We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not that intimate for the price...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ranch House

Ranch House
Ranked #35 of 151 Restaurants in Yuba City
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Consistently fine quality food at reasonable prices. Atmosphere is "quaint" and has no frills with becoming noisy on weekends BUT if you want a good meal with good service, this is great local place to find it.
Yuba City, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not that intimate for the price...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

We have gone to the Ranch House a few times in the past few months (each time giving it another chance). The first visit, I was repeatedly re-served undercooked fish and told that it was cooked even though I could hardly cut it with a fork and sent it back at least twice (later that night I was sicker than a dog...). The next two times we ordered safer fare and enjoyed our food. The NOISE in the restaurant becomes deafening when the place gets full which is not prime for an intimate gathering at all. The last 2 out of 3 visits were not the best, so by law of averages, I can say that the Ranch House is just not the place for people looking for a pricey meal in a peaceful atmosphere.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Questionable food!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

I had several people encourage me to eat here. The drinks were TERRIBLE! The salads small, the soup was BAD! The steak was great but imagine having only 3 green beans in your vegetable plate? It was pricey for what you got and while the service was very good I doubt I'll give them another try.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hrman835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Food and Friendly Employees”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

We bring our Family and Friends with us about twice a week to eat here. Everyone has really enjoyed the Food and the Friendly atmosphere, even the Chef comes out and mingles with the customers, occasionally. The Salad is so fresh and crisp, and no chemical taste, like some other restaurants we have visited. The Steak is so flavorful and he cooks it just like you want it, also the "Cow Tips" are soooo good and we also love the Hamburgers. The Bartenders are very friendly and make wonderful drinks, especially MARGARITA'S! Lot's of TV's for you sports fans in the Bar! It is hard to make ourselves try other places because we are so HAPPY with this place and it is near our Home!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank My5Sweeties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
761 reviews
435 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 424 helpful votes
“Our favorite in Yuba City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Having spent a week here on business, our group of 4 found this our best restaurant experience in Yuba City. Although the atmosphere leave a lot to be desired, the food was downright delicious. The steak was tender and cooked just right, as were the fresh vegetables. The salad as also crisp and fresh. Nothing gourmet or fancy, this place provides everything you could want in a good steak meal. The prices are very reasonable too. Highly recommended

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank drichrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Local Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Pleasantly surprised at the excellent food and wonderful service during a very busy holiday evening. We have been eating here through many owners and many years and we are glad to see it changed up and cleaned up just a little. It has always been popular so glad to see the newest owners doing well. Very popular bar for all the locals also.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pecos58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ranch House also viewed

 

Been to Ranch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing