We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pura Vida Cafe

Pura Vida Cafe
Ranked #4 of 25 Restaurants in Bayfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $23
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Southwestern, International, South American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Funky Jimmy Buffet atmosphere breakfast, lunch and dinner cafe on the edge of a mountain lake at 8000ft. Owned and operated by a Certified Executive Chef and his wonderful staff. Something for everyone with wide variety menu. Fri- Sun only from October to May. 7 Days May to October 1.
Cortez, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great view...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

And atmosphere and food. We sat on the back patio. My only complaint is the view blocked by the railing but that's because due to code it has to be that way and I'm short.

We just had a couple of burgers with sweet potato fries. and the tacos. The food was great.

The waitress was jubilant and friendly. Played along when we joked about free refills and deserved every bit of her tip.

Definitely go again if in area.

Helpful?
Thank Bart3193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    29
    8
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We dined here twice last week -before and after a backpacking trip. We had the sweet chili mahi with spinach, fried bananas, and swapped the rice for the black bean rice dish. Utterly scrumptious each time. And the the pedro's pollo was a big hit for those not counting calories :) The artichoke dip was also wonderful. My friends gave the wait staff much grief, which they handled with restraint. Oh, and did I mention the view was awesome, and the prices much less than expected. I hope to visit again soon.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Friendswoodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Nice little spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We visited twice during our recent stay at Vallecito Reservoir. The first time we were not really impressed with our server, but thought the food would be worth another try. The next time we went was on Saturday morning for the Cerviche. That was well worth the return visit. Our server was a little more on the ball and the food was excellent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MDKelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved the Food, Loved the Lake View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Relaxed casual environment with a broad menu from Mexican-Costa Rican, to gourmet burgers, to steaks, to seafood. Service was excellent--responsive and friendly. Yes, the kitchen is small and it could take longer (20 minutes, say) to prepare your entrée, but they tell you this on the menu. Appetizers are out in just a few minutes. For dinner we had "Pablo's Pollo" and Rellanos and Enchiladas. Food was hot and plentiful. The Pablo's Pollo was a crispy large breaded chicken breast covered with green and red chili, cheese, guacamole, and two strips of bacon. Odd combination, eh? But it worked as the chicken was crisp, but moist and tender,and the combination of flavors was excellent. Most entrees are in the $10-14 range. We will return and highly recommend!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelotmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great fish tacos & great drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

We had a delightful Sunday afternoon @ Pura Vida Cafe. Great food, fast, friendly service outside overlooking Lake Vallecito. I loved my Top Shelf fish tacos & the pomegranate margarita was superb! Others ordered burgers, Horsey burger was a hit, as was the bun-less option. We'll be back next year!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gypsywoman1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pura Vida Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Pura Vida Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing