We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnuson Grand Bonanza Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Magnuson Grand Bonanza Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Yuba City
Certificate of Excellence
Bahia de Caraquez, Ecuador
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

My family stays here a lot because it's near the town where our grandparents live, so it's very convenient for visits. We're always very happy with it - the rooms are always clean and come with all the amenities (a fridge, free wifi, nice furniture). It's always quiet for us as well. I like how you can open the windows for air if you want - you don't have to use the loud AC/Fan if you don't want to.

I see other reviewers have kind words to say about the breakfast, but I have to chime in too. It's really nice to be able to get a nice healthy portion of good eggs, bacon, potatoes, fresh fruit, toast, and coffee. Many of the guests seem to indulge in more than just a healthy portion, but hey ;)

At $58-68 the price seems like a bit much to me, but we've checked out the competition and it's all pretty much the same for a place that's not quite as nice (and no one's got such a great breakfast!).

We'll keep coming back, we always leave happy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    78
    30
    10
    8
See reviews for
91
52
22
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Bonanza Inn located in Yuba City one block off the main drag (peaceful) is a remarkably nice hotel- especially for the price-(69.00 for a large double) including a very good full buffet breakfast.
Fresh fruit and waffles, the best bacon and eggs, and really good coffee.
The rooms are spacious, beds comfortable with fine cotton sheets, and dressing room and
bathroom upscale with granite counters and double sinks. A refrigerator and micro are in the room as well. There is a beautiful sitting room and office area in the Lobby and overall the place is very nicely furnished and maintained.
Enjoy.

Room Tip: Get room on back side for even quieter night, unplug refrigerator if not needed, and be sure to en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, Usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is a little old and dated, Probably needs to be remodeled, The staff is helpful. the rooms are Decent. Beds need to be replaced.

However. the Breakfast is the best I have ever had. Fresh Scrambled eggs, Bacon, and Home Fries. Hard to beat.

I will be back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

If it wasn't for the Thin Walls and the single pane windows(LOUD) this would be a nice place to stay....
The room I was put in w/ a adjoining room. If you want sleep and get put in a room like this move immediately. I will be telling my company to never reserve this place again. It's just not quiet.. Neighbors were just talking at a decent level, and I could hear everything. Stay out of room 3113 if you want some peace and quiet. It's hard to complain about people who talk at a normal level. It's just the walls are too thin... Other than that, if that doesn't bother you, it's a clean place.

Room Tip: adjoining rooms might as well be missing the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cobr2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipomo, California
Level Contributor
155 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

"Best motel ever stayed in" makes me suspicious but to each his own. I really wanted to like it, but it was barely OK.

My experience: the pillows on the bed were throw pillows. Four small, hard square throw pillows. I mentioned it and one of the employees said they were regular pillows but they shrank. Really? A rectangular pillow shrinks to a perfect square? Who knew? Then she said most people bring their own. Then she added the maids complain about them.

I suggested making a Target run.

The room was old, I felt a spring in the bed. The TV was fine, loud air conditioner (wall mounted model) but it was white noise so I slept through it, microwave in room, good parking, little scary of a neighborhood at night. Not scary to stay there, but maybe to walk around. The front desk gal said I could walk across the street if I was hungry (no room service) but decided that might be risky.

The room was good sized. Receptionist nice. It appears the breakfast was great but didn't have it.

Room Tip: BYOP (Bring your own pillow)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
167 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed one night while in the area. The check in was quick, the room was nice, comfortable, clean and quiet. There were two portable luggage racks/stands in the room, which we don't find very often. Breakfast was really good-scrambled eggs, bacon, good coffee, waffles, potatoes, fruit, etc. Really good. We used the computer in the lobby to print a few things, and that worked well. We would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CWSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I recently spent three days and two nights at the Bonanza. It is the best motel/hotel I have ever stayed in. The room was large, plenty of coat rack room, large bathroom, check-in took about three minutes, and the staff are incredibly kind.

This hotel stay included a full American style breakfast, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, toast, just about anything an American would want. No cheap "continental" breakfast here. You know the kind where you get stale donuts and extremely hard rolls with a bit of out of date jelly?

I will stay at The Bonanza each time I visit Yuba City.

Room Tip: Winter rates can not be matched!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimPackerFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yuba City
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Yuba City
2.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Beale Air Force Base Area
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#6 of 9 in Yuba City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Rio Inn and Suites
Rio Inn and Suites
#3 of 7 in Marysville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
2.9 mi away
Motel 6 Marysville South
Motel 6 Marysville South
#4 of 7 in Marysville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
23.2 mi away
The Lodge at Feather Falls Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Grand Bonanza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Grand Bonanza Inn

Property: Magnuson Grand Bonanza Inn
Address: 1001 Clark Avenue, Yuba City, CA 95991 (Formerly Bonanza Inn Yuba City Hotel Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yuba City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Yuba City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Grand Bonanza Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bonanza Inn & Suites Hotel is your place to stay when in the Sacramento area. The hotel caters to the needs of the modern traveler as well as families on vacation. Very convenient quiet and peaceful. Located a block away from the Highway 20 and Highway 99 in Yuba City, The Bonanza Inn & Suites is a full service hotel with meeting and banquet spaces boasting over 6700 square feet of flexible meeting rooms. The Bonanza Inn & Suites provides the complete hotel experience - friendly and helpful guest staff, food services, designated dog-friendly rooms, comfortable & clean accommodations, and a pool to bask in after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Magnuson Grand Bonanza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonanza Inn Yuba City Hotel Yuba City
Best Western Yuba City
Yuba City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing