We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fish and Hamburgers”
Review of Chilly Willy's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chilly Willy's
Price range: $5 - $10
Restaurant details
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Fish and Hamburgers”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is nice, small restaurant with great service and the food is always consistently good! Prices are not bad either. I recommend the Mr. Cod and for those that would like a good cheese burger try one here!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mictech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Joshua Tree, California
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great food Bland atmosphere”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Loved the food! I recommend upgrading to cod if you order fish and chips, it's worth the extra money. The lobster bisque and lobster ravioli were great.
The only downsides are the atmosphere, and the credit card machine wasn't working.
We will go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thetattooedlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Remarkable "find" in Yucca Valley”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I've been coming and going from Yucca Valley for years, and often wondered about the food at this restaurant, but I never stopped in. Then, about two months ago, I decided to have lunch there. Wow. Chilly Willy's serves what might be the best fish-n-chips I've ever had. The fish portions are large, crispy and flavorful. The fries aren't really "chips" but are nicely cooked. The cole slaw is better than average. And the array of sauces - malt vinegar, tartar sauce, orange marmalade, cocktail sauce were great accompaniments. Toss in a beer, and it is a terrific meal at a very reasonable price.

I have now eaten at Chilly Willy's several times and also want to compliment the service. It isn't anything awesome, but every server has been friendly and efficient. And while the decor is a bit tired, the restaurant is always clean and comfortable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoCalAstronomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“good value”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This little restaurant is right in the center of Yucca Valley so convenient to most motels and close to Joshua Tree Natl Park. We were looking for a cold beer and some comfort food. Blame us for trusting Yelp which said the place served beer, but it doesn't. The service was fast and attentive, the dining room was clean and comfortable, and the prices low. We had the cod fish and chips. The pieces were larger than we expected - we ordered three each, and two each would have been fine. The fish was a little bland and the fries only OK, and I was disappointed with the tartar sauce. But it was a satisfying meal in a friendly place at a great price. And the pie was homemade!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Basiluzzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua Tree, California
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Upgrade to the cod”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The regular fish and chips are made with pollack, but for a little more money, I recommend that you upgrade to the cod. It is delicious! The soups are very good also.
This establishment does not serve alcoholic beverages, and the ambiance is..... well there really is no ambiance.
I will definitely eat here again when I am craving good fish and chips, but don't want a beer with it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thetattooedlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chilly Willy's also viewed

Yucca Valley, California Desert
Yucca Valley, California Desert
 
Yucca Valley, California Desert
Yucca Valley, California Desert
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing