We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aspen Quality, at reasonable price”
Review of Tempranillo

Tempranillo
Reserve with OpenTable
Tempranillo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 36 Restaurants in Basalt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Two Rivers Road
Transit: RFTA bus stop from Aspen, Snowmass and Glenwood Springs is located less than 1 block from Tempranillo Restaurant. From the bus stop, follow Midland ave 1 block and Tempranillo Restaurant will be on the right hand side in the big yellow building.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Aspen Quality, at reasonable price”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We wanted to check out Basalt, Co and used TA to find Tempranillo. It has a really nice patio. So we were sold on it.

We asked about the fried fresh organic artichoke dish, and the server was honest and said the artichokes were not fresh, but from a jar. Not a good start. No restaurant should say they have fresh organic product, when it isn't False advertising..

So we skipped that. What we did order was excellent. The 3 Spanish sausage dish was flavorful and had tomato sauce and red peppers.l. My wife got the Misto Bosco (mixed bruschetta) and it was VG.

The desert of berries with Zambione was great.

VG food at less than Aspen prices.. Highly recommend you try Tempranillo. Wine list is good, try the Juan Gil Monastrell.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LorenzoLorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    45
    19
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food nice place”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Really enjoyed the food here. Everything was very fresh and i had a Halibut special which was amazing. Love the long tapas table in the bar area and the porch looks like a hopping spot. I ate in the restaurant and it was great.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ungracious service spoils experience”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The food at Tempranillo is quite good, and the setting is lovely. But no one has trained the staff to be friendly or welcoming. Whether you are a local or a tourist, the feeling is that they could not care less that you are there. I do not think this is the waitstaff's fault, but rather that management has not trained them or set the example of being welcoming and gracious.There is never a feeling that they are happy or honored to have your business.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Grandbob&grandmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“simply good food”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

great spainish wines, great location and simply good food loved the calamari and the Tapas dishes. Out side on the porch is the best place to sit on a summer night

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Portypl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great food & ambiance”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We have eaten at Tempranillo's 3 times, once last year on our first visit to Basalt and twice this year. We would not have returned if the food was not good. There are too many good restaurants in the Aspen valley to want to repeat a poor dining experience.
I'm a pasta lover and they do a great job, al dente with delicious sauces. My wife has had dinner salads which were also very good.

Our last visit we went for happy hour for tapas and glasses of sangria. Again, delightful.

Also, we have sat out on the covered front porch each visit. Very charming and special. There is also space to sit in the shaded front lawn for drinks and/or appetizers.

Re service, I don't know, we have always eaten there on off hours when not busy, so it is easy for staff to give good service. I don't know how that might change during a rush.

If you like good food in a truly charming setting you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeandWilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tempranillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing