We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missed This Place”
Review of La Casita

La Casita
Ranked #18 of 65 Restaurants in Yucca Valley
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Hill City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Missed This Place”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I moved away from this area over 3 years ago and am back for a family members wedding. This is the first restaurant I wanted to go to on our return. My husband had never been here. Met up with some family for lunch here before even getting to where we are staying and although the service was a little slow, the food did not disappoint. One of the best Chili Rellanos ever.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    29
    28
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
SAN DIEGO
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Across the board very good”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I had the lunch special combo plate with chili relleno, shredded beef taco, cheese enchilada, rice and beans. Everything got 4 stars with me, but definitely not 5 stars. Not the best in any category but very good in all.

My significant other enjoyed a huge chimichanga with rice and beans for the same $9 price. Looked great, evenly fried outside, huge clumps of guacamole on top. She had no complaints.

Prices decent, plenty of food. Everything we had, including chips and salsa, were across the board very good.

Restaurant is duly Mexican festive, but not especially clean or fresh looking. Well worn. Odd interior layout no doubt came with the location. Exteriors dirty, especially the doors, and needing new paint.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SANDIEGOSLIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua Tree, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Favorite Restaurant”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I eat here at least twice a month, and it's my first choice when I want to go out for a meal. The service is great, and the portions are big, and the food is very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“What a great surprise!!!”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Walked in the door...how good does this smell!! The menu is big, the service is good and fast, the portions are large and the food is excellent!! Best six dollar Marguritta EVER!!!! Three people in our party, two cocktails and one beer, sixty dollars including 25% tip, carrying doggie boxes, best value in town!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank terrigr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Cadillac margaritas”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We were starved after a long day of hiking in Joshua Tree National Park. We were looking for Mexican food and found a great place. We were seated in the bar/lounge area. We ordered margaritas and were very happy with the quality of these drinks. I had crab enchiladas which were wonderful. Service was quick and friendly. We will definitely stop by here again on a next visit to Joshua Tree.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank GrammaBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casita also viewed

Yucca Valley, California Desert
Yucca Valley, California Desert
 
Yucca Valley, California Desert
Yucca Valley, California Desert
 
Joshua Tree, California Desert
Yucca Valley, California Desert
 

Been to La Casita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing