We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hidden Gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yuba City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harkey House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Yuba City B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful night in this beautiful home. We reserved 2 rooms. My 91 year old mother-in-law & her sister were in 1 room & my husband & I were upstairs in another. We all thought it was a very nice place to stay. The breakfast was delicious. We had fresh fruit, muffins, rolls, sausage, frittata & chile relleno soufflé. Our hosts were friendly & knowledgable. The home had beautiful antique decor.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heiny-gianino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawton212, Owner at Harkey House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Lona,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. We enjoyed meeting and getting to know you during you three months stay as a traveling nurse. These reviews really help future travelers make decision about where they wish to stay in the Yuba Sutter area.
Best to You with you summer at home in Ohio.
Bob and Lee Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 50 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014

I am a traveling nurse and stayed in the cottage for three months during the winter months. I absolutely loved it! I had everything I needed to cook. I decorated for Christmas with a real tree. I was far away from home and the owners, Lee and Bob, made me feel right at home. It is in an area of homeowners. I felt very safe. There is adequate outdoor lighting.
I would use the hot tub for two, which was nestled between trees for privacy. This was my best living arrangement thus far as a traveler. Everything is neat as a pin. I had access to the free laundry room. I only wish it would have been warmer for pool use. They maintain the entire area meticulously. The cottage is a space that can be used solo or a couple could easily spend more than just one night there. I can't say enough good things about Lee and Bob and their property.

Room Tip: Cleaning supplies and cookware are provided right down to a coffee bean grinder and garbage can line...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I was slow make a reservation for the popular Bok Kai festival, so I ended up staying in 2 different rooms during my weekend visit due to availability. I have no complaints, though: both rooms were beautiful, comfortable, and clean. Lee and Bob are great hosts who are very knowledgeable about the history, culture, and recreational opportunities in the Yuba City & Marysville area. The house is beautiful and clean with a wonderful and tasteful mix of colors and textures throughout. I found custom soap, fluffy robes & towels & maps in each room. Don't judge Yuba City by Hwy 99: Bob and Lee can tell you where the great restaurants are!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Compugraphic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I, along with two other couples, booked three of their rooms for one night after spending a day at West Coast Falconry. All three rooms were lovely (we stayed in Tuscany and our friends had the Cottage and the Empress rooms) with wonderfully soft linens and very comfortable beds. This was our first experience in a B&B and if all B&Bs are like this one, it won't be our last. Lee and Bob were very pleasant hosts and the breakfast they made for us was wonderful! The location was great...we were able to walk to dinner. The home itself is fabulous and with a ton of character. If ever in Yuba City again, this would definitely be where I would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saxonct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawton212, Owner at Harkey House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our B and B. We really enjoyed your group and hope to see you again one day. Your feedback is very important to us.
Best of luck
Bob and Lee Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Lee and Bob are great, friendly hosts. The B&B was quite charming, in a beautiful neighbourhood. I loved the bedding, the yard, the flowers. Definitely recommend and will stay there every time we go back to Yuba City area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kemelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawton212, Owner at Harkey House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review of our bed and breakfast.
Feedback from guests is very important to us.
Perhaps we will see you again one day.

Bob and Lee Jones
Harkey House B and B
Yuba City, Ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed at the Harkey House for six months as I was working in town. I stayed in the cottage in the back with a beautiful view of the pool. It had a kitchenette set up and it was fuly stocked as well as a cozy "wood stove" style heater. The linens were always fresh and the property is spotless and well organized and set u[. Bob & Lee (owners) are kind, friendly and social and made me feel right at home. I had never stayed at a B&B but a friend encouraged me and I am glad she did. The Harkey House made being "on the road" much more tolerable and it was because of their "warm" friendly environment they promote there.

Room Tip: For a standalone room stay poolside in the cottage- if you are a typical B&B traveler you would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

What a wonderful weekend getaway we enjoyed at the Harkey House. You feel welcomed and at home the moment you walk through the door. Beautifully decorated and tastefully furnished, this B&B is a place of sheer relaxation and pampering. The hosts, Bob and Lee, are incredible people who definetly have found their calling as proprietors of this awesome retreat. We loved the Tuscany Room, the bed was so comfortable it was like sleeping on a cloud. So many lovely and whimsical touches to see and enjoy throughout the house as well. Loved the comfy robes provided, too. Breakfast is a delightful experience! Wonderful vegetable frittata, fresh fruit and Bob's special French toast is perfect with a glass of champagne! It was very nice to enjoy conversation over breakfast getting to know our lovely hosts. Really look forward to a return trip to Harkey House. Highly recommend this delightful B&B.

Room Tip: The windows in the Tuscany Room over look the yard and pool, a beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happy4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawton212, Owner at Harkey House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

We enjoyed meeting both of you and appreciate the great review of our Harkey House Bed and Breakfast located in Yuba City. We look forward to seeing you and meeting some of your friends during your next stay.
The Best of the Holiday Season to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yuba City hotels
1.1 mi away
Magnuson Grand Bonanza Inn
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Yuba City
1.6 mi away
Best Western Yuba City Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Yuba City
Travelodge Yuba City
#4 of 9 in Yuba City
496 reviews
1.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#7 of 9 in Yuba City
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harkey House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harkey House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 212 C St, Yuba City, CA 95991
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yuba City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Yuba City
Price Range: $90 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Harkey House Bed and Breakfast is an elegant historical 1874 Victorian inn and the original home of Sheriff William Harkey, of Sutter County. It is located near a the Sutter Buttes, Gauche Aquatic Park, Feather River, restaurants and a 10 minute walk to the downtown area. There are 3 rooms and a cottage with private entrance. Marble fireplaces and all queen beds, private baths, WIFI, private outdoor spa, high count linens, TV,CD, and plush robes. Relax on the patio or in the privacy of your room. The cottage is pet friendly. Enjoy a full gourmet breakfast prepared with fresh fruit from our local Farmer's Market. Dishes are prepared with those with special food needs and served in the French Country dining room or poolside on the patio. Special Romance packages with silk rose petals on the bed, chocolates and champagne are available for purchase. "Voted the Best B and B" for five years. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing