We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun, local place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pura Vida Cafe

Pura Vida Cafe
Ranked #5 of 25 Restaurants in Bayfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $23
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Southwestern, International, South American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Funky Jimmy Buffet atmosphere breakfast, lunch and dinner cafe on the edge of a mountain lake at 8000ft. Owned and operated by a Certified Executive Chef and his wonderful staff. Something for everyone with wide variety menu. Fri- Sun only from October to May. 7 Days May to October 1.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun, local place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Good food, friendly service and fun atmosphere. We have been here several times over the past few years and have never been disappointed. They have a patio for dining that overlooks the lake and an enclosed dining area that over looks the lake.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TBENM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    29
    8
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Coco, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Fantastic !!! A must do again and again. Great food, fantastic drinks, awesome breathtaking view of Lake Vallecito. The service is wonderful and eventhough there were many customers the staff serving waits on you as if you are their only customers. We were made to feel very special. We had a great time.

Easy access right off the road parking. Restaurant and restrooms very clean.

The atmosphere is fun and the restaurant is decorated beautifully from the love of Costa Rican flair. The food is unforgettable. Oh and the owner, Chef Gary Peach, is the BEST.

I Highly Recommend Cafe Pura Vida

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IRM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Such a fun (and tasty) place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We only make it up to Vallecito Lake a few times a year, but Pura Vida is one of the reasons we do. The lake is a beautiful place, but having a yummy restaurant like this is a mighty fine bonus. I had beef enchiladas with green chili and the spouse had a smothered (green) pork burrito. Both were delicious, but the burrito was the best. We really like the margs too. Our waitress was awesome once we got one. Do it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kanddDurango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Must-Visit Summer Restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We are locals and this is one of our favorite restaurants to visit during the summer! The drinks are sooo good including the Chunky Monkey and Bloody Marys. The menu is unique because they blend southwestern food and "costa rican" style food together and the result is amazing! We love their Parrot Dip appetizer and don't forget about saving room for one of their specialty desserts! Be prepared for a wait tho cause the kitchen is small and the place is always packed! The location of this place equals beautiful views of Vallecito Lake and they even have patio seating! Like them on Facebook to get the most current information!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrMrsH2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best food at Vallecito.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Delicious, quality casual dining right on the shore of Vallecito Reservoir. Beautiful setting along the lake with the mountains as a backdrop. We especially like the Sunday morning Bloody Mary bar and Eggs Benedict specials. We live in Durango and go 1-2 Sundays per month. Heads-up they are open in the warm months only.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank rezlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pura Vida Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Pura Vida Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing