We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The Hamilton cabin” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pine River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bayfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pine River Lodge
Pueblo, CO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Hamilton cabin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed in the The Hamilton cabin and it was perfect. It has the most amazing and comfortable wrap around porch. The views were great. The cabin accomodated all 7 of us without feeling crowded. We viewed the property online and the pictures looked nice but they are nothing compared to the reality of the cabin and lake area. This cabin exceeded all expectations. The family that owns the properties are very friendly and helpful. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arlolynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    2
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, AZZ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

The perfect place for a true vacation, peaceful, beautiful and the most wonderful hosts you will ever find ! The 1 bedroom cabin we stayed in was exactly as advertised and the views of the lake and surrounding forest were amazing. Will go back again and again!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naturesbest2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

Our family, 4 generations, has been staying at Pine River lodge since long before I was born 43 years ago. I have stayed in almost every cabin and many of them 3 or 4 times over the years. The cabins are true cabins not Vacation Homes. They are built into the mountains overlooking one of the most beautifull lakes in the United States.

The Atkinson Family that owns and runs Pine River Lodge have always treated us as family and works hard to make thier guests happy. Over the years they have added a park/playground, a pool and some new cabins.

Our most recent stay was in June of last year with the 7 members of my imediate family. We stayed in cabin #26 for the 1st time. It is set in the Pine Trees with a great view of the lake from the deck. The bedrooms are big and comfortable.

We did not fish this trip but we did horseback, ride the Durango to Silverton Train, rafted the Animas River, enjoyed the Bar D Chuckwagon and hiked 6 miles into the Weminuche Wilderness. All highly recomended

We will be back again this July with 4 generations of family. This year we plan to fish the lake, go to Mesa Verde and have a great family vacation.

This is a Gods country and everyone should go at least once.

Room Tip: Call them and let them know what you are looking for. The Atkinson's will get you in the best a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjb1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

There are three words to describe this lodge: "dirty", "rundown" and "overpriced". Please be aware of the bugs/ants in the cabins also.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sam557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

We have stayed here at least three times in the past. Not only is the family EXTREMELY friendly, but they have multiple types of cabins. No matter what you are looking for, they have it! And if they don't, they are friendly enough to help you find it.

I can't say enough nice things about this Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksanchezs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayfield
17.6 mi away
Knights Inn Durango CO
Knights Inn Durango CO
#2 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
16.2 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#12 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
19.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Antlers on the Creek Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Pine River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine River Lodge

Property: Pine River Lodge
Address: 14443 County Road 501, Bayfield, CO 81122-8709
Location: United States > Colorado > Bayfield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Bayfield
Number of rooms: 29

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing