We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base for flyfishing Durango area.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eagle's Nest Cabins & Homes
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great base for flyfishing Durango area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2009

Everything was great. Comfortable beds, clean and great location. We have stayed in Aspen Dream and Spring Creek. Both are top notch.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TxFlyBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
12
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Temple
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2009

What a wonderful stay we had at Eagles Nest in the Eaglet "cabin for two." It's actually an upstairs apartment over the owners' large garage/workshop, but we felt like we were in a treehouse. Quite spacious...perhaps 20' wide x 40' deep? Queen bed in one corner as you enter plus two wonderfully comfy chairs - perfect for TV or reading! I somewhat greedily claimed the upholstered rocker, and my husband was thrilled to discover his non-rocker reclined! :-) Good-sized kitchen area with table for two plus seating room at long counter. Mid-size fridge, microwave, and apartment-sized stove with oven. No dishwasher...who cares for two people??? We LOVED making slice-and-bake Toll House cookies each evening and had all we needed to cook breakfast & a nice dinner each day. Bathroom is spotless and very roomy.

One of the nicest things about the Eaglet is the simple cabin feel, yet it's bright and "aerie" with lighter woodtones and colorful accents. Even a front porch with chairs, and the view of the mountains is simply lovely. We especially enjoyed rain on the metal rooftop, feeding the HUGE trout with fish food Connie thoughtfully left for us, and a nice walk in "neighborhood." Doug was so nice during the booking process...I just knew we'd feel right at home, and we were not disappointed. We loved staying at Eagles Nest...the Allens are wonderful people who share their properties in such a way that you feel as welcome as family.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cherylynn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
284 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2008

Our cabin was recently refurbished, well-furnished and tastefully decorated with all of the anemities to make a stay in the mountains perfect. The owners take pride in their cabins and homes and attempt to make guests as comfortable as possible. When the weather turned cold, we were happy enjoying good books and television by the gas fireplace because the cabin was so spacious and comfortable. Plenty of places to bike, hike, fish, boat--near Silverton and Mesa Verde.

  • Liked — All of the comforts in a rustic setting
  • Disliked — View from the picture window was not of the mountains
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hoosierhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2008

My two friends and I stayed in the “Aerie” cabin at Eagles Nest for 3 nights in August of 2008 and we could not be happier. Doug (the owner with his wife, Connie) was extremely pleasant and informative and we immediately felt right at home. The cabin was more than we expected in that it was large, extremely clean and very comfortable. The area is beautiful and very peaceful with a small pond on the property full of huge trout. But no fishing allowed. You feed them, not eat them! It’s actually kind of fun. There are 3 cabins in the immediate area, but they are far enough apart that you don’t feel crowded.

There are a few places to eat in the immediate area, but I can’t recommend any of them because we did not eat there.

The drive from Durango is only 25 minutes and very beautiful and after a long day of touring the area, the drive to the cabin along that big beautiful lake is like a brain massage and immediately relaxes you. Our only gripe is that we didn’t spend enough time at the cabin.

Eagles Nest is close to Durango, the San Juan Skyway, Telluride and Mesa Verde National Park (among other things) which makes it a great place to stage your trips.

As we left for our trip home, we noticed a mother raccoon with 4 of her babies in a tree next to my truck. How can you not love a place like that? We will definitely be back and based on our experience, I recommend Eagles Nest to anyone. My compliments to Doug and Connie for running a great place!

  • Liked — Friendly owner, extremely clean, beautiful location.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom1s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2008

We stayed in one of the Eagle's nest cabins (The Hackle) in 2004 and had such a wonderful time we decided to go back! Since the cabins were already booked, we chose the Creekside "vacation home" for 5 nights at the end of July. The owners, Doug and Connie are wonderful (full of stories!) and actually own some of the properties (such as the cabins) and rent out the others on behalf of the owners (such as the Creekside). We did like the cabin we had stayed at before better but the Creekside was fine. It was clean, roomy and has been recently updated. There is a swing down by the creek which is just off the back porch. We saw lots of wildlife while we were there and it's a very peaceful setting. There are other homes/cabins in the area but it's not crowded. The great thing about Eagle's nest is that you can do all of your cooking at the house and we even had a washer/dryer. There is one good local place to eat (Pura Vida cafe) but the others are less than Mediocre. Durango and Bayfield are an easy drive for other entertainment and dining options. The lake is an easy drive and beautiful. Very unspoiled. The only bad thing that happened was that the satellite TV was out and the actual owner of the cabin would not let Doug and Connie buy a replacement box without Dish Network first coming to check it out (even though we all knew what was wrong). So we didn't have a TV the entire time we were there. Not a big deal for us, we didn't go there to watch TV but I can see how that might upset people with children/teens or those that don't plan on leaving the cabin much. But again, if we had been staying in a cabin actually owned by Doug and Connie, this wouldn't have happened. We'll definitely stay with them again but we'll try to get a property that they actually own. These are great for families and those that love the outdoors. There are great trails for hiking all around Lake Vallecito. The cabins are all "modern" but at the same time these are not the Ritz so don't expect your needs to be catered to like you were in a hotel. Once you check in, you're kind of on your own unless you have a problem or a question (and it might take a couple of hours for them to get your message). Lake Vallecito as well as Eagle's Nest has a very laid back attitude perfect for my idea of a great vacation.

  • Liked — Location, very comfortable beds!
  • Disliked — TV was not working but we did borrow VHS from Doug and Connie.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitters20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2006

We stayed in the Hackle cabin at Eagle's Nest for three nights in early fall of 2005. We had our dog and little baby with us, and the accomodations were great. It's a roomy cabin on a very nice property with nice lawns and grounds. It's just a few minutes to drive to some nice areas on the lake for fishing or hiking. There are a few restaurants within a couple minutes of the cabins as well with nice atmosphere and decent food. It takes about 25 minutes or so to get to Durango from Vallecito, and it is a very beautiful drive. The lake itself is a real surprise if you haven't been there - beautiful and tons to do and really unspoiled. And these cabins were great. Plenty of room, a grill, kitchen, enclosed porch, etc. The owners were very nice too.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
3 Thank EveAndGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayfield
22.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
21.7 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#4 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
20.3 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#6 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bear Paw Lodge
Bear Paw Lodge
#6 of 10 in Bayfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Eagle's Nest Cabins & Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle's Nest Cabins & Homes

Property: Eagle's Nest Cabins & Homes
Address: 48 W Vallecito Creek Rd, Bayfield, CO 81122-9489
Location: United States > Colorado > Bayfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Bayfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing