We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“taco dive in the desert...”

Algoberto's Taco Shop
Ranked #23 of 66 Restaurants in Yucca Valley
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“taco dive in the desert...”
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

walked in & the counter guy offered me a cup of Skittles, exclaiming "taste the rainbow!". interesting start to my evening. al pastor tacos are juicy & delicious. rice & beans are so-so but it doesn't make fiscal sense to order the combo anyways. al pastor tacos ala carte are $1.35 each. the combo with 2 tacos was $8. do the math. sketchy place to dine alone but glad I went. I really do plan on eating my way through the menu. the food really IS that good. full of loyal locals & like that they fed a local fried desert rat for free. pretty awesome experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank 2nuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yucca Valley, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bucket List Carne Asada burrito”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Their carne asada burrito with a side of carrots cooked in chili peppers is my favorite Mexican dish in the USA. I've never tried anything else here, and I like lots of other Mexican restaurants. It's my #1 stop in Yucca Valley, but just be aware, it's not a pretty strip mall.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RetiredUSAF_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good Place to Stop...for Meals.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We've been here twice & I can say the fish tacos were good, the chile rellenos excellent, and the tortas huge. What I really like are the 4 different types of salsa from red to green to chipotle, mix and match--you can flavor your meal anyway you want. Tthe only bummer was when I used the restroom that particular day, the washbasin water had been turned off. Maybe there was a problem but honestly, you have to wash your hands after using the bathroom in all due respect if possible.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank craigandstef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucca Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well worth the $$”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I had read the reviews of Trip Advisor and decided to give it a try.......The portion of food was great and the food was pretty darn good. This will definitely be one of my regulars.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cruiser817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucca Valley, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good old taco shop”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is one that one that you need to look for. This is a mom and pop place that is worth stop.The food is some of the best in town.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Algoberto's Taco Shop also viewed

Yucca Valley, California Desert
Yucca Valley, California Desert
 
Yucca Valley, California Desert
Yucca Valley, California Desert
 

Been to Algoberto's Taco Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing