supplies from Pottery Barn and Williams and Sonoma. The bed was very comfortable. The washer and dryer were a bonus. The staff was very helpful supplying us with extra towels, laundry detergent, and coffee. The location was great with ski-in/out access and an easy drive or shuttle ride to the main village area for shopping or ski school.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smooant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2008

From the minute that we got there everything was taken care of. It was like everytime you needed something or someone it was there. I have traveled all over the world to many resorts and Snow Cloud was the most accomidating. Futhmore the living corridors we amazing. Lastly you could walk about 10 feet and enjoy one of the best Ritz Carlton's in the world. My family and I have decided that we are going to make this an annual trip.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank FunTimesChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2008

It was great, the accomodations are top notch and well worth it to stay! You receive access to the Ritz-Carlton Pool, Spa and Workout Center. Works great with a group giving you a full Kitchen to makes meals of your own. Great place, I will go back!!

Stayed: October 2008
1  Thank Tyedye7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaver Creek hotels
1.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
1.7 mi away
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
#5 of 18 in Beaver Creek
544 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beaver Creek Lodge
Beaver Creek Lodge
#2 of 18 in Beaver Creek
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Charter at Beaver Creek
The Charter at Beaver Creek
#9 of 18 in Beaver Creek
350 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort
1.9 mi away
Park Hyatt Beaver Creek Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Cloud Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Cloud Lodge

Address: 38320 Hwy 6, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Beaver Creek
Price Range: $170 - $3,000 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Snow Cloud Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snow Cloud Lodge is an ideal location to gather for any family on a Colorado vacation. Each Snow Cloud condominium is platinum-plus rated and the lodge is ski-in/ski-out; steps away from the Bachelor Gulch ski lift and The Ritz-Carlton. Enjoy gourmet kitchens and spacious well-appointed luxury living areas. Just 15 minutes from Vail this premier mountain community offers a full service destination for all. Snow Cloud Lodge is the ultimate Beaver Creek condominium experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and TravelUp so you can book your Snow Cloud Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Cloud Hotel Beaver Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing