We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Best Western standards!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Yucca Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Pismo Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not up to Best Western standards!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

They strive to cut costs at the expense of customer service. We were a party of three. The first night we had to go down because there was no soap and only one bath towel in the room. The sink back splash had a layer of dust on it and the carpets were stained up. They limit their breakfast hours to 6am to 9am, hoping you might sleep in on your vacation and miss it. Add to that they hold the plates and dish out their 'premium' breakfast items to limit what you can eat. You can only have 1/4 a piece of waffle (where other Best Westerns give you the whole waffle) and you can have either two pieces of bacon or two pieces of sausage. If you ask for more you will be denied by the hostess! The cook set off the hotel fire alarm at 6am one morning by burning the waffles. The bed was like sleeping on a sheet of plywood. I have stayed in many Best Westerns in eight different states and never had an experience like this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLOTraveler73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWYV3555, General Manager at Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Our mattresses are new and may have not been "softened" to your liking- we try to keep equipment in the newest condition. Our institution of servers for breakfast has been well received and this is our effort to increase the service level over our competition. Our service staff is hospitality trained and I am appalled that the server would deny you additional food. Please accept my apology for any misunderstanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    173
    57
    21
    21
See reviews for
146
168
45
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I had checked the on-line pricing for this place for two days we were to be there, but my elderly aunt made the reservation for both of us through her auto club, which was a bit higher. When we arrived, there was a massive banner posted on the building, with the price that I had seen on the internet. We asked the desk clerk about it, and were told that the advertised price was only for weekdays (this was on a Sunday). We asked if we would then get charged the lower rate for the next nite we were going to be there (Monday), were told that the lower price was for a different kind of room than the ones we had, and to get that price we would have to be willing to move our rooms on Monday, which we weren't willing to do (pack and unpack again).

The next morning as we were on our way out, I asked the morning desk clerk if she could change our room rate to the weekday pricing, and she said, "oh, ok."

The room was comfortably large and clean, but the fan/air conditioner blew on the bed no matter how low it was turned, and my window wouldn't open (my aunt's did, so she could turn the fan off). Also, there is some peculiar way that the showers heads are set up. They had laminated cards on the bathroom counters that said "It's easy, just pull down and twist," (never had seen anything like that, so apparently it had been an issue). I am usually fairly deft at figuring out mechanical things, but neither my arthritic 87-year old aunt nor I could figure this out, so we both ended up taking baths, which I shouldn't have done because of very recent surgery, with stiches. She hadn't taken a bath in heaven-knows when, and was stuck in hers for a while until she was finally able to crawl out.

They do provide decent hot and cold breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Make sure you have them show you how to use the shower head as soon as you get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andymae13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWYV3555, General Manager at Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your thoughts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucca Valley, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

For the price ($121 a night) , no fridge and no microwave makes this hotel an "only if you have to stay here" type of place. 29 Palms has better and newer hotels, and better prices. Good luck with customer service-I was told computer was down at checkout and I still have not received a complete itemized bill for my 3 night stay. Very disappointed.


  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
4 Thank 1973HappyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWYV3555, General Manager at Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Unfortunately the computer issue was beyond our controll and we have been working on the issues daily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Our family had stayed at the Joshua Tree while attending the KING OF Hammers .... After the Tragic accident of our father Barney Brown., the staff went out of their way to do what ever they they could for our family.... We are so greatful they had this wonderful staff.... I would highly recommend his hotel.. If we are ever in the area we will stay with this hotel....
The Brown family

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CruisingrannyBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWYV3555, General Manager at Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are sorry for your loss and pray for your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I was extremely happy with the Best Western Yucca Valley. It was a little more money than the Travelodge, however I feel it was worth it for the hospitality alone. The front desk rep was friendly, helpful and offered wonderful customer service . When I informed the rep of the online price different from what the walk in charge was, she met that rate happily (a $20 difference). She offered a choice of rooms, gave an overview of the facility's amenities, and extended her continued service.

The room was clean and nice smelling - a real treat after a day in the dust. The bed was comfortable and the doors blocked all hall noise nicely The outdoor hot tub was a relaxing bonus. The complimentary breakfast was tasty and plentiful, with an option for any diet (including meat lovers). A staff member even went around pouring coffee!

While I normally prefer to camp in Joshua Tree, temps in the 30's drove us to the hotel. I'm glad we had such a pleasant stay, and may consider another hotel stay soon!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a specific room type and floor, staff will comply if it is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chickenoregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWYV3555, General Manager at Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for your input our staff appreciates the compliments. Please join us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yucca Valley
18.8 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
613 reviews
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Inn and Suites Yucca Valley/Joshua Tree Nat'l Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
425 reviews
20.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
306 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pioneertown Motel
Pioneertown Motel
#1 of 1 in Pioneertown
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites

Property: Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
Address: 56525 Twentynine Palms Highway, Yucca Valley, CA 92284-2863
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Yucca Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Yucca Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Best Western Yucca Valley Hotel and Suites located in Yucca Valley, California. Recipient of the Best Western Directors Award for Quality Assurance in 2009. The hotel is located just five miles from the Joshua Tree National Park, the Big Morongo Canyon Preserve in Morongo Valley and close to the Twenty-Nine Palms Marine Corp Base. The Best Western Yucca Valley Hotel and Suites is an interior corridor brand new built hotel that offers spacious guest rooms fully equipped with HD flat screen televisions and high-speed Internet access. We offer a variety of rooms from our standard king bedrooms to our extended stay suites with kitchens and king bedrooms with Jacuzzis. This Yucca Valley hotel also welcomes guests to a hot complimentary deluxe continental breakfast featuring sausage, eggs, waffles, Seattle's Best Coffee and more each morning. Other amenities at the Best Western Yucca Valley Hotel and Suites include an outdoor heated swimming pool, hot tub, fitness center, business center and meeting space. Let the Best Western Yucca Valley Hotel and Suites be your home away from home. Our staff will go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Make a reservation today at the Best Western Yucca Valley Hotel and Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Yucca Valley Hotel Yucca Valley
Best Western Yucca Valley Hotel And Suites
Yucca Valley Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing