We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lone Wolf Cabins & Getaway
Tyler, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I had lots of question prior to our visit. Bob, was very helpful and willing to answer my questions and give me plenty of information. He was very friendly and hospitable. The cabin was clean and everything was in working order. There was a rocking chair on the front porch and it was awesome to sit in the cool weather and drink my coffee. The kids (9 and 11) LOVED playing outside in the common areas. They have tetherball and some swings. The only thing I didn't love (and there is nothing Lone Wolf could do about it) was the busy road out in front of our cabin (#1). I think if you were in one of the ones further back it would not matter. There is a cute little restaurant and market next door that has groceries and homemade fudge! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smileynvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    2
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My family enjoyed the Lone Wolf Lodge quite a bit. The cabin was very clean, the grounds lovely, free wi-fi, and the activities lots o' fun. We stayed in the three bedroom, and the space as just right. Vallecito Lake offered lots of rec opportunities, and we even got a boat, yo! We're on a boat! We had swim trunks, flippy floppies, and more!
Anyway, we would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: The three bed cabin was sweet, and full of wolves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hachimachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We had a group of 6 adults and 1 toddler, thus we rented the largest cabin they had available. Our cabin had 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, plus 2 sleeper beds. The cabin was spotless when we arrived and they owners were very attentive, helpful and nice. The property had a playground, horseshoe pits, fire pit and a large grassy area for family playtime. Each cabin has their own BBQ provided along with coals for cooking. The cabins are walking distance to the lake (if you want to walk the road with no sidewalks). There is a tiny store next to the property where you can get cold drinks, ice cream, snacks, candy, etc. We were able to sleep with the windows open every night without any noise except nature to wake us. I would stay here again. Pets are allowed at this property.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janellew29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

The cabins were nice . . . but that's only if you can handle the rude hosts. From the second we inquired about the cabin, we felt like we weren't welcome. We should have stuck to our intuition and found a different location.
They allow pets, but she still wasn't happy about it when I informed her on the phone. In fact, it worried me enough to make me leave the dog at home. We were completely upfront & honest about how many people we had in our party, yet she made a big deal out of it.
We were two families with children. We were the only ones watching our children. Yet she claimed our children "ran amuck". Really? They were the only children who were indoors before quiet time! We did not even allow our children out to the playground without adult supervision.
Upon departure, we asked if it would be easier if the sheets & towels were in one location. We washed and put away every single dish. We returned the sofa beds to sitting position. There was no broom or mop to use in the kitchen. We even invited her into the cabin before we left. She wasn't interested. Yet, she called later stating we had left a mess. I will admit there was a spot on the carpet, but after paying a $50 cleaning fee, which was non-negotiable, (aren't the cabins SUPPOSED to be cleaned when people leave?) AND her rude attitude, followed by her rude phone call, I ceased to feel guilty about it. I wasn't happy when the juice was spilled, but it certainly cannot be the first time (or the last) that someone has spilled something on her cheap, industrial carpet.

When returning to this beautiful town & lake, we will stay at the other locations we have frequented before. This is one place we will NOT return!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ksanchezs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayfield
21.0 mi away
Sky Ute Casino Resort
Sky Ute Casino Resort
#1 of 1 in Ignacio
196 reviews
17.9 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#13 of 33 in Durango
345 reviews
19.5 mi away
Purgatory Village Condo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
219 reviews
19.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#4 of 33 in Durango
985 reviews
21.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Wolf Cabins & Getaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Wolf Cabins & Getaway

Property: Lone Wolf Cabins & Getaway
Address: 18039 County Road 501, Bayfield, CO 81122-8715
Location: United States > Colorado > Bayfield
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Bayfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lone Wolf Cabins & Getaway 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why stay in town? Relax and cool off on the "Green Side" of Vallecito Lake. Vacation Cabin and Vacation Home rentals nestled among ponderosa pine, blue spruce, fir and aspen trees, situated in a beautiful Rocky Mountain valley 18 miles northeast of Durango, Colorado. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Lone Wolf Cabins & Getaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing